We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peaks Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This trip was a weekend away with my family, 2 rooms were booked, The rooms were beautiful, clean and had every little thing you could ask for . After a long drive we booked in got a bite to eat and then had a good nights sleep before our trip to the Tongariro crossing our baths and showers were very much needed that evening and the 2 vouchers towards a very nice meal were a nice touch $80.00 !! Wow.All four of us would recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and quiet,the sauna and the spa are a nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 199jane199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thanks very much and hope your knee recovered ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 202 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

We live in Auckland and were taking Oregon visitors around the No. Island, including a trip to the Bridge to Nowhere. This place had good ratings and after our two-night stay we can see why - it was very well-maintained, the rooms (we had two) were spotless and well-appointed (really great beds), the owners were interesting, congenial and helpful, there's a lovely riverside walk close by and the setting is gorgeous. There is a pool but we didn't try it, so I can't rate that. The owners suggested some possible sources for dinner after our late arrival that proved excellent.

Room Tip: Can't think of any except perhaps away from pool area in case it gets noisy. We heard no road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85kiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thanks so much for this very nice review and we very much hope you do come back.
Note: the pool in question is a spa pool so doesn't create much noise. In fact this is a great motel to run as guests are usually tired out from trekking,cycling,kayaking/canoeing,skiing,snowboarding,horse riding,sitting in the sauna....everyone's asleep before we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here on the 4 April, 2014, Staff very friendly and very helpful, even helped us to find somewhere to eat out, which was lovely. Room very clean. If ever I visit again, I would stay here. We were travelling from Wellington to Auckland, so we made a stopover. So glad we did.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Yes, coming through Ohakune via Taumarunui and Te Kuiti takes an hour off the usual Akld- Wgtn trip via Taupo, and as there are heaps of places to eat at and stay in, Ohakune makes a good overnight stop.
Look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have stayed here many times over the past summer and would thouroughly recomend it to any other travellers. It has great amenities includeding a gym, suana, and spa and the owners are very accomodating, helpful and easy going. I think the setting would be even better during the winter time, as it's sits quietly at the bottom of Mt Ruapehu. It's also a good distance from the town centre, as it remains quite but close to super markt and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thanks for thinking of doing a review for us - very thoughtful! - and we were only too pleased to provide a base for you after the hundreds of miles you covered this summer. Enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very quiet setting, 10 minute walk from Ohakune village. We had a one bedroom apartment, very well equipped kitchen. Slightly dated decor but very comfortable. We had some internet connection problems but owner was bringing an IT advisor in to sort them out. Owners were very helpful re the Tongariro Crossing and booked our transport for this as well as giving us the loan of some equipment. The motel is about one hour away (by minibus) from the Crossing. There was a wide range of other activities accessible from the motel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank pgmflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Glad you enjoyed the Crossing it's been very popular this year with many people doing it from Ohakune. Thanks for the review, and the wireless internet connection is working well with a strong signal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Reception lady was very friendly and helpful gave lots of information about walks and what to see in the area. We arrived before check in time but this wasn’t a problem she gave us our room early and wasn't fussed what time we checked out.

We had a room with a queen and single bed and kitchenette in it. Room was clean and I liked the white doonas so you could see they were clean.

Kitchen was well appointed it was the first time in our travels our kitchenette had a full stove. This was great. Seals on the fridge door were badly cracked but the fridge still worked fine.

The bed was too soft for my liking, it didn’t bother my husband. There was an outdoor spa at the end of our row of hotel rooms and a gym but we didn’t use either. They also had a washing machine and dryers for guest use that cost $2 per load. Half an hour free internet then you had to pay for it.

There is a small New World supermarket back in town on the same street. Also an information centre in the centre of town but the lady at the hotel gave us all the maps and tips we needed. There are a lot of restaurants in the town, as we were there in summer not all the shops were open, it was still a pretty little town to walk around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie2014474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi
Thanks very much for such a full description of the motel and of Ohakune, the North Island's mountain town.
RE: mattresses: most people seem very impressed with our new mattresses: we recently upgraded most of them to Sleepyhead Executive Plush (hotel grade) However we do have some rooms with firmer mattresses and can allocate them if we know, please do ask when booking.
Hope to see you again,there's more walks and trips to be done!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and helpful staff. Clean and simple room. Not the highest standard but a nice place to spend the night. Car parking right outside the room. All rooms have separate doors to the outside. Ca 1 km to city center. Very poor internet from the room. 30 min free internet. Breakfast is 12 nzd.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your review and hope you had time to explore the Ohakune Mountain Road walks yesterday. Re: internet,while our signal is strong, reception seems to depend on what devices you have, firewalls and various other factors. If any guests are having trouble they come to reception where James nearly always gets them connected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ohakune Court Motel
Ohakune Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Ohakune
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: 128 Mangawhero Terrace | Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $100 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing