We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for Turoa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peaks Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great spot for Turoa”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband, son and myself stayed here for 3 nights while skiing up at Turoa.
Room was a good size with queen bed, single, table and chairs and a kitchenette which came in handy as we had planned to self cater, bathroom had a shower over the spa bath which was also used after hard days on the slopes.
Small heat pump unit which kept the room toasty and warm.
There was an outdoor spa which seemed busy after everyone had gotten back from skiiing, there was also a gym onsite (didnt use) and a drying room - which was in high use!
Probably the only gripe I had, there was an odd fishy smell when we first arrived, that went away after the room had been opened up, but then came back each day after the room had been closed up for the day.
Free wifi available (code given at check in) and snow report was posted on the door of the office early each day, no problems with check in or check out and price was fairly reasonable for what you got I thought.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for your review on one of our studios.
Yes, all our rooms have full kitchens and cooking smells do tend to be the result. However I'm confident that we remove most of them -we have many methods! If you have any problems at all with your room, just let us know and we can usually sort it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    77
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
94
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My initial contact via email asking questions and getting information were answered quickly and was informative. This was also followed through on arrival at the Peaks by the couple who are friendly and helpful. The unit was clean and tidy, it was simply furnished and comfortable, we had space for all our gear. The beds clean and comfortable. As on my comment form at the Peaks, sofa bed could do with an upgrade, very uncomfortable. Ski traffic went by in morning as a quiet hum. The unit has great insulation, could not hear anything from neighbouring units. I booked the Peaks after considering overall TripAdvisor comments, cost, location, sleeping space/size. It was a good decision.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for your comments and for noticing the beds: we've invested heavily this year in new mattresses, pillows, mattress and pillow protectors,bed covers and pillow cases. Sofa bed mattresses are next on the list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We only arrived at the motel at 9 pm and the owner of the motel welcomed us by heating the room up which definitely made us feel cozy.

The room is neat and tidy and has a single and a double bed, it have a full kitchen so that you can cook your own meals. It also has a very relaxing in-room spa. The bathroom comes with towel and hairdryer which I only expected to have in a hotel. We were rushing off to ski the next morning so we didn't wash the dishes after cooking breakfast and to our surprise, all the dishes were cleaned when we got back. The only thing that was a bit annoying was the single bed was a bit small.

This motel is definitely worth its value, I recommend anyone who want to ski to stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clee187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks! So long as we know when guests are arriving, we always preheat rooms during winter: that's one reason for giving us your ETA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed two nights here and it is clean, fresh and comfortable with modern heating however it just misses a few details that could make it a more enjoyable experience. For the price the rooms are smallish and a bit sparcely furnished. There is only one bedside table which I always find a bit annoying and perhaps expect encounter in a backpackers but not a motel. The bin had no lid which meant that food scraps were open to the room and towel rails were not heated and so in winter there is perhaps not alot of point in recylcing towels as they do not dry. Still the owners were helpful enough in replacing them when requested. Rooms as they come with a spa bath and there are spa pools available for guest use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhakaipoLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohakunerox, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate the time taken.
All our rooms are serviced daily, so rubbish is removed and towels are replaced if required, as per the notice in the bathroom.
We find this is the best way to meet a wide range of guest preferences in different seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Comfortable, clean and well-maintained accommodation in beautiful Ohakune. Jenny and James are friendly and professional, and very helpful with any queries. We stayed for 4 nights, and were able to make the most of the motel's facilities (gym, laundry & full kitchen). We didn't get a chance to use the heated spa, which was a shame because it looked very inviting! Ohakune is a perfect place - close to the mountains, and with plenty of it's own attractions - we had a lovely mountain bike ride through the hills, and enjoyed the awesome views of Mt Ruapehu. There is a great selection of restaurants within walking distance of The Peaks, and we also enjoyed excellent local produce from the local supermarket. The Peaks is lovely and quiet, and situated across the road from the Mangawhero River - there is a lovely walkway along the river that is easily accessed from the motel. We enjoyed our stay and will hopefully be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks so much for this review, and yes we think Ohakune is a special place too. Hope to see you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great motel! Fairly new, modern and very clean units, each with a paved outdoor area overlooking the lawned gardens. Nice bathroom with large bathtub.
Can't fault it and great value. Very helpful staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

wonderful accommodation and views of the mountain. one bedroom motel unit which was well set up. Good size and excellent bathroom with spa bath. Highly recommended and very friendly lady on desk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aspy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,544 reviews
16.3 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
16.4 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Property: The Peaks Motor Inn
Address: 128 Mangawhero Terrace | Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing