We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly environment and food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver's Cafe

Oliver's Cafe
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Orewa
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oliver's Cafe and Catering Company is dedicated to delivering high quality food and outstanding coffee to the Hibiscus coast. With an award winning chef producing taste sensations from an all new menu, and our team of qualified baristas brewing perfect cups of Allpress coffee, Oliver's Cafe is the place to be in Orewa. Breakfast and lunch is served from 7am all day, every day, and our fresh selection of mouth watering muffins, cakes and deli savoury's will keep you coming back for more. Oliver's is fully licensed and the perfect spot to enjoy a cold beer or a wine from our selection of New Zealand and Australian wines, while sitting in the sun and enjoying the views of Orewa beach. Open 7 days from 7am. Come in and see what all the fuss is about.
1 review
“Great friendly environment and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, great service and the best seafood chowder ever. The stuffed kumara fabulous. Handy to the beach and shopping. A great sea-side experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliverscafe, Owner at Oliver's Cafe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Fantastic to hear :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“All food created on site!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in to grab some Free WiFi but found the food, coffee and wine to be fantastic! Oliver's also caters so they are pretty nifty at creating some great food. As other cafe and restaurants seem to find it easier to 'buy in' cakes, pastries etc. Oliver's is a much needed change to the good old days when chefs & cooks chefed and cooked not just managed! The coffee was fantastic. If you usually add sugar DON'T as ours was not bitter, perfect! Now the beer list(licensed) is the only complaint as it consisted of commercial bulk distributed everyday beer. I'm still waiting for these great cafe type places to realise that, like wine, well crafted beer compliments food and atmosphere... it'll happened, soon I hope. Oliver's is just across the road from a beautiful NZ beach right in the middle of town.

Helpful?
Thank HumpbackBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff.Good service, good brunch and coffee, worth a visit.Will visit again on my next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location close to the beach! Lots of seating on the sidewalk. Interesting menu with excellent coffee. Service is very friendly. Well worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Olivers of Orewa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Walking down the main road of Orewa we came across several cafes and decided to go to the one that was most patronised with tables inside and out that were nearly full. We have been to Olivers several times for a coffee and a cake as they were one cafe that had a nice selection and some decent reading material. This time we decided on to try out their brunch. Considering people coming and going the service was quick and good. I chose something unusual (for me) - prime beef mince on toast with poached eggs. An unusual combination we thought. The toast consisted of one piece of brown and one of white with the mince covering and the eggs on top. Nicely presented and nice and tasty. My wife chose pancakes, in maple syrup with a variety of fruit (no apple!)and a stack of bacon. Another very nice meal. Also one of the few cafes that have Lipton's iced tea. We will be back but I fear that as the summer tourists arrive we may not get in!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank w0lves70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Cafe also viewed

 
Orewa, Auckland Region
 

Been to Oliver's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing