We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average All Round”
Review of Coronation Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coronation Park
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Average All Round”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

* Colonial One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 6) *
Good Points = dog friendly, comfy beds, very clean and tidy, fab shower (but goes cold when kitchen tap is used), 2 TV's, good sized pots & frypan, good sized microwave, small fridge, no chipped plates or cups, no timer for the wall heater in the lounge, can have kids in lounge and parents in separate room, swimming pool (but it's solar heated so it's too cold to use at this time of the year), dog friendly!
Not so good = no heater for bedroom (we froze!), one of the bed lamps couldn't reach the power point so hubby couldn't use it to read, the toilet is on other side of the bedroom wardrobe and when you're in bed you can hear the toilet roll noisily turning against the wall, bedroom TV reception is very poor with few channels, no dishwasher, the toilet can't be used while someone's in the shower, prebooked and paid for family of five but the kids' beds were not made up when we arrived (late at night which they were informed of) and we weren't given any sheets, given tiny soap which was unsuitable for family of 5 (pretty average service), plates/cups etc are stored too high - even 10 & 12 yr old couldn't reach them safely, only given just enough cutlery (no extras for serving food etc), tongs couldn't be used (no spring), no cupboard space etc for storing food, stove rings were faulty - one was always too hot and the other was never hot enough, magazines provided on the table were 12 years old.
Considering the age of the unit etc, I thought $196 per night (for two adults & 3 chdn under 14, plus a dog) was on the high side.
Not a lot for 10, 12, 13 yrs olds to do in Ashburton - actually there's nothing. It's ok for younger chdn (flying fox, unheated swimming pool) but older chdn were totally bored and didn't want to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments. It was a fair point about the heater in the bedroom. We do endeavour to have the room warm for when guests arrive later at night. I apologise, we were remiss in this instance. Not sure what you meant about the beds not being made up. Did you mean that you had to get the extra pillows from the wardrobe? Thanks for the heads up about the ceramic oven top. Unless guests let us know, we are totally unaware. We do encourage recycling and go to the local bookarama Rotary fund raiser for good quality magazines. There may be some older ones, but this is the exception rather than the norm. The articles are still interesting. For future reference, the in room compendium is full of great ideas of things to do in Ashburton. The staff can also help with places to go and things to see – most of it free of charge for families who are watching their pennies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    57
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
40
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an OK first stopping point when coming out of Christchurch with your camper van. All the facilities that you need are there but just a little on the dowdy side and there are not too many of them. The site appears to accommodate a significant number of semi-permanent residents who work in the locality, but this still leaves a good number of sites to choose from.

There appeared to be only a small number of (gents) toilet and shower facilities - 2 toilets and 2 showers which seemed to be a small number fof facilities for the site of this size.

The railway which runs past the front of the camp is pretty audible but fortunately there are not too many trains during the night.

Overall, it was priced at the rate for a good Kiwi site but I felt that it fell well short of their usual standard - but it was convenient....

Be careful as you drive into the entry as there is a sort of bridge that crosses a culvert which seems a little on the 'tight' side...

Room Tip: Keep away from the railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coropark, Owner at Coronation Park, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We are disappointed to hear you were not too impressed with our park. Ashburton is a rural supply town with a shortage of seasonal accommodation. Our guests who live here on a weekly basis are a great group of people who offer a sense of community and security to the park. We see this as a bonus. We are only a small park, but offer a modern kitchen dining area and two blocks of women’s and men’s bathroom facilities - making a total of 4 showers and 4 toilets in the park for each gender. We also have a solar heated swimming pool, guest BBQ, children’s play park and a reliable and fast wireless internet service. We don’t have any powered sites beside the railway track. The train track is located across the road from the main entrance to the park. As the crow flies, it is at least 200m from the track to the campervan area, which is also shielded behind our double glazed accommodation blocks. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay in the Kiwi Holiday Parks and hope you will recommend the group to any family and friends travelling to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We were on a tour of the South Island with no particular itinerary. We found we needed new brake pads near Banks Peninsula so needed to find a bigger town. We checked in to Coronation Park and took a self contained unit - very good value. The manager recommended a garage for our brakes and even phoned the garage to book us in. The garage (Creek Road Motors) did an excellent job and also good value.

The park is a nice setting and our unit was large and newly renovated. Nice flow to the outside, so a nice place to be - not just a bed for the night. I found it an easy stroll to the Countdown supermarket and shopping area, and very handy to the Domain gardens.

I discovered there is much to do around Ashburton so plan on coming back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTawaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Looking for accommodation in Ashburton? Go no further than the Coronation Park Motel. This is part of the Coronation Park camping ground and has great motel units and also cabins, and the camping ground of course. Everything has recently been renovated and the cabins while are studio style are great value. Rooms and cabins at the back are quieter as the train line runs along the road at the front.

Room Tip: Take rooms and or cabins at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have stayed here overnight on two occasions and will certainly stay again. We stayed in a cabin which had all necessary facilities including a flat screen TV and comfortable beds. THe nearby shower block is always scrupulously clean.We were very happy with our last visit six months ago and further renovations have obviously been done since then.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moeraki, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My partner and I stayed here one night on our way South, with our 16 month old boy. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw our motel room - it had a separate room for our boy to sleep in, and the layout and fittings were modern and clean. It was excellent value - probably the best value motel room I've stayed in, during my 20 years of holidaying throughout NZ.

Their dinner recommendation was spot-on (pub just the other side of the railway tracks - great atmosphere, excellent food).

The next day we continued South, and it wasn't until we'd arrived at Oamaru we realised that our tickets for the Rugby World Cup game were not where they should be. After a frantic search of our bags, I remembered seeing our boy playing with the bag they were in, and had a sinking feeling as I recalled his favourite passtime of 'posting' things - most recently in rubbish bins!

I phoned up the Coronation Park, and explained my dilemma. The lady on the phone was extremely helpful; she said she'd go and check, and took my Australian phone number to call me back on. To cut a long story short, they found our tickets in the motel room's rubbish bin, and couriered them to our Dunedin accommodation so that we received them in time to see the game. Their actions averted what could have been a bit of a disaster, and they did it all with extreme friendliness and professionalism.

It's easy for places to seem good when everything is going well; it's when something goes wrong that the real gems shine, and that's what this place is!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night with our two young children and dog. Our main motivation for choosing to stay here was that it was dog friendly. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and they were able to accommodate our change in arrival date, as we had car trouble. We had originally reserved a cabin, but highly recommend the additional expense of a self-contained unit. The space, warmth and convenience were really worth it. The children enjoyed the play area. Not right in the middle of town, so you may need to drive to get to amenities.

Room Tip: Self contained units are worth the additional cost, especially when it is cold outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Park

Property: Coronation Park
Address: 780 East Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coronation Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronation Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing