We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Ski Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 4 enjoyed 2 adjoining rooms at Powderhorn Chateau and the rooms were very cosy, warm and spacious. Despite the walls being very thin, the hotel had a lovely atmosphere with it's beautiful wooden beams and walls and amazingly confortable beds and duvets. Great bath tubs for aprez ski soaking too! The heated pool is really great and quite special. Both the Powderkeg and Matterhorn restaraunts were excellent (and I am very picky gluten free/dairy free). Bonus was excellent espresso at breakfast! Great spot away from the madness of Ohakune.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having seen this property on previous trips to the area, I was pleased to finally stay. Unfortunately being able to hear our neighbours walk, talk, and flush the toilet was disappointing. Otherwise the pool is great, and good location to the mountain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SD_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Powderhorn Chateau just before the winter ski season started because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, we stayed in one of there apartments which had good amenities. Love the master bedroom and the extra room made it a lot easier since we had young children. The only comment we had was the rooms were a bit dark, however that didn't affect our stay at all.

Room Tip: Visit during the winter or summer season as there is more activities to do E.g Bush walks, Skiing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had our daughter's wedding at this wonderful place and must say right from the beginning, everything was perfect. The staff could not do enough for us and the accommodation was charming and very comfortable.

The reception could not have been held in a more enchanting venue. The evening went perfectly, better than we could have imagined.

We would recommend the Powederhorn on all levels to anyone looking for somewhere special.

Room Tip: We would recommend rooms on the 2nd floor as they have a balcony. The rooms in the front were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had an incredible weekend down snowboarding in 2012, meals were exceptional, the Materhorn restaurant is superb I highly recommend the full menu but it was such good value I just ended up with Tapas the second night. Hotel guests get priority for bookings and when we went down to have a bar meal they told us there was a 20 minute wait then realised we were guests so took us upstairs to the restaurant without a booking as they wanted us to eat straight away. The double room was beautiful, love them to update the bathrooms so would be a 4.5 star experience and also with kids wouldn't recommend as the night club goes until 3 in the morning at the PowderKeg bar so best you have older children or go during the week for the holidays. But overall memorable for its professional and friendly staff and great food and awesome beds.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor and above the Powderkeg would ask for a back room next time to get a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I booked a deal online with the Powderhorn. Before buying the deal I checked if we could bring our 2 kids with us. They agreed. I phoned a few days prior to arrival to check booking and got asked abruptly "did you arrange to bring kids" When we arrived at the hotel we were asked the same question and told that they do not usually accept kids on weekends. When they realised we had kids they changed our room to the top floor, corner room. We asked why, they said "becuase of the noise the children would be making it would be less inconvenience to the other guests to have us further away". Our room was dirty and noisy. The after party that was being hosted while we stayed made more noise til 2am, than our kids who were out all day, slept all afternoon and in bed by 8pm. The service from the receptionist was only just friendly enough not to be totally rude. If the Powderhorn do not want kids they should not agree to them and clearly state this policy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We apologise profusely if our actions or advice was interpreted in a way which made you believe you were unwelcome. This was certainly not our intention nor in line with our service reputation. The Grab One deal was designed specifically for guests visiting for the purpose of completing the Tongariro Crossing. The Tongariro Alpine Crossing is a very exposed and strenuous tramp which we consider inappropriate for children. We confidently advise children under the age of 12 not be included. This was also stated in the Terms and Conditions of the heavily discounted package. As we always try to accommodate where we can, we made exceptions for children to be included in the accommodation portion of this package where and when possible.
We have had multiple guests arrive with very young children although reservations have been made for two adults only. This reviewer had informed us they planned to bring children and they had 3 in total. An exception note was absent from their reservation and the Receptionist on duty was concerned the intention was to include the 3, very small children in The Tongariro Crossing. We do apologise for the communication breakdown which didn’t highlight the exception made. The receptionist in question only had the best of intentions.
We are a large wooden building so we are very noise conscious. For this reason we have a two person maximum for the majority of our suites. We have five rooms where we can exceed this occupancy to three and it was one of these rooms which was allocated. We are four star Qualmark rated, this was upheld in a very recent inspection. Qualmark demands a high standard of cleanliness. It was unfortunate the caregiver arrived back to the room with the 3 children before the housekeepers were able to service. She requested not to be disturbed but asked for fresh towels only. We deduced this was the reason for your complaint as we take pride in a high standard of cleanliness.
The ‘after party’ mentioned was at a property adjacent to our building. Although noise control was contacted, the cause of the disturbance was not at a property owned by The Powderhorn Chateau and unfortunately beyond our control.
Due to our maximum occupancy restrictions and the fact Under 5s are not permitted in the heated swimming pool, there are occasions when our hotel is not overly ‘children friendly’. This said, we cater to little people specifically in both restaurants with Children’s Menus and in no way are children or their parents unwelcome when their requirements match our hotel policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the powderhorn following a grabone offer. The hotel is warm and cosy and the staff very helpful and friendly. Food in the bar was great and the hot swimming pool a wonderful way to end an active day. Would definitely stay here again with or without the deal. Rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable and a great, power shower in the bathroom.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bidefordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are proud of our staff’s genuine desire for all guests to have a great time staying with us. We look forward to accommodating you again shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
15.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,739 reviews
15.6 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $152 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing