We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take kids, get treated like lepper!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I booked a deal online with the Powderhorn. Before buying the deal I checked if we could bring our 2 kids with us. They agreed. I phoned a few days prior to arrival to check booking and got asked abruptly "did you arrange to bring kids" When we arrived at the hotel we were asked the same question and told that they do not usually accept kids on weekends. When they realised we had kids they changed our room to the top floor, corner room. We asked why, they said "becuase of the noise the children would be making it would be less inconvenience to the other guests to have us further away". Our room was dirty and noisy. The after party that was being hosted while we stayed made more noise til 2am, than our kids who were out all day, slept all afternoon and in bed by 8pm. The service from the receptionist was only just friendly enough not to be totally rude. If the Powderhorn do not want kids they should not agree to them and clearly state this policy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We apologise profusely if our actions or advice was interpreted in a way which made you believe you were unwelcome. This was certainly not our intention nor in line with our service reputation. The Grab One deal was designed specifically for guests visiting for the purpose of completing the Tongariro Crossing. The Tongariro Alpine Crossing is a very exposed and strenuous tramp which we consider inappropriate for children. We confidently advise children under the age of 12 not be included. This was also stated in the Terms and Conditions of the heavily discounted package. As we always try to accommodate where we can, we made exceptions for children to be included in the accommodation portion of this package where and when possible.
We have had multiple guests arrive with very young children although reservations have been made for two adults only. This reviewer had informed us they planned to bring children and they had 3 in total. An exception note was absent from their reservation and the Receptionist on duty was concerned the intention was to include the 3, very small children in The Tongariro Crossing. We do apologise for the communication breakdown which didn’t highlight the exception made. The receptionist in question only had the best of intentions.
We are a large wooden building so we are very noise conscious. For this reason we have a two person maximum for the majority of our suites. We have five rooms where we can exceed this occupancy to three and it was one of these rooms which was allocated. We are four star Qualmark rated, this was upheld in a very recent inspection. Qualmark demands a high standard of cleanliness. It was unfortunate the caregiver arrived back to the room with the 3 children before the housekeepers were able to service. She requested not to be disturbed but asked for fresh towels only. We deduced this was the reason for your complaint as we take pride in a high standard of cleanliness.
The ‘after party’ mentioned was at a property adjacent to our building. Although noise control was contacted, the cause of the disturbance was not at a property owned by The Powderhorn Chateau and unfortunately beyond our control.
Due to our maximum occupancy restrictions and the fact Under 5s are not permitted in the heated swimming pool, there are occasions when our hotel is not overly ‘children friendly’. This said, we cater to little people specifically in both restaurants with Children’s Menus and in no way are children or their parents unwelcome when their requirements match our hotel policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 307 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the powderhorn following a grabone offer. The hotel is warm and cosy and the staff very helpful and friendly. Food in the bar was great and the hot swimming pool a wonderful way to end an active day. Would definitely stay here again with or without the deal. Rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable and a great, power shower in the bathroom.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bidefordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are proud of our staff’s genuine desire for all guests to have a great time staying with us. We look forward to accommodating you again shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

WOW! My husband and I got married in March 2013 at the stunning Powderhorn Chateau and what an amazing experience it was. From the very first time we meet with the staff at this location we decided it was perfect! Only visting the place twice over the time of planning the staff were amazing to deal with and assisted in everyway possible, giving suggestions and taking care of several things. Several compliments after were mentioned to us from out guests about how fantastic the service, food and accomodation was. We would HIGHLY recommend this venue for an event through to a casual drink. Thanks so much to all the team at the powderhorn for making out wedding day SO perfect! We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmaMac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We are so pleased you had the perfect day Emma! We have an experienced and dedicated events team who put a lot into helping our brides in every way possible. We feel very privileged you chose us as your wedding venue and that we were able to participate in planning your evening. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This all NZ timber hotel is built in sections to withstand severe damage should there be an earthquake. The staff,,food,and comfort was terrific but the lighting was a bit dim. The small "town" met al our needs and is very picturesque. The weather was very cold and wet, but it didn't stop us from having our walks. It did mean that the wedding was moved to the function room, which did not faze the staff in the least. Would go again for sure!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thanks for your review Irene. You are quite right, our building was built to new earthquake standards so the structure is designed to bend and flex with ground movement. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our small town which is a little quaint in our low season. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel opened in 1995, and has a cosy, warm, and inviting log cabin-like atmosphere, and was built out of a variety of native New Zealand timbers.

The staff are an excellent asset to the hotel's name: efficient, professional, friendly, and intelligent in their assessment of your needs. This is particularly so in relation to the restaurant staff in both the ground and second level restaurants. The downstairs restaurant provides beautifully cooked food, with an imaginative, well thought out menu.

The bedroom my friend and I stayed in was of substantial size, with a double and single bed. The shower was piping hot and efficient.

We stayed on a Grab-one voucher deal, which worked out at $150 odd per night, as opposed to the normal rate of $300 odd. The discounted rate is reasonable for summer, and possibly also for winter, however in the latter case, although a prime location for the ski season, is possibly a little on the high side.

My main criticisms relate to a lack of complimentary Internet access, for which $10 is charged for for a 24 hour period, and orange juice not being included in the continental or buffet breakfasts on our Grab-one deal. However, a great packed lunch for the Tongariro Crossing was provided, in addition to transfers to and from the day walk starting point.

Overall, a sound and enjoyable accommodation choice. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your review and very kind comments regarding our staff. We work with a small and very skilled team over the summer months. We are very proud that they make excellent customer service their highest priority.
The Grab One promotion was a fantastic tool to offer our Qualmark 4 star rated hotel to a large number of guests over the summer period. The Grab One Offer included two a two night stay, gourmet lunches, breakfast each morning and transfers to and from the crossing with an outside provider worth $45 per person. In an effort to offer the best possible price we trimmed all unnecessary costs and this included our freshly squeezed juice and Wifi costs.
Limited Wifi (75mb or 100 minutes) is offered complimentary to guests travelling on our hotel rack rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment we walked through the entrance our experience was fantastic. The staff personify hospitality. They are friendly, efficient and accommodating. The room was beautiful with a nice balcony, surrounded by pine trees. It felt very comfortable and private. Our meals at the hotel were excellent. All in all, an A+ experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is great encouragement for our staff to be on the receiving end of such a great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Chateau is a great place to relax after a day walking or biking, the rooms are exceptionally comfortable, the only slight consideration is as the rooms are wood paneled, noise does travel through the walls, but not enough to deter me from staying again, lighting in rooms a little bit dim which make it difficult for reading unless lying on the bed. Food great and service exceptional

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you found our suites comfortable and relaxing. We are a wooden building so noise can travel however we make every effort to minimise this and do have complimentary ear plugs available for our ‘lighter sleeper’ guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon Cecilia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
15.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,647 reviews
15.6 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
15.9 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $161 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing