We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Academy Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Ashburton B&B and Inns
Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced motel”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clean, comfortable, discount for AA members.
Would stay again next time I was in Ashburton.
Hosts are friendly and welcoming
Bathroom is outdated but clean and lots of hot water
Quiet location with not much traffic noise
Sky TV and good TV

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

excellent motel,immaculately presented, great host,good price,recommend to anyone. First night all they had left was a 2bedroom,so kindley closed off one bedroom,for us and gave it to us for a good price ,2nd night 10 days later was wheel chair unit only one they had left ,plenty of room &comfortable, &as above.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a reunion weekend. Perfect for us. Everything spotlessly clean and up dated. Owners super friendly and helpful. We have stayed before but found it has been totally refurbished with change of ownership. Would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: All units in good positions. Corner unit with 2 bedrooms very spacious and sunny. Quiet area all rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

A small motel but high quality. Very friendly reception and nothing was too much trouble.
If you are staying in Ashburton check this one out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jock023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Seven of us stayed in two units at these motels. We found them to be well appointed spotlessly clean and very spacious. We found the owners to be very helpful and knowledgeable about the Ashburton area and we would have no hesitation in recommending these motels to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashburton hotels
0.1 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Lodge Motel

Property: Academy Lodge Motel
Address: 782 East Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly welcome awaits you at Academy Lodge Motel by owners Alison and Harley Gundry. We have 5 ground floor motels with parking at the door. All units have been refurbished incl flat screen LCD televisions. A discount is offered to AA members snd Senior Citizens. A bistro restaurant nearby, and we are within walking distance of the main shopping area. One hour drive from Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Academy Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing