We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers- not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Backpackers- not so great”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked a week here with friends over the school holidays. We had a three bed room under the kitchen. Walls were paper thin and could hear everything! 4 very loud people upstairs the first night. Luckily we weren't the only people disturbed and the motel handled it very well.Unfortunately people were still very inconsiderate ( shouting at their kids at 6am, blow drying hair at 1am, slamming doors) Rooms are very basic. take an extension cord if you want to have the heater on and charge something, drying room was handy and the spa pool was nice and clean and great after a hard day on the mountain. Rooms were clean ( but not cleaned during our one week stay), the walls were a bit wet but otherwise the heater keeps it reasonably warm. I guess you pay for what you get but have stayed in better backpackers and probably wouldn't stay here again ( would consider staying in the motel section though)

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not under the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed over for two nights ski. Two of us sharing a bunk. The location of the actual backpackers is not what it seems from the site. It's tucked away behind a motel with no direct access.

Booking online I had to secure the booking by registering my card. On arrival I wanted to pay cash and at no point was I told I would be charged on the card before I arrived! So $160 NZD on my UK credit card!

Rooms were good. Walls maybe a bit thin. Not much in the way of social stuff. The main junction is a good 5 minute drive and there's not much to do around the actual hostel just a few restaurants, no bars.

All in all ok for a bed for the night if you're up skiing. But that's just it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our room in the Motel was nicely furnished and warm. It had everything we needed and was nice and clean. The bed was great and my partner and I both slept well after a full day's skiing. Hosts were very friendly and helpful with ideas on things to do and information on the Mountain. We tried their Lemongrass Restaurant which had fantastic Thai food, which we felt was on a par with all the Thai restaurants in Wellington. They know how to make a good coffee too...

We were really impressed with this accommodation and have booked our next trip already for the end of the month.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our dates shifted slightly so we ended up here last minute due to other places being fully booked, never again!! The booking process was tricky and somewhat misleading as it wasnt until the confirmation for our three person room came through that it stated it was in the back packers - we were expecting the motel lodge.

The quality of back packers across NZ is generally exceptional this place is not and is a nod to back packers of old, I'd struggle to find a redeeming feature.

The rooms are tiny, once you pop three people and three bags in there is no where to move. They are also freezing cold with tiny, thin questionably clean blankets upon thin worn mattresses - mattress may be pushing it, think small piece of foam.

The hostel is alsonot secure so those with valuable skis, possessions etc think carefully before booking the front and back doors are always open and never locked. It also attracts a rather yobbish crowd which wouldnt be an issue if the walls werent made of paper. The kitchen facilities are minimal and it isnt a place youd want to cook in. Cleaning is also very sporadic with over flowing rubbish bins daily and half empty beer bottles lining the bathroom. On the plus side showers were hot, if very dirty and frigidly cold once you stepped out of them.

No thought has been given to the clientle or the fact they are likely to have been up the mountain all day. There is no where for wet coats, boots etc in the tiny cold rooms, its coats or people!! Further annoyances are the lack of plug sockets, one in a three bed dorm?! if you're expecting to have the teeny tiny heater on and charge a phone forget it.

Over all a dismal place with ambivalent staff. If there's more than two of you you'd be much better placed to rent a batch from batchcare, which was our oringinal plan. Stay here only if you must particulalry as there is a wonderful breakfast place round the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ohakune hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I booked last minute so had little choice but this back packer accommodation is the worst I have ever stayed in. i booked a four bunk room for myself and three kids. It cost $120. It was extremely small and dusty. The sheets were thread bare and the duvet was extremely light weight (the receptionist had suggested we bring more blankets... she was nice and friendly but couldn't make up for the place). The bathrooms was old and dirty and so was the kitchen. Everything was squashed and grubby. The next night we stayed at another backpackers attached to a motel and it was $80 for a room for the four of us .....had clean warm bedding and a great clean big new shared bathroom and clean shared kitchen facilities. The Alpine Motel backpacker accommodation is not worth $30 a bunk...... maybe $15. It is squashed, shabby and grubby. I would have preferred to pay another $80 and had a motel room if I had known. Never again and I will actively spread the news on this.

Room Tip: Choose another property..... there are many other backpackers that are actually a fair deal for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a great place to stay, me and my partner stay here every ski season and occasionally in the summer. Modern, clean rooms and the hosts are really friendly. Great location, just great in general! Super happy with it :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannes262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Modern, very clean and comfortable. There is nothing nicer than having crisp white sheets on a bed. Friendly owners and staff made our stay at Ohakune that much more enjoyable. Would highly recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
16.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.4 mi away
The Hobbit Motorlodge
The Hobbit Motorlodge
#10 of 21 in Ohakune
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.2 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ohakune Court Motel
Ohakune Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Ohakune
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune

Property: Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Address: 7 Miro Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Motel, Lodge & Sassi's Restaurant is located right in the heart of Ohakune township only a minutes stroll to bars, cafes, shops, banks, supermarket, picture theatre and the information centre....We have a wide range of accommodation to suit everyone,5 studio units / 1 one bedroomed unit / 3 chalets that sleep upto 10 persons / a four bedroomed Town house that sleeps upto 14 persons, and a backpackers lodge made up of 2, 3 and 4 berth rooms.Our units are modern, warm and comfortable with good heating, electric blankets, Sky satellite TV, telephone, Wireless internet, and most have kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing