We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel right by the sea”
Review of Edgewater Motel

Edgewater Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Deep South
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good motel right by the sea”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We only stayed here for one night traveling through to Northland, wished we could have stayed longer. Owner very helpful and the unit was a good size with a well equipped kitchen and plenty of room for the four of us. Motel is right by the sandy beach, a 30 second walk from our front door. We thought the road running past would be busy, but it was quiet at night, so no problem there. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
32
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The only beachside motel in Orewa, so it's got a bit of a head start in location. It must be popular as although we only needed a one bedroom unit these were all full so we had to stay in a two bedroom. We had lots of room and the place is as clean as it can be and the staff are helpful. But the wallpaper is beginning to peel, the carpet is worn, the paint is faded, stained and worn,, there are holes in the walls etc. It is all just really, really old and tired. The kids actually said it felt creepy. Still, if they renovated everything you'd be paying three times the price for the rooms!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for 6 night over Christmas, very warm temperatures, the room had not been aired out and was really musty damp smelling. Noneof the windows had any working security stays on them so we could not leave open to air or move the air around. We had unit 7 it was a 1 bedroom unit. The "bedroom" had a small double bed in it which only just fitted in. No where to put suitcases except in the living room area. No bed lighting but thats often to be expected but no side table to put a cup or book on either. On arrival we discovered the taps on the kitche sink did not work for the cold one, they did get fixed on the next day. But had known about it for a day or so. The shower did not drain properly took ages. The carpet needs cleaning its very sticky and this may be why the room smells musty it may be beyond being cleaned. The outside sitting area was not useable due to the fact that water was draining down from the upstairs balcony on to the chairs rather than into the drainpipe. It was very damp and green kind of grungy suff on the ground. I had asked if there was a fridge freezer and a hair dryer in the unit. Was told yes. I had expected and actual fridge freezer not a little under bench fridge with and ice tray in it. The fridge had also been turned right down so did not work i had attempted to make ice overnight. In fact it was a new fridge but did not keep the wine or the beers cold at all. And i had to ask for the hair dryer which on arrival had a very very grubby handle which i could not clean it being rubber and sticky. The unit was situated very close to the beach which was nice but i think for the cost it was not worth it. The room was very dated and very small which is a shame as it could be very nice if it had had some proper maintenance on it. I understand that the people running the motels are not the owners but this is no excuse for such a prime piece of holiday real estate to be allowed to become so run down.

Room Tip: nothing to add here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmaof6kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orewa hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here. Check in/check out easy. Managers very friendly and helpful. I had been told when I booked that the property was old but clean, and this is exactly what it is. It reminded us of the beach baches we stayed in when we where kids. Location-- couldn't have been better,
on the beach, easy walk to shops. Our unit was the closest to the road which may be a problem for some, but really the noise was totally acceptable. Next time however, I will book a unit on the beachfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_j_leong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed one night with kids, in family room. Right on the beach, couldnt get any closer, so much better to be on that side of the road when you have kids. Close walking distance to all the nice boutique shops of Orewa including a supermarket. Motel was very clean, all basic amenities including bath, microwave all the kitchen stuff. Very comfortable, no wifi thats ok, as we got sim card at airport and could access cheap internet on phone. Playground, gorgeous tree to climb (probably shouldnt!) a small patio with table and chairs. Old, but very clean and well maintained. Great manager too. Great price too!

Room Tip: Also beachfront units available, right on the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Don,t be fooled by lush looking reception area, from there it all goes downhill very quickly, a beach side unit from the 70's that is so badly maintained and basic that even a whole bottle of wine and a few beers could not detract from the awfulness of this place,the walls are so thin I could hear the next unit occupants "breathing"! , a TV set from the earlier days that had poor reception and no Olympic coverage, a heater from a garage sale that had a melted base, not to mention peeling wallpaper, corroded fittings in the shower and a brown stain with accompanying water mark above the bed.Literally everything is cheap and 3rd world.The toilet flushed eventually and the exit pipe was exposed.Covering up the the whole fracas was the best part a whole can of air spray disguising god no's what.
Undrinkable tea.... It goes on....... For $150 dollars it is a joke and would not rate one star despite the amazing situation, the owners should be ashamed to present this in its current state, and I take into account the location to the beach.Couldnt
get out of there quick enough.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikohe, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

So very happy we stayed at this motel. It can be quite daunting when there are so many other motels/hotels vying for your custom. The female manager was so friendly and really made you feel welcome. That's a great feeling when you have spent a long day travelling and exploring with 2 young children. It is a fantastic location and was very reasonable priced. Yes this motel is a little 'shabby' around the edges, but it was very, very clean, well equipped and had that wonderful beach bach, homely feel. It was perfect for our needs. The unit we stayed in was one of the 'off the beach front'. Our unit was situated at the end, closer to the beach not the road, which worked great for us. The double bed was very comfortable and the other bed, which was a fold out couch, wasn't as comfortable but adequate. It is a short 5 minute walk into the town centre of Orewa and food selection is unlimited!! I can't really fault this motel, but do realise not everyone is able to look past a shabby décor, so that is the only fault I can find.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RareJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.1 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
5.4 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
327 reviews
12.5 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Motel
Anchor Lodge Motel
#6 of 8 in Orewa
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Orewa
Villa Orewa
#2 of 2 in Orewa
14 reviews
9.6 mi away
Kawai Purapura Retreat Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Property: Edgewater Motel
Address: 387 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old BUT clean Motel direct access to beach, some units front right onto beach. Seven or eight minute walk down the beach to Orewa Restaurants and shops. Ideal for Families and or couples, with several different room formats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing