We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohakune Court Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Basic hotel but good value”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is a basic hotel. But looking at the price/performance it offers good value. The room offers sufficient space. We missed a bedside lamp making the light in the room at night rather cold. The breakfast was disappointing. The hotel is located outside the center of the town. Going to a restaurant means a long walk or a short drive (which means no alcohol).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to supply us with your feedback.

We like to think we offer good value at the Ohakune Court Motel.

The bed side lamp had been removed because of a blown bulb which has since been put back in the room, sorry for any inconvenience. If anyone does stay with us and something isn’t in the room that you think should be please let us know so we can rectify any issues, we want you to enjoy your stay with us.

The cooked breakfast is something we offer as it is sometimes more convenient than going to a local café. We are not chiefs and do our best, it is a home cooked breakfast. We have about 4 cafes in town which are open for breakfast.

We are about 900 meters from either the town or the Junction. We can arrange to drop off and pick up guests if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
74
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a warm welcome and plenty of local information. The rooms are well furnished and provide all that one could ask for, with a great view of the mountains. There are a range of restaurants within easy reach and most of the area is easily accessible. Free wi-fi is a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Manager at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Jonny
Thanks for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for only one night in Ohakune, but couldn't have chosen a better place. The view from the room at the mountain(s) is amazing. The room is clean and well equipped. You get SKY-Channels and there is a great DVD-library (free of charge). Wi-Fi was also not a problem. Best of all is the helpful staff. Our rental car had a brake-malfunction and we would have been stuck on our trip, but the host fixed the problem himself (on a sunday evening nevertheless) and wouldn't even acceped any money for his help. Full recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We do get a great view of Mt Ruapehu from our Motel, in our Mountain View and Premium King Studio's and our 2 Bedroom Unit.

With regards to resolving your brake issue, I'm a Mechanic by trade and only too happy to help with mechanical issues that arise.

Donald Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Ohakune Court is a typical older New Zealand motel that has been tastefully refitted to a reasonable, at least in the room that we used. It has modern furniture, Sky TV across a selection of channels to vioew on the large flatscreen TV, important for those big rugby games. Rooms are warm, clean and tidy with a servicable kitchenette. There are good views from many of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhakaipoLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very clean and comfortable.
Everything we needed.
The spa cabin is great.
Free Wi-Fi and free DVD library.
Donald was a very helpful host.
It is an easy drive to the ski field and the road is quite good.
You can catch a shuttle bus if you want.
Lots of restaurants to choose from.
Nice walking / biking track to Horopito.
We also did TONGARIRO RIVER RAFTING http://www.trr.co.nz/ and highly recommend.
Hint the skiing was better midweek, less crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richo_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. Yes. You're right midweek skii is the best time if you want to avoid crowd and want better rates. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We will definitely come back. Loved it. Donald the host was very helpful with everything .This motel is very close to the turoa ski field, shops and restaurants. We had a beautiful view of the mountain and we enjoyed our 5 nights at Ohakune :) can't wait to go back. Steve and Franz- brisbane australia

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances_26au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi Guy's, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feed back and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here with our kids and although pretty basic rooms were comfortable and clean. The service was great. The owners provided our kids with a huge array of DVDs and a few games (all free) which kept them busy for hours. Overall good clean budget accommodation. If you want a day/afternoon out while staying we recommend the powder keg where we spent a night and an afternoon playing pool, darts and eating. Kids loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytrippers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Having happy guests is our aim and yes our DVD library is very popular .
Thanks for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.7 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohakune Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohakune Court Motel

Property: Ohakune Court Motel
Address: 101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohakune Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohakune Court Motel has 18 self-contained units and most have mountain-views. Our units have ample heating,electric blankets and Sky TV. We offer private spa pool, BBQ, wifi, free DVD library with over 300 dvd's, sunny courtyard where you can relax. We are short a distance to scenic walks and mountain bike tracks. We can assist you with reccomendations on the tracks in our area. In addition, Ohakune Court is within walking distance from the city center where you can find supermarket, bars & restaurants, cafes and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohakune Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing