We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch the sunrise”
Review of Edgewater Motel

Edgewater Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Direct on the beach, we where able to watch a magnifficient sunrise over the water from our bed. This is a fantastic location, leave the room, walk just 50m and have a swim in the ocean. (if it`s not too cold for you)

The self-contained studio is spacy and has everything you need, even though the enterior and the bathroom is a bit outdated.

The service of the manager couple is extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: take the beach front rooms with a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank just4enjoyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

2 friends and I went to get a room at this motel, the room was paid for then just as we were getting out of the car the very rude and stereotypical manager came out demanding that we leave and money will be refunded, saying that there will be no party. Even though we had just come back from waiwera and had a tiny bit of jack Daniels to enjoy a few drinks, not a party, he was then very rude again by intimidating us and not being understanding at all. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone with the way he treated customers. His wife seemed very embarrassed by the ordeal, we were shocked and felt disrespected. Never again

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Nickynotimpressss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night only, needing to attend a function in Orewa. This motel is somewhat dated but would probably be the cleanest place I have ever stayed in! For such a short stay we chose a low cost room which was small and tucked away at the rear of the other buildings, but quiet and adequate, with very comfortable bed. Lots of hot water in the shower! Management were very welcoming. This property is situated quite close to, but not right next to, the shopping centre, and is situated right on the beach, with a lovely lawn area fronting the beach. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaiMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

You can not beat the location of this hotel right on the beach, it is old & tired but the friendly owner is upfront about this and it is priced accordingly. If you like your mod cons, fancy surroundings and everything to be up to date this is not the place for you, but if you just want a comfortable bed, basic but clean in gorgeous beachfront surroundings at a great price then this place is perfect. There are play areas for the kids, shade and sunny areas with picnic tables and the magnificent beach, shops and supermarkets are close. We had a beachfront unit, husband watched cricket while I enjoyed the beach and view .

Room Tip: If certain mod-cons are important to you such as a hair dryer bring your own or check with the owner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely beachfront location about 5mins walk to shops and orewa centre. My first stay was in a beachfront apartment which was very noisy. The owners were very helpful but noise from the next apartment ruined my sleep.
The owners actually contacted me and offered me a free stay in a self contained unit. This was a 2 bedroom lockwood house a few paces back from the beach. Lovely and spacious with everything you need and even a little playground for the kids. Perfect for families. Quiet and peaceful. Loved it.

Room Tip: Sacrifice the ocean view and opt for a self contained unit for the best nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JilOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent our last night in New Zealand at the Edgewater Motel because we wanted another beach night before heading home to Colorado winter and Orwea is less than an hour from the Auckland airport. Located on the beach on the Hibiscus Coast, the Edgewater is an older motel that is in need of some TLC and upgrades, but did I say that's it's located on the beach? We stayed in unit 12, upstairs, oceanfront. The until had a huge, full, well- equipped kitchen (it even had a pantry full of dishes and glassware), dining area, living room with 2 couches with pull out beds, a twin bed with trundle, a separate bedroom with queen bed and closet, and bathroom with jacuzzi tub/ shower. The deck had a picnic table. The staff was friendly. The Pacific was warm and the beach sandy. The little town of Orewa is walking distance from the motel. You could leave the windows open and listen to the surf all night. We wished we would have had our whole family there with us. I got the feel that the whole town is on the verge of gentrification. The motel next door was already ready for demo for luxury condos and nice homes dot the beach. Hopefully, this mom and pop will live on for family vacations for years to come.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and book a oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here 30 years ago with our kids on our last trip to NZ. My wife in her record of our trip wrote about how great it was. So we decided to return. First the location is the best in this town, right on the beach and potential great views. We stayed in an ocean front room this time. The staff was supper nice and very willing to help in any way. The place only needs the owner spend a few bucks to bring it to level that would make it passable for most people. This is what needs to be done to make it work in my eyes.
First , pull out the base boards that are so chips they look like some out of a fifty year old meat plant. Do a little paint touch up in the rooms. New carpet would be a big help. Outside' sand and repaint the steps walks to the rooms. Bring in a few guys with chain saws to trim the trees to restore the ocean views then trim the bushes. Blow the leaves off the the driveways and what's left of the lawns. Finally, put some water on the lawn and maybe some grass seed to green it up. This would make this place very nice and I am sure improve its marks not to mention fill all the rooms.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank travelerhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.1 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
176 reviews
12.8 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
143 reviews
5.4 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Address: 387 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range: $115 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old BUT clean Motel direct access to beach, some units front right onto beach. Seven or eight minute walk down the beach to Orewa Restaurants and shops. Ideal for Families and or couples, with several different room formats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing