We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohakune Court Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Pleasant surroundings. Refurbished rooms. Traditional NZ Motel style. Great hot tub.
Welcoming host. No downside.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have mountain views. So do 2 bedroom units.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Ohakune Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great family (or group) accommodation, very well priced for a clean, comfortable family room. Yes, furnishings were a little dated, but the kitchen was well equipped, shower was hot (there were 4 of us showering), beds were comfortable & there was plenty of room for us to spread out. The unit had been recently painted & new kitchen cabinets etc installed.
The hosts were friendly & helpful, and the location is quite good, being a comfortable 15 minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you on your next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I don't like to give negative reviews. But this hotel could use some work. I booked this hotel because of the good reviews I read in Trip Advisor. I got unit # 8. It is next to the reception desk on the first floor facing the street. It may be that I just got a bad unit.

First the good news. It was quiet (there is not much going on in Ohakune). And it was only a 15 minute walk to the junction center of town (where the railroad station is) and a 10 minute walk in the opposited direction to the south end of town (where Intercity bus and Naked bus stop). Both ends of town have ski shops and restaurants but the south end is much bigger (it has New World grocery store). The location was ideal because I was there for the skiing at Turoa. Additionally, the staff at the reception were great. They were helpful and accomodating (they allowed me to stay an hour longer than check out time). There is a nice jacuzzi in a unit awon the property and they have a self serve laundry with reasonable rates. A bonus is the DVD library they have for free rentals.

Now the bad news. The unit has a noticeable odor when you walk in. It had the smell of stale or stagnant laundry. The hot water unit does not provide enough water for washing clothes in the sink and taking a hot shower afterward (something I learned during the course of my shower). The sliding glass door is single glazed, is loose and allowed cool drafts of air inside (placing the portable heater between the bed and door helped ward off the chill). The furnishings are dated and could use updating.

I can't recommend this hotel in Ohakune based on my experience in room # 8, but I can recommend New World market, Phat Pad cafe (great kebabs), SLR ski rentals (the best equipment at the best prices), and Matai shuttle service if you visit Ohakukne for the skiing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. A part from unit 8 which is the only unit without a mountain view all other studios have mountain views and they have been redecorated. We do have enough hot water supply in every unit for every guest.
If anyone is concerned about hot water supply our upstairs mountain view units and Premium King Studio's have continuous flow of water. However I would like to remember that our units are not designed for in-room laundry. The motel has a guest laundry where guests can wash their laundry for $2 and drying for $2. There is also a laundry tub where landry can be done by hand.
If you are considering booking one of our Studio units we would recommend booking our Mountain View or Premium King Studio Units.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Recently stayed at Ohakune court motel, very clean, must have been recently renovated as shower and oven looked brand new. They also have Sky TV so hubby was happy with this, loads of dvds/games to keep the kids entertained. One night we got cupcakes for dessert, hosts were very welcoming, our kids went missing for what seemed an eternity - they were discovered at reception where the owner was showing them how to play a certain boardgame which I thought was really lovely. Highly recommend to anyone wanting a place to stay whilst visiting Ohakune.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny_Pittstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you on your next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

A very warm reception, Quality at a low price. Recommended for a great family stay, will be back for ski season.
MW Aust. :)

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal0341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you on your next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is a good basic hotel. I got a big studio with a kitchen. They also have excellent service and even a DVD library if you get bored at nights. Internet is available but as with all other hotels in New Zealand, it is charged. The hotel is not at town center and may require a short car ride/moderate walk to get to the restaruants/shops. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you on your next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

It's all in the title. Great friendly, warm service. Neat, clean and quiet room. Conveniently located. Our room had a small kitchenette and fridge, which was very handy. Exactly what we were looking for in Ohakune. We will surely return for our next weekend trips to Tongariro or Ruapehu.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you on your next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.7 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohakune Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohakune Court Motel

Address: 101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $74 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohakune Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohakune Court Motel has 18 self-contained units and most have mountain-views. Our units have ample heating,electric blankets and Sky TV. We offer private spa pool, BBQ, wifi, free DVD library with over 300 dvd's, sunny courtyard where you can relax. We are short a distance to scenic walks and mountain bike tracks. We can assist you with reccomendations on the tracks in our area. In addition, Ohakune Court is within walking distance from the city center where you can find supermarket, bars & restaurants, cafes and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ohakune Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing