We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great little motel”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way from Picton to Queenstown.

Evan very kindly upgraded our room after hearing we were on our honeymoon!

The motel was very clean and well presented - it's located on the road to Christchurch and is a great idea as a stopover.

Evan was extremely helpful and looked up our route to Queenstown, making sure there was no snow in the road. He even helped scrape the ice off our car in the morning!

Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, your positive feedback is much appreciated.
I do hope the rest of your honeymoon went well and you enjoyed every moment of this special holiday.
Kind Regards
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    42
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
52
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One night stay on way to Queenstown after arriving late evening from airport at Christchurch, 1 hour away. Very clean and comfortable, and very friendly and helpful service. Good size room for 3 adults. Restaurants and eating places within 1 km. Will stay here again next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our Motel, Bella Vista Ashburton. Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming again.

Kind Regards
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Really nice place, very friendly, easy to be in especially when on business. very helpful staff/ owners and the room is ideal - comfortable, clean, good desk, internet and wireless, newspaper, good car parking, walking distance to Nosh! Very accessible especially coming from the North.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Learnfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Bella Vista Motel Ashburton after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and recommendations for other business travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great place to stay, our room was exceptionally clean, with a king size bed and a great little kitchenette with everything you could need. Staff were very helpful and informed us where we could go to eat and whether it was within walking distance. We had a downstairs room which was perfect as I find stairs a bit difficult. After a great nights sleep it was then an easy drive into Christchurch to catch our flight home. And yes I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Making your stay with us a positive experience is a priority to us and we thank you for taking the time to review our Motel - Bella Vista Ashburton.
We trust your journey home went well and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
We will certainly pass on your fantastic comments to our staff.
Kind Regards
Evan & Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a stay of one night at the Bella Vista. Having stayed at others in Oamaru and Greymouth, I knew what we were in for as the are all exactly the same!! Smallish studio unit with nice bathroom and very clean and tidy - just what you want. Service was friendly on check in and check out. Well presented and pretty good value - would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chchgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Bella Vista Motel Ashburton - we appreciate your comments.
The great thing about staying with Bella Vista Motels throughout New Zealand is they have the same or similar layout and are easily recognisable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ashburton or maybe you will try out some of our other wonderful locations in New Zealand.
Kind Regards, Evan & Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a well kept and well presented Motel on the main road to Christchurch.
We chose to stay here to break our journey from Queenstown to Picton.
The room we stayed in looked newly decorated, the en-suite facilities were spotless.
Ideal stopover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMB2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stop in Ashburton regularly but hadn't tried the Bella Vista before. So, we gave it a try and were extremely satisfied with the service we received. We were upgraded to a bigger room when we checked in, given coffee for the bodum and enough free internet for what we wanted . The room was spacious, modern and spotless. There was a long bench for working at the computer and two chairs so we could both set up a work space. There was a kitchenette with microwave and just enough cutlery etc for two. The bathroom was roomy with a great shower. The bed was firm but we both slept well - good black out curtains, so no problem with light. Ashburton has trains that go through at night, but all motels are in the same area so there's no avoiding that. It didn't wake us. I noted there was a guest laundry and outdoor seating which is great for the summer weather. We got a free paper delivered - the Chc Press, not the local paper, which was a bonus. Thanks Heather and Evan, we'll be back with our Bella Vista loyalty card!

Room Tip: Upstairs was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvash, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Bella Vista Ashburton and give such positive feedback on your first stay with us. We look forward to you visiting and staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards Evan & Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.1 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
18.7 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Ashburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Ashburton

Property: Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Address: 469 West Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Ashburton 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• New Ashburton Motel Opened January 2009• Double glazed for quietness & comfort• 18 Superior units-latest modern design• 1 hour to Christchurch Airport & Mt Hutt Ski Field• Convenient SH1 location - Trailer/boat parks• Broadband - Guest Computer - LCD TVs. Whatever your reason for visiting, Michelle and Paul Clyne look forward to hosting you in Ashburton, with the service you deserve. Allow yourself time to take advantage of all that Ashburton District has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Ashburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing