We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freshened up old bones make for a comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohakune Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ohakune Court Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Freshened up old bones make for a comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Ohakune Court is a typical older New Zealand motel that has been tastefully refitted to a reasonable, at least in the room that we used. It has modern furniture, Sky TV across a selection of channels to vioew on the large flatscreen TV, important for those big rugby games. Rooms are warm, clean and tidy with a servicable kitchenette. There are good views from many of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhakaipoLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
73
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very clean and comfortable.
Everything we needed.
The spa cabin is great.
Free Wi-Fi and free DVD library.
Donald was a very helpful host.
It is an easy drive to the ski field and the road is quite good.
You can catch a shuttle bus if you want.
Lots of restaurants to choose from.
Nice walking / biking track to Horopito.
We also did TONGARIRO RIVER RAFTING http://www.trr.co.nz/ and highly recommend.
Hint the skiing was better midweek, less crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richo_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. Yes. You're right midweek skii is the best time if you want to avoid crowd and want better rates. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We will definitely come back. Loved it. Donald the host was very helpful with everything .This motel is very close to the turoa ski field, shops and restaurants. We had a beautiful view of the mountain and we enjoyed our 5 nights at Ohakune :) can't wait to go back. Steve and Franz- brisbane australia

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances_26au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi Guy's, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feed back and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here with our kids and although pretty basic rooms were comfortable and clean. The service was great. The owners provided our kids with a huge array of DVDs and a few games (all free) which kept them busy for hours. Overall good clean budget accommodation. If you want a day/afternoon out while staying we recommend the powder keg where we spent a night and an afternoon playing pool, darts and eating. Kids loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytrippers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Having happy guests is our aim and yes our DVD library is very popular .
Thanks for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent two nights in a two bedroom unit which had a glorious view of 'the mountain'. Donald was friendly and welcoming; he obviously knows the area and was generous and forthcoming with information and maps. The reception office stocks dvd's and games for children, the unit was recently renovated, spacious, and spotless. We were very impressed by the amount of crockery and kitchen gear. Our personal preference is for a more abundant, generously powered shower, but we are very aware that for $150/night we were getting an absolute bargain in a brilliant location. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Ohakune is a great base to explore the volcanic area of central North Island. The town was very quiet (which is apparently quite different from ski season) but had everything we needed. At the Ohakune Court Motel we were upgraded to a mountain view room on arrival. The room was large and well appointed with stove and micro wave. The video library was free and welcome when the weather changes. Our host was very friendly, helpful and informative. The view of Mt Ruapehu from our room (when the cloud cleared) was spectacular.
The location was perfect for bush walks, exploring the mountain and relaxing.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotchy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We visited the Ohakune Court Motel for one night in Feb 2012 based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Check-in was very friendly, we were given a map of Tongariro National Park and were recommended a walk to the Waitonga Falls which was fantastic. We then had dinner in Ohakune at "The Mountain Rocks" bar which was great too. I just wish we had the time to stay longer and explore the area more!

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Book directly on their website and you will receive a free wi-fi token - was very useful for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy toknow that we didn't let you down. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.7 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
16.3 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
16.6 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohakune Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohakune Court Motel

Property: Ohakune Court Motel
Address: 101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohakune Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohakune Court Motel has 18 self-contained units and most have mountain-views. Our units have ample heating,electric blankets and Sky TV. We offer private spa pool, BBQ, wifi, free DVD library with over 300 dvd's, sunny courtyard where you can relax. We are short a distance to scenic walks and mountain bike tracks. We can assist you with reccomendations on the tracks in our area. In addition, Ohakune Court is within walking distance from the city center where you can find supermarket, bars & restaurants, cafes and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ohakune Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing