We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan friendly option in Ohakune”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Our stay at the Tussock Grove was part of a package trip which included 2 breakfasts, a picnic lunch, a dinner, and our shuttle to/from the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The organizer of our group had forgotten to let the hotel owner know that there would be a vegan in the group - despite no notice and on an Easter weekend when much was closed, I was able to get a scrumptious vegan breakfasts, lunch, and dinner (the cranberry chutney was divine).

The hotel is a warm, family run business, a short five minute walk from Ohakune town center. The owners are very helpful. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Ohakune for the ski season or for the Tongariro Crossing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

The hotel itself is situated about 10min walk outside the Ohakune town centre close to the main road. The hotel had a nice reception and friendly staff/owner, but the rooms were not that good. The biggest problem was that the room was built over two floors with a bed, a couch facing the bed, a desk and a TV upstairs, and a fridge, another chair and the bathroom downstairs. This arrangement made absolutely no sense to us, and together with the worn down 80's look to the room and bathroom, left us with less than a positive impression of the room.

The hotel featured a spa pool though, which was positive, and the public area with the TV and fireplace was nice.

All in all an average stay that was sufficient enough for a nights sleep but not much more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed as a family of five in one of few places which could accommodate five. The location was great, the owners were lovely, and even had a toy cupboard that the kids could borrow from. The room included seperate bedrooms, lounge and kitchen and there was plenty of space. I recommend this to anyone wanting a good value ski holiday, particularly families.

The spa is also very welcome at the end of the day, and the internet is very cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneewasaweener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Positives:
- Friendly and helpful owners
- Clean
- Nice lounge

Negatives:
- A small double bed that was so worn that it felt like sleeping in the bath tub
- Bathroom had taps designed 30 years ago, one hot that burns your hand and one cold that freezes it. How about a modern mixer tap ?
- You could hear the neighbors talking next door, poor sound insulation
- Truck noise from main road
- Not recommended for parents with small kids
- Fridge downstairs, one tiny table and chair upstairs.

In a summary we enjoyed Ohakune and the Turoa Ski field, but this accommodation was pretty average.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firstclass_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in Ohakune! Very useful and informative service from hotel owner.
Large room, but bathroom was a bit small.
Unfortunately, you can here the noise from trucks driving through Ohakune there by night.
Otherwise, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
Thank silkeinnz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed on the Tongariro Crossing package offered on the property's website. Aside from being great value we were impressed by the quality of the accomodation - a cross between an upmarket motel and a ski lodge. The room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed and had a separate lounge area, and although the bathroom was a bit small, it was very clean. The food was excellent and there is a relaxed bar/lounge area next to the dining room as well as a very welcome spa. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Two-Bedroom Sweetsはとても良い部屋でした
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arizona_r_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.4 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
17 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
17.3 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Karo Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $82 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing