We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon break”

Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Orewa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Afternoon break”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Went to casablanca for a beer and wine, took the dog so we could enjoy her company, great service and even brought a bowl of water for the dog. Only downside was limited snacks on the menu (lunch menu). We were there around 3.30pm so would have though they would have given options on the dinner menu which had more snack type food to choose from. Otherwise very good and we will be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yendor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    114
    30
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Flexible menu for GF, Great Service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went there because of other reviews, and because some locals we met just after arriving in Orewa recommended it. Very busy, managed to get a table outside. Wife on a gluten/dairy free diet for a few weeks – No problem! They have a separate GF menu, and happily arranged for the sour cream to be left off the Black Chicken on Almond Rice. She said it was the best chicken dish she’d ever had at a restaurant.

I had Bedouin Upsidedown Bulghur Pilaf Lamb dish. Nice touch of heat in the relish, lamb superbly tender.

Excellent, attentive service, waiter refilled water glasses, and asked a couple of times if all was good. Without being intrusive.

The only slight negative, if we were being picky, is that it was very noisy inside. Because they were so busy. But even with my hearing aids we found sitting outside was no problem for talking.

This place exceeded our (high) expectations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TamahereKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Mediterranean ambiance, good quality of food”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, the food is superb and the restaurant is very medierranean style. Lovely scenery of the sea outside.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really, really good!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was the last night in NZ for our US visitors so we wanted a special night out and a great meal....we got both at Casablanca in Orewa. Making a reservation was the first key step - it's a busy place and you don't want to miss out. Then things got better....the staff were friendly, helpful, prompt, and obviously enjoying being there as well. But the best bit (as you'd hope it would be in a restaurant) was the food.....between us we had Black Sea Chicken, Calamari Meze, Greek Meatballs, and Bedouin Upsidedown Bulghur Pilaf. All were excellent, but the Bedouin dish was truly outstanding.
Thanks to everyone at Casablanca Cafe in Orewa, but especially to our wonderful waitress Sasha who was great to deal with...a real asset to the business!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We thought the flavors and freshness of our meals were good. The service was pleasant and
efficient. The location opposite orewa beach gave a summer ambiance. All well priced for serving sizes. Will eat here again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sjoyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar also viewed

Orewa, Auckland Region
Orewa, Auckland Region
 
Orewa, Auckland Region
Orewa, Auckland Region
 

Been to Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing