We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Random”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pillows Travellers Lodge
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Random”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Not a very exciting and warm welcome at all. I felt a stranger since the first moment. Although the man running the place gave me the required information and was honest.

Rooms, beds and furniture are extremely old and not well looked after. It is true that the price is not expensive, but in any other town in New Zealand you get wonderful things for exactly the same price. Kitchen facilities and common areas a bit poor.

Location is alright, although when people are talking outside, it is the end of your sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    10
    8
    18
See reviews for
9
13
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We ended up taking an unplanned stopover in Orewa and stopped in here because it was in the guidebook, not because it looked so great from the outside (it doesn't). We had a friendly reception (closes at 8pm), and were shown through a pleasant courtyard garden to our room, which was basic but had all we needed. Showers were good, kitchen well-equipped, and a relaxing lounge area - with a piano!

Ten minutes walk from town. 50 bucks for the both of us. If you want to stay in Orewa - it's all right - you could probably do much worse.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We ended up here whilst heading north out of Auckland without any particular plan, during a week of awful weather. The guy was friendly enough when we checked in, then we passed through the quaint little courtyard to our cosy, simple room.

Nice kitchen with all you need, a TV room, and comfy lounge (with piano!) to relax.

If you want to stay in Orewa, a small but sweet little town, you could probably do much worse.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

after arriving here we were told that we had to be quiet due to other residents at the lodge, yet we explained that we were a team taking part at the Nationals held in his area, told us we could not use the spa cause he thought we would spread germs in the spa, so he empty it out, meaning we had to go else were, was quick to get rid of us, because he had people moving in, which we later found out was not the case, overall would not becoming back to place, instead would recommend to other teams, that this place is not suitable for teams, and is over priced, which is a whole story all together.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulo183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orewa hotels

Fosston, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a single night on our way back to Auckland. Great location (across from the beach and near hot springs resort), very clean, friendly manager, and nice atmosphere. Internet, laundry, and kitchen available.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank e1nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.1 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#5 of 8 in Orewa
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Orewa
Villa Orewa
#2 of 2 in Orewa
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillows Travellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillows Travellers Lodge

Property: Pillows Travellers Lodge
Address: 412 Hibiscus Coast Highway | Orewa Beach, Orewa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a purpose built backpackers with two dorms as well as private rooms including en-suited rooms. We cater not only for backpackers but all travellers incl families as our rooms sleep up to five having double beds and bunks in them We are in Orewa Beach central just across the road from the beautiful Orewa beach and a short stroll to Orewa cafes and shops easy walk to the supermarket All our rooms open onto a closed courtyard where there are tables and shade umbrellas and a bbq area We offer kayaks for hire as well as complimentary fishing takle and boogie boards buckets and spades for the kids. We maintain a 10:30pm curfew to preserve the privacy and enjoyment of all guests however do provide facilities out front to carry on longer away from the other guests rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pillows Travellers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing