We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for a group ski holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hobbit Motorlodge
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good option for a group ski holiday”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We needed a motel last-minute after we couldn't get into our batch, and fortunately managed to get a 5 bed unit at the Hobbit. The unit had 2 bedrooms (one with a queen bed, the other with two singles) and an extra single bed in the living room. The kitchen had all the essentials for us to cook a good meal after our skiing.
Overall it was clean, tidy and well-equipped, and good value per person.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
24
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The rooms here are very basic and the walls were quite thin, but it was very cheap. Also the rooms were quite cold.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed in the backpacker wing, which was very cosy. The owners thoughtfully put me into a 2-person dorm, which I had to myself for the first couple of nights - bonus! The owners really went out of their way to help out, and the spa is a real treat. Only downside is the kitchen is a bit on the small side so gets a bit busy - it is well equipped though. Overall a real bargain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Found the bunkhouse to be a bit gloomy and cramped but the studio room was nice, the location was good, an easy walk to most places in Ohakune, a couple of minutes away on foot from the stores, the wireless worked really well, kitchen was spotless, beautiful views of Ruapehu just outside and the managers Anne and Colin were extremely nice and took very good care of me. Anne even showed up at my door with chocolate bars and food when she saw me getting back tired from the Tongariro crossing! I loved staying there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheArcticTern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
147 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Set in a not very salubrious backwater. Bare and adequate room. Would not be in a hurry to return!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACJHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

The motel room was fine as was the spa pool although will be necessary to book it in advance during busy periods. The motel was very well run by Ian and his wife - nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I was very disapointed with our stay here. We had a studio room that didnt live up to $120 per night. The spa was booked out when we arrived and then it closed at 10. We used the washing facilities which were poor. The dryer took so long that i had to return in the morning with a bag of clothes from the night before to re-dry. The motel isnt close to town so we had to drive in. As to the room;the walls are very thin, which didnt help me get to sleep as the TV in the adjoining room was right next to the head of the bed in our room. The people in the other room had their TV on until 11.30pm, & I could hear the TV so clearly through the walls so i didnt fall asleep until midnight! I was also awoken by a man's voice, which i found out to be the guests in the adjoining room, having a converstaion! I awoke at 7.30am becuase of this. Also the free internet does not help guests that do not have their own computer. Im sorry, but if you want a good night's sleep then this place isnt for you. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank italiangirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.5 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
430 reviews
16.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.4 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
0.5 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hobbit Motorlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hobbit Motorlodge

Property: The Hobbit Motorlodge
Address: 80 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4660, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hobbit Motorlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hobbit Motorlodge is nestled below the Turoa skifield of Mt Ruapehu. The site enjoys close proximity to the central business area whilst still offering a peaceful tree surrounded alpine escape. We offer premium rooms ranging from large spacious studios with kitchenette to two bedroom suites with full kitchen facilities. We also offer comfortable dormitory rooms for travellers in our lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hobbit Motorlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobbit Motorlodge Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing