We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, quiet, excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orewa Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orewa Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in a comfortable two-bedroom suite, and when the owner heard that we had one less child travelling with us than planned, he adjusted the price down, though we had been happy to pay full price.

Although the road is very close to the main street of Orewa, it was surprisingly quiet, and was of course close to the beach and shops. The only slight grumble we had was with the TV - words and pictures seemed slightly out of sync.

After a nice chat about the day when we left, the owners called us a few minutes later to say that the cleaners had found something we had left behind, so we were able to come back and pick it up. That's the sort of service that makes all the difference, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jontyorewa, Owner at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very handy to town. Great just to park the car and to walk around from there. All kind of food outlets very close. The unity was very cosy and nice. The heater was more then enough for what our friends thought cold

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night in a nice, clean, well-equipped studio. The TV was wall mounted which made it impossible to watch from the sofa so had to be seen from the bed.
Location was wonderful, just opposite the beautiful beach and very close to the shops and restaurants. You don't notice the road as there is no noise. The patio garden was a nice touch.

The bathroom had the dreaded (seeming NZ standard) wall mounted shower head but was very clean.

We would stay again if visiting Orewa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angels1five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jontyorewa, Owner at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
The tv is on a pull out swivel bracket, sorry you didn't find how this works.
We are in the process of changing all shower heads to wall slides.
We are please you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INVERCARGILL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just stayed the one night while catching up with family. Very clean accommodation and great location. So close to the beach, the shops and great restaurants. Only downside really was that there was four adults and one child, and the toilet had no handle or lock!!!! Also we were given just four towels. On the plus side though, it was very quiet and the beds comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50plusInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Hi Phill

Orewa Motor lodge sets the benchmark on all aspects, excellent accommodation, cleanliness,
accessibility to shops, restaurants and beach. and to all points of the compass. Phill and Karene give their all to their guests, great folk. So good my wife and I stayed three nights. If you play golf talk to Phill, has even spare set of clubs. Thanks again Phill and Karene you made our stay most enjoyable.
Gil and Pauline Ben-Ari UK

Room Tip: Nothing to choose from, they are all First Class :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpitfireBigginHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Have stayed here before and consistently good. All rooms are side on to the road - so you don't get the road noise. We had a studio with outdoor seating in the garden, just what we wanted.Literally a 2 minute walk to the Orewa shops and services. Lovely, spotlessly clean Lockwood units.Free-wifi voucher, and especially important - friendly and helpful reception.

Room Tip: I asked for a "quiet room" as far from road as possible, and that's what we were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jontyorewa, General Manager at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your repeat business. We do our best to accommodate guests requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband, myself and our 23 year old son stayed at the orewa motor lodge for one night on our way to the bay of islands and coming from Tauranga. We loved Orewa for its neatness, well layed out paths along the beach and the proximity of restaurants and take aways. The motel was exactly what one would visualise a kiwi motel to be like. Clean, a well layed out kitchen with everything you could need, separate toilet and shower room. Loved the pine panelling. Wifi and sky tv available too. Didn't use the spa but it looked clean and inviting. Our son had a bed in the living area and we had a queen bed in our room. Would recommend to anyone starting a trip from auckland airport or, like ourselves, for a stay over after a few hours drive.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a take away, the cotton seed oil fish and chips shop 2 minutes fromt eh mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monique h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.6 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
13.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
10.4 mi away
Albany Oak Motel
Albany Oak Motel
#1 of 3 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 9 in Orewa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orewa Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orewa Motor Lodge

Property: Orewa Motor Lodge
Address: 290 Hibiscus Coast Highway | Orewa Beach, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orewa Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Orewa Hotel Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing