We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peaks Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Peaks Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

A very friendly and informative lady greeted us. The peaks motel is a beautiful motel with a lovely outdoor spa and indoor spa options. Wonderful warm place. The kitchen facilities were very clean and so was the spacious bathroom. We loved the heated blankets! Would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks very much for the review, we appreciate you taking the time and would love to see you again sometime in the ski season. After the school holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
90
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Peaks is perfect if you are into hiking biking from your doorstep, and not to far to meander into town for a well deserved dinner after a days hiking . Ohakune has some breath taking walks not just up the mountain but just a few hundred meters up the road. Get up early and you have this nature paradise to your selfs. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi,
The Mountain Road walks,on this southern side of Mt Ruapehu have received much less promotion over the years and as a result are not well known. However travellers who enjoy getting off the beaten track are well rewarded for finding their way here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Clean place but has its problems, heater is very noisy and cant sleep with it on. has electric blankets which get too hot to have them on overnight.this is at the entrance to the Tangariro National park and get very cold at night. the kettle didn't work properly due to a faulty switch, couldn't get the stove to work to cook an egg. i expected some sort of heating in the bathroom at least a heated towel rail but didn't have either.rooms are not completely soundproof so i could hear the guys in next unit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Sam,
We are very disapointed that you did not enjoy your stay here at The Peaks. You seemed to experience a run of issues that have obviously upset your stay, however all of these could have been easily and quickly rectified had you brought them to our attention. The heaters all have 2 heat settings and are fan blowing, sometimes the fan can get noisy but we hold replacements in stock as we do for the electric jugs. Electric blankets have 2 heat settings, mainly for preheating the bed but it is recommended that you do not sleep with them on. The stove problem was a loose plug, and has now been rectified. We are in the process of rechecking all rooms but still rely on guests bringing any problems to our attention at the time. The Peaks is built to a good level of soundproofing but I guess you can't win them all. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night only to visit the Tongariro National Park. It is definitely a great place to stay and very close to the park. The owners were really friendly and helpful with dinner and breakfast suggestions. The room was clean and quite big for the price that we payed. We even had a nice terrace and a beautiful view. The mattress was really, really soft. However, we actually found all mattresses on our whole trip through New Zealand too soft. Overall a really great place to stay with a great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks very much, hope to see you back for a longer stay so you can see and do more.
From here you can do the Tongariro Crossing, the beautiful walks on Mountain Rd ( Mt Ruapehu), do short or multiday trips on the Whanganui River or enjoy the mountain bike trails.
Or just sit around and eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Was recommended this motel by a local and can see why. Very warm welcome at reception, clean and nice sized rooms that are very quiet. A little too far from town to walk in for a meal but as a result is quiet and not near the truck filled main road. Great for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your review. A lot of our guests appreciate the good night's sleep they get here and the peace and quiet - whether they're on business or pleasure.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This trip was a weekend away with my family, 2 rooms were booked, The rooms were beautiful, clean and had every little thing you could ask for . After a long drive we booked in got a bite to eat and then had a good nights sleep before our trip to the Tongariro crossing our baths and showers were very much needed that evening and the 2 vouchers towards a very nice meal were a nice touch $80.00 !! Wow.All four of us would recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and quiet,the sauna and the spa are a nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 199jane199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks very much and hope your knee recovered ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We live in Auckland and were taking Oregon visitors around the No. Island, including a trip to the Bridge to Nowhere. This place had good ratings and after our two-night stay we can see why - it was very well-maintained, the rooms (we had two) were spotless and well-appointed (really great beds), the owners were interesting, congenial and helpful, there's a lovely riverside walk close by and the setting is gorgeous. There is a pool but we didn't try it, so I can't rate that. The owners suggested some possible sources for dinner after our late arrival that proved excellent.

Room Tip: Can't think of any except perhaps away from pool area in case it gets noisy. We heard no road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 85kiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks so much for this very nice review and we very much hope you do come back.
Note: the pool in question is a spa pool so doesn't create much noise. In fact this is a great motel to run as guests are usually tired out from trekking,cycling,kayaking/canoeing,skiing,snowboarding,horse riding,sitting in the sauna....everyone's asleep before we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
16.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
16.5 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Property: The Peaks Motor Inn
Address: 128 Mangawhero Terrace | Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing