We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect beach (with Jelly fish!!!)”
Review of Orewa Beach

Orewa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Orewa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect beach (with Jelly fish!!!)”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

It was cloudy all day but still beautiful. You can walk into the water for more than 100 meters and still water level is at your chest!
There is a parking available so there's no need to walk so much to get to the beach.
You can rent surfing equipment there, Ice cream is also available :)
I saw some Jelly fish in the water, although very small (like 2 cm) but it would be wise to be careful.
Restaurants are available all around the beach, I recommend "Kippers UK Seafood cafe" for a "Fish & Chips" meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    62
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bicester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely beach but could have been cleaner...”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and although it was busy its a large beach so plenty of room. Only complaint was that there was a fair amount of rubbish on the beach (McD cups etc, aren't people horrid??? Its not difficult to take your rubbish to a bin!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crendon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A 'must' for a holiday”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We're frequent travellers to NZ, both Islands, but have never been through Orewa before. But the next time we go to North Island we'll definitely be booking a holiday here. What a beautiful wide, clean sandy safe beach - it would be perfect for families with children but as almost-retirees I would expect we'd enjoy it just as much. Walking, swimming, good restaurants, well looked after parks, clean public toilets - what more could you ask for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberga, Sweden
2 reviews
“Nice beach near Auckland”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

3km long beach , beautiful & calm . Perfekt for walks , swims and surfing. Long sandy beach before you reach the water at low tide .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great safe family beach”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Such a beautiful beach so close to Auckland. We enjoy the estuary walk, safe family beach and the overall facilities of Orewa. For families or windsurfing etc, there is plenty of space for everyone. And if you're from Auckland you don't have to spend hours traveling, (half an hour - 40minutes from Auckland's CBD).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjoyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orewa Beach also viewed

 

Been to Orewa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing