We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, minimal facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in the backpackers lodge here. There wasn't enough space for everyone in the room to stand up, never mind anything else. There was only one plug in each room, and half the time it didn't work. helpful when the only heating was plug in electric radiators! Kitchen also small with limited seating. Jacuzzi was ok. Car parking also limited. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HevvaRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineMotelOhakune, Owner at Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

The Backpackers is at the budget end of our accommodation, and yes the rooms are small which reflects the price of $30.00 per person that we charge during peak ski season at the weekend (Cheaper midweek). Yes the rooms have 1 plug which is on a timer so that they switch on between 4pm and 10am in the morning which stops heaters being left on all day when people are up the mountain skiing.
Had you been prepared to pay $40.00 per person (based on 4 persons sharing) you would have found that you had more space in a fully self contained motel unit with Brand new bathrooms, beds, LCD Tv's etc.. etc...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

“Fantastic and Friendly”
Very enjoyable stay, the owner (Husband and Wife) were fantastic hosts, we book for 3 days 1 night stay, as this is the first time we went to Ohakune, this motel have an excellent service, the lady owner advise us the way to the ski mountain, what to do at Ohakune and we had a great time. On the day of check-out, since we taking public transport (as we from Singapore/Malaysia/Indonesia) and had book a train ticket back to Auckland, we have no idea the Ohakune train station are some distance from the Ohakune town and thinking of walk (maybe 15min to 20min) with all our laguages (5 pieces) as we got problem book a transport to fetch us to the train station, but the owner (husband) are nice as he offer to fetch us to the train statioin, Would definitley recommending to other families and friends looking for accomodation in Ohakune.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ck_michael1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Lovely couple who really made my stay enjoyable. Highly recommend to all.
The restaurant has a lovely social atmosphere :)

I'll be back for sure :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julez_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed for a night in order to attend Waiouru March-out parade next day.
I had booked online and it took the guy ages to establish the details and the cost.
No oven in the unit (just microwave) and I had erronously bought oven wedges to go with our dinner. Because the motel had a restaurant attached I thought it wouldn't be a major to ask them to pop them in their oven , stood and waited for ages while the waitress faffed about(The restaurant was practically empty)-"No!" was the reply. Ended up frying them instead.
Had to go back to ask for 2 more towels (4 of us) as they had only put 2 in the bathroom- again waited for ages till they bought them around.
A couple of our group used the spa, it also was filthy, and they thought it best to have a shower afterwards just in case they caught anything.
2 of us slept on the sofa bed, The bedding didn't look fresh and it smelt of stale body odour.
Next morning we checked out, My husband waited ages for someone to come to the desk, they never came, we left the key and just left.
Really poor customer service, grubby room and bedding.
Won't stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moose36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Very enjoyable stay, Scott and Dara were fantastic hosts and our family had a great time. Would definitley be back and would have no problem recommending to other families looking for accomodation in Ohakune.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohakune hotels
65.1 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#5 of 22 in Ohakune
120 reviews
65.8 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 22 in Ohakune
190 reviews
65.8 mi away
Rimu Park Lodge
Rimu Park Lodge
#17 of 22 in Ohakune
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
65.9 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
65.5 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune

Address: 7 Miro Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range: $35 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Motel, Lodge & Sassi's Restaurant is located right in the heart of Ohakune township only a minutes stroll to bars, cafes, shops, banks, supermarket, picture theatre and the information centre....We have a wide range of accommodation to suit everyone,5 studio units / 1 one bedroomed unit / 3 chalets that sleep upto 10 persons / a four bedroomed Town house that sleeps upto 14 persons, and a backpackers lodge made up of 2, 3 and 4 berth rooms.Our units are modern, warm and comfortable with good heating, electric blankets, Sky satellite TV, telephone, Wireless internet, and most have kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing