We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, view and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohakune Court Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We really liked this place. Our room was spacious, clean, well-equipped, recently refurbished and had great views of Mt Ruapehu. Owner/manager Donald was very friendly and helpful especially in directing us for walks up and off the mountain road towards the ski-fields.Located off the main road through Ohakune I'd say this is an ideal place to stay in the area and I'm sorry that we had only allowed for one night there. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for upstairs for the best view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our service and are only too happy to suggest some of the many things to do in and around Ohakune. Once again thanks for taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 161 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and the hotel was very simple but neat and tidy and clean. When we arrived we were asked a million questions by the owner about how we came across the hotel, so if you stay here, make sure you can remember how you found out about the place! :-) I think he was trying to guage how effective his advertising was...quite funny.

The room we stayed in was on the second floor, so we had a great view of the mountain which was perfect as thats what we really wanted to see. The bathroom was the only disappointment...it provided no soap!! It only had a body wash pump in the shower and this stuff is not enough to feel clean. Aside from that, no complaints. It was actually quite well stocked for a little, cheaper hotel...including stove, microwave, pots/pans etc.

Location was good too, close to walking tracks and not too far from the little town which had some great cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
We do get some of the best views of the mountain from our upstairs units.
It has helped us to rethink what you have pointed out: We apologise for asking you where you found us. Questions of this nature are an important tool for new owners who are trying to improve guests’ experience, customer services and and business exposure. From now on we will try to use a different approach that does not upset you or take much of your time. We apologise that our body wash was not up to your standards. In Ohakune we locals try to preserve the pristine nature that surrounds us. At Ohakune Court Motel we follow the environment sustainability policy. For this reason we have replaced soap bars for body wash pump which minimizes the waste such as plastic or paper and still does the same job as soap bars. Once again thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Last year we came here for some winter sports and loved the scenic view. White ruapehu standing firm while we had our breakfast, just great! At night we would dip in the spa or go for a stroll around town. The rooms are nice and clean. With sky tv and free wifi we had no problem with relaxing in Ohakune.

This summer we decided to try out the area without a snowboard strapped on our feed. With Donald and Esters (the owners) help we had a great time, biking and exploring the tangariro crossing.

the motel is situated very convenient, with great views and great owners. We are looking forward for our next visit.

thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hi Daan
Happy to hear you enjoyed your time skiing, biking and hiking in our beautiful region. Hope to see you guy's on your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived late in Ohakune and Donald, the owner, spotted us at the tourist info centre looking for somewhere to stay. He was very welcoming and helpful and we were delighted with the room which had a superb view of Mt Ruapehu. Unfortunately we didn't stay in the area long enough to enjoy all the activities on offer, but would highly recommend staying a couple of days in autumn when it is quiet but very friendly and beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you guy's on your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The owner was welcoming, friendly and helpful.

We had a ground floor unit, but this was very convenient for unloading and loading car.

A short reasonable walk into town for restaurants. Certainly would book again when passing through this area/

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roverr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thanks for your review.
We're happy you enjoyed your time staying with us and hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A group of 10 of us stayed 3 nights here while exploring the area. Donald, the owner couldn't have helped more by sharing his knowledge of the area and making our trip memorable. The motel units are beautifully maintained and we wanted for nothing. We will stay here again would recommend it to anyone.
Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESSAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Happy to hear your group enjoyed your time staying with us
biking and hiking in our beautiful region.
Hope you enjoed the rest of your trip in the north island.
Hope to see you guy's on your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Ohakune Court very much. The room was comfortable, very clean and situated perfectly with views of the mountains as well as near a gentle stream walkway for a delightful evening stroll. The owner was very helpful with local information about hikes and activities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We're happy you enjoyed your time in Ohakune and your stay with us at the Ohakune Court Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.7 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
16.5 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohakune Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohakune Court Motel

Address: 101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohakune Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohakune Court Motel has 18 self-contained units and most have mountain-views. Our units have ample heating,electric blankets and Sky TV. We offer private spa pool, BBQ, wifi, free DVD library with over 300 dvd's, sunny courtyard where you can relax. We are short a distance to scenic walks and mountain bike tracks. We can assist you with reccomendations on the tracks in our area. In addition, Ohakune Court is within walking distance from the city center where you can find supermarket, bars & restaurants, cafes and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ohakune Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing