We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed July 19, 2008

This is a cosy chateau with wooden interior and self opening doors which were very helpful for my Mum as she had an accident on the hill and was on crutches.
The staff were pretty average, but the homeliness and comfort of the rooms made up for it.
Also, the adjoining bar and restaurant were fantastic, 'the grill' breakfast is just the best!

  • Liked — The rooms were very inviting and homely
  • Disliked — The staff didnt seem like the guests were the most important thing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank borntravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    96
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
165
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Traditional type skilodge, large rooms, drying room not so effective. Staff were not overly warm and friendly. Good location but the highlight is the restaurant and bar. Great food, good service. Recommended, but the floors creak whenever someone is walking above you so request a top floor room if that bothers you. Need to upgrade the televisions!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank TCWOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
All televisions have been upgraded to LCD flat screens. The drying room is great for ski equipment and rain coats. We have guest laundry facilities with tumble dryers for excessively wet items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

Perfect stopover on the way to National Park. Cozy, spacious, clean rooms. Attached restaurant has delicious food as well and is open till about 9:30 which is a HUGE plus since everything else in Ohakune closes earlier.

  • Liked — Great vibe
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveldope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2005

while traveling around the north island, we stayed at the powderhorn for one night. this hotel has a very unique feel to it. it's has a log cabin type of look and feel. we absolutely loved our experience here. the staff was wonderful and very helpful in recommending activities to us. rooms were huge!

we stayed at hotels of all classes throughout our trip. hotels such as the rydges in rotorua, rydges in auckland, and the hyatt in auckland. no question, the powderhorn was our favorite!

i highly recommend doing the waterfall hike. when you get to the water, climb and get a closer view. it was one of those unplanned excursions we took that turned out to be our most memorable moment in new zealand. we did quite a few things, like bungy, sky diving, zorbing, black water rafting, and numerous hikes. climbing down to the waterfall was by far the most fun i had.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cali-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2005

For some reason, the Powderhorn Chateau isn't listed as an option for a stay in Tongariro Nat park - a shame, as it is unique and wonderful. The rooms are excellent, huge and like staying in an Alpine Lodge, The bar is fine (but best to eat in nearby Ohakune), and the pool both hot and refreshing at the same time.

Helpful?
14 Thank Roskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
15.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
15.6 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
194 reviews
15.9 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Property: Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing