We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"good place to stay in Ashburton"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a good place in Ashburton..
It was a good option for us as we found the restaurants within 1 km. Evan was really helpful putting himself out to help us achieve what we wanted to while staying with them.
The room was clean and large and price was reasonably good too.
The weather was not good during our stay so we spent a lot of time in the city and sights in town.
I am planning to travel Queenstown again in January, will definitely stay there again. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you Chris for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. We hope we can turn on better weather for you on your return in the new year.
Kind Regards
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 135 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This motel was the first rest stop for us upon arriving in New Zealand. I found the room very clean and new. The staff were also very friendly and willing to recommend good restaurants/ nearby grocery stores for our convenience. The information book provided in the room was also very comprehensive, with menus of specific restaurants so we could decide what to eat even before going there. Overall, a nice place to stay!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank TanyaChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton. We are thrilled the beginning of your holiday got off to such a good start and hope the rest of your travels went well.
Your positive feedback is appreciated and we will certainly pass these on to our staff.
Kind Regards
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the motel two weeks ago. Met Alison and Heather during check-in. Most friendly host we met during our two weeks in NZ. We were given information of where to dine and what is available nearby. Although the motel is located near the main road, noise was minimal. Room was clean and comfortable. Check-out was a breeze. Will definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Bella Vista Motel Ashburton. We certainly make every effort to make our guests stay comfortable and as easy as possible and we are pleased your experience reflected our aim.
We hope the rest of your New Zealand holiday was both enjoyable and memorable.
Kind Regards
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Check in was quick and we were made very welcome. Manager happily advised re eating out, local area and provided maps. Fresh milk was provided, a nice touch.
We had a studio which was spotlessly clean and well maintained. A toaster was provided along with basic crockery and good quality tea and coffee.
Bed and pillows were comfy, towels and bed linen of very good quality.
Bathroom was very modern with lots of room for wash bags etc. Shower was powerful with plenty of hot water.
Location is on a busy main road but not too noisy. We walked to town and enjoyed a walk through the beautiful park.
Would recommend Bella Vista to anyone staying in Ashburton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It gives us all a great buzz to know our guests have had a happy stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards, Evan, Heather & Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Overnight stop on a business road trip & first time at the Bella Vista. Very warm welcome from host Heather where she took the time to fully appraise me of the local dining options.
My room, while not overly spacious, was perfectly adequate for my needs & was spotlessly clean.
No hesitation in recommending the Bella Vista.
I would urge Heather & Evan to seriously consider providing a cooked breakfast option. The continental breakfast provided was fine & I was informed of breakfast cafes quite near, but my preference is a cooked breakfast in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Bella Vista Ashburton. Your comments are appreciated and valued and we will certainly be passing them onto our staff.
We have considered the cooked breakfast option in the past, however we decided as we have several cafes close by, some just a 5 minute walk we would leave this to their expertise, although it's not to say in the future we decide otherwise.
Again our thanks for staying with us at Bella Vista Ashburton. We hope you will return in the future.
Kind Regards
Alison
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked on www.wotif.com in the late afternoon and arrived late in the evening. They were expecting me. Very helpful and friendly welcome. The room I stayed in was an access room. Not that I needed this type of room. However if you are wanting an access room. I would recommend this property. Very well set up. Requested breakfast. Very nice and great value. Was very quiet even with the state highway beside it. Totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for staying at Bella Vista Ashburton and for taking the time to share your review with others.
The access units are a great choice for anyone requiring a downstairs unit. They offer guests lowered bench tops, electrical switches, wet shower and their own car park at the front door. As you discovered they are also suitable for able bodied guests.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Evan & Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed one night.
All staff were so kind and helpful.
Especially Evan helped me a lot. He advised where to visit in Ashburton and arranged a hotel in my next destination Christchurch.
Clean, spacious and comfortable room.
Perfect place to stay in Ashburton.
I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISTSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, we appreciate your positive feedback. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind Regards
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashburton hotels
0.1 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
ASURE Adcroft Motel
ASURE Adcroft Motel
#7 of 7 in Ashburton
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Ashburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Ashburton

Address: 469 West Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $83 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Ashburton 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashburton is the hub of the Mid-Canterbury district and the perfect base for your adventures. From the moment you arrive you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Ashburton town centre for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. At Bella Vista Ashburton we cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on the main road into Ashburton, just an hour's drive from Christchurch. Ashburton is the perfect stopover point for travelling north or south, to or from the West Coast, and an ideal journey break for the long distance to Queenstown, Invercargill or Picton. Just 50 minutes from Christchurch International Airport. We have ample safe parking so you can leave your car, avoid parking issues, walk to work or explore. We offer a variety of accommodation options, and all beds have electric blankets for those cooler nights. You can be assured of a warm welcome at reception where we will assist you in every way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Ashburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing