We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good choices”
Review of The Farmhouse Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Farmhouse Cafe
Ranked #28 of 38 Restaurants in Orewa
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good choices”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been going here for quite a few years on and off and always find the food well presented and of good quality, coffees excellent too. Service mostly friendly but like most New Zealand cafes, small and service always lacking when it comes to wanting that second cup of coffee or other drink, self serve only.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrswilderness2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Farmhouse Cafe - Simply The Best”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a local on the Hibiscus Coast in Auckland, New Zealand and regularly frequent The Farmhouse Cafe, whereby my hubbie and I either (once a month) have a Full Breakfast (hubbie) and a Sausage Breakfast (for myself) or quite simply a gorgeous freshly brewed Coffee/Mocha.

The Breakfast are just incredible. No expense is spared on these brekfasts, Only the freshest of ingrdients are used. The sizes are incredibly large (I can almost finish mine!), and they arrive at your table 'hot'!

The coffe is gorgeous. The Mocha's inparticular are to die for! There is also a marvelous secltion of Teas, Soft Drinks, Jucies, Smoothies and other Milk Drinks along with a never ending supply of water.

The prices are excellent and for such large meals you won't find cheaper anywhere else!

I highly recommend The Farmhouse to all i.e. locals, non locals, travellers and tourists alike.

P.S. Take advantage of the home-made Carrot Cake, yet another item to die for! The rest of the cakes are just as gorgeous also.

The staff are fantastic and seem to have cleared your plates without you even noticing them having done it - remarkable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food, but a little inconsistent”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our first visit was a 5 with some of the best French toast on the planet, but on our way back through Orewa, it was only a 3. Guess there was a different cook that day. But there is a very friendly staff and lots of good bakery choices as well as full breakfasts. Worth a try if you are in Orewa.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, N.Z
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cafe in village centre with lots of tables.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a good cafe with plenty room and variety of food. Very conveniently placed right in centre of the town but very busy too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrendaMatamata_N_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Charming Cafe”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We often go here as their selection of meals is comprehensive. Their cabinet is always full of homemade cakes and their coffee is great. A well patronised cafe with very friendly staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank w0lves70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmhouse Cafe also viewed

Orewa, Auckland Region
Orewa, Auckland Region
 
Orewa, Auckland Region
Orewa, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Farmhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing