We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”
Review of Waves Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We have come for 6 nights during our December 2011 break . First impression , very clean and modern . We had a studio room , 2 adults and 2 boys ( 7&9) . The pull out sleeper couch is very comfortable with the boys having their own wall mounted flat screen tv & dvd player . Our room had a comfortable bed with a wall mounted flat screen . You have SKY channels . A wall mounted radio. The air conditioner works well . Well sized bedroom for family of 4 . The shower is awesome , very very nice .. You are +/- 100 footsteps from the beach . You can get wireless for a 24 hour period , that could be used over a couple of days for $ 5 only . The town of OREWA is walking distance from the motel and it is lovely . there are loads of places to eat and eat and eat ! .....Orewa is a gorgeous little town and the Waves is definately worth it ...!

Room Tip: Room 20 has partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriscillaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 174 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

We only stayed one night but it was perfect. Lovely big room, and it was a studio. Big modern bathroom with spabath and great water pressure. Lovely clean white towels, beautiful big bed with quality linen. All the amenities you could want and just a minute from the beach. Lovely people to liaise with and very willing to help with any extras or questions we had. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The last time we stayed in Orewa it was at the Hibiscus Palms which was so-so. In comparison with Waves, it is chalk and cheese. This motel is excellent and don't bother looking anywhere else.

We stayed here 2 nights while seeing a sporting event near North Harbour, Auckland. Orewa is only 20-25 minutes drive but a whole world away. Waves is right by the beach, and only a 5 minute walk from the centre shopping and cafe area. There is plenty of off street parking, and the host was fantastic. We were shown to our room and then shown all the features, remote controls, and other services that can be arranged - that is unheard of service in today's world. The room was very large as was the bathroom. Our unit had a spa bath, and the over bath shower was great - loads of pressure instead of a dribble. All the amenities were there and everything was clean and modern.

The kitchenette is just that, a small kitchen. You don't expect to prepare Sunday lunch in these kitchens, but for warming things through, cooking toast, etc it is just perfect. We were on the ground floor so had a patio area with garden furniture. There are walls extending from each unit to provide privacy.

I did find the bed a touch on the firm side of really comfortable, but now I am nit picking. The curtains were blackout quality and I couldn't hear the neighbours so assume that this is a motel of good construction (I hate quality looking motels with paper thin walls - Waves does not fall into this category).

Per the heading of this review, why go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at 10 motels in NZ & this can be said of all of them: they are owner operated (not chains), spotlessly clean, contain refrigerator, microwave, TV, blow dryer, plenty of hot water & the beds are comfortable, but the rooms are on the small side. Expect to pay 30% more for comparable food & lodging than in the U.S.
The owner warned us there were no decent places to eat in Orewa & boy was he right. We went to a pub with "anchor" in it's name & were served spoiled fish!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was a fantastic place to stay. We called in Sunday evening for a one night stay before heading to the Bay of Islands. When we were shown a room (studio) we knew it was where we wanted to stay. The room was in an immaculate condition, very clean, HUGE bathroom with a spa (and shower with pressure!). Only a short stroll to the shops and very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAIDER29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stopped here on our way back from the top of the North Island and on our way to Rotorua. It's situated just back from a huge beach and around 10/15 minutes walk from the little town centre with the supermarkets/ shops/ restaurants.

We had a studio with a terrace (quite private although the main road did run on the other side of the fence), a bedroom and the large bathroom with a whirlpool bath (very popular in NZ - bit of a timewarp thing!). The room was very comfortable although it did feel a bit dated - can't quite put my finger on why.

However, we slept very well here, ate a a nive little Mexican restaurant in town and walked along the beach, enjoying the sun and the breeze. This is a great little place to stay as you traverse the North Island and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Thank you Trip Advisor for pointing us in this direction. Excellent accomodation for last night in NZ prior to flying out of Auckland. Took less than 1 hour to airport. Very high quality furniture and bathroom/ kitchenette equipment. Very comfy bed. We stayed in studio spa room. Were able to look at all our photos on the very new flat screen panasonic TV. Bonus checkout time of 11am enabled us to breakfast and then walk the length of the beach before check out.

Room Tip: Great choice for night prior to Auckland departure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#5 of 8 in Orewa
65 reviews
12.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
80 reviews
11.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Gulf Harbour Lodge
Gulf Harbour Lodge
#2 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
61 reviews
14.8 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Motel

Address: Cnr Hibiscus Coast Highway and Kohu Street, Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range: $111 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waves Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Orewa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing