We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hobbit Motorlodge
Nearby Hotels
$120
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)(Great Value!)
$65
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
39
24
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
24
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa poolwater pressure in the showercomfortable bedsbook accommodationeasy accesshelpful ownersstayed herecentre of townvery comfortable stayshared kitchennight's sleeplovely roomski seasongreat place to staylong weekendperfect locationtongariro crossing
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 78 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for a running event in Ohakune, in a studio. nice and clean, no frills and was everything that it was advertised as. Friendly owner and felt we got value for money.
There is a spa bath too but you need to book it on a form outside reception.
A bit out out of main town but not far from the Powderhorn pub/hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Room was clean and well presented.

Great service from the hosts, they stored our motorbikes overnight in their garage and even offered to pick us up in Ohakune if it was raining when we wanted to walk back.

A nice spot :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were in NZ for a week and had planned our trip to Ohakune to ski at Ruhapehu. As luck would have it, our one day of ski was cancelled with gale force winds on the mountai. However, our host directed us to loads of great places and attractions locally. She was also kind enough to offer us a few board games and cards for our night in the terrible weather. We cooked in the apartment such was large and airy - very ski lodge feel! There was a happy cat to pat on our way out the next day and all in all it was a lovely trip especially with the disappointment if no ski. Would go back again to try another few days of ski another time.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest and it was still great!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drazaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well, my son was disappointed the doors weren't round and the 2 berth bunkroom was definitely 'Sam & Frodo' rather than 'Gandalf & Aragorn' -sized.

That said, we got exactly what we expected. Service was pleasant and unobtrusive, facilities were very clean and, courtesy of a vintage wall panel heater, warm. Shared facility bunkroom dorms can be noisy at times -not here. The internal block wall construction ensured each of the 2 or 4 berth rooms were well insulated for noise and warmth:) but also unfortunately from the wifi network :(. The in-room tv was viewable from the top bunk. The drying room for damp gear was really handy.

This was great value for money and suited a quick 3 days snowboarding stay for my son and I. The common areas are small, so I'm not sure I'd want to go with a big group unless we were planning on socialising at the nearby Powderhorn then just coming back to sleep. My 95kg frame probably took the cushioning rating of the foam mattress to its limit, so a drink or two before bed may have helped the sleep quality!

Location is great. I would definitely stay here again. If the value rating went beyond excellent, I'd give it more!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your stay in our backpacker accommodation. The rooms are very cosy, the retro heaters aren't the latest models but they do work well. Since receiving your review we have addressed the poor Wi-Fi coverage in parts of the backpacker lodge by installing a booster, which we're happy to say has resolved the problem. We hope to see you again next year if not before, this region is beautiful in summer and worthy of exploration, with plenty of great walks and cycle tracks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were thrilled to be upgraded to a suite with a spa bath and full kitchen. The bathroom was gorgeous, immaculate and the water pressure was out of this world! Toiletries were provided. The recycling bin the room was a really nice touch. I had a great sleep in the comfy bed. The motor lodge is very close to the centre of Ohakune and the host gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner (Cypress Tree - lovely!). We had a warm and friendly greeting from the host, Leigh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoll12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews