We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here we come again...”
Review of Dakune Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohakune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dakune Lodge
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited DaKuna lodge two years ago and it was very enjoyable for he whole family.
This year was no difference, A worm and friendly place for a short or long stay.
It is our preferred stay in Ohakune.
C u guys next time.
The Hadar's from Auckland.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank HadarIdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for the review ... and thanks to the kids for the additions to the coin collection.
Hope to see you later in the season.

Nicolas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Dakune Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went down twice with a group of friends for a ski trip. Nick was a great host, we had late check-ins and were allowed to leave gear at the lodge. The bunk room was perfect with warm duvets and heaters. It was always great to head up to the communal lounge area for a chat/puzzle competition or a game of scum! The spa was great after a day of skiing! Awesome place to stay with a really friendly chatty atmosphere :) have already booked in for our next trip!

Room Tip: Bunk room great for a group of friends!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Cheers for the great review .... see you again soon!

Tasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice clean and comfortable lodge. Very friendly hosts. Good location.

Relaxing environment for all the family after a hard days skiing / recovering from falls!

Good spa pool, lots of family games to play

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review about us. We appreciate all feedback. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Tasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Group of friends stayed for Mardi Gras and it was amazing. Host (Nick) was very friendly, great location, pool table, spa, views for the mountain, large common area / lounge / dining area. Highly recommend to everyone for snowboarding trip or even just a weekend or week away

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrynLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks for that! You are all welcome back anytime ... summer or winter!

Tasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went down as a group of friends for a skiing/snowboarding trip and all had a fantastic time! Nicolas was so accommodating letting us leave our bags longer while we were up the mountain and was always around for a chat and pieces of advice. There was a great common area where we could chill out with other guests or in front of the TV. The facilities were fantastic with plenty of freezer and fridge space, great showers, generously sized drying room and we all fell in love with the duvets. We were only there for one night and did not want to leave. Next time we are down though we will definitely be back and we cannot wait :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiev347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Tasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Awesome set up, amazing hosts, great location! A drying room to die for (thank goodness as we did a spot of rain boarding)! Pool table, spa, huge lounge/dining area for relaxing in after a day on the mountain, talking with the owners or just hanging with the other guests. Although we didn't make use of the kitchen it appeared to have everything you could want to use. Very homely feel and your made to feel very welcome, we even got some family stories ;-). You can even buy yourself a slice of the home made fruit cake.

Great pressure in the showers with great hot water. My friend and I were in a bunk room, nice big single bunks(I think they may have been King singles)

Will definitely be back to stay again, and will tell all my other snowboarding/ski buddies about it to!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bampeb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hey ... Thanks so much for your review. I make a range of homemade cakes so there is always something delicious to tempt the appetite at any time of day. I also prepare inexpensive cooked breakfasts and evening meals on request. We cater for all tastes including those with allergies.

Tasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Myself and my two teenage kids come to Ohakune as often as we can manage in the ski season. We have stayed at a few different accommodations in the past but DaKune is the only one we have returned to and have now stayed several times. It is always our first choice now and we are very disappointed if there is no vacancy!

Tasha and Nicolas always make us feel welcome. We usually have our evening meals at the lodge and Tasha and Nicolas eat with us, together with any other members of their household who may be around. The kids, as well as myself, enjoy Tasha's excellent home cooking and the cheerful and humorous company. The well-behaved and unobtrusive dogs and cats add to the homely feel and are pestered mercilessly by my daughter. There are also books, games and puzzles available, as well as table tennis to keep everyone entertained.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaSut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Hello Nina,

Thanks for the glowing report. We get quite a few "regulars" and it is amazing to see how much the kids grow between visits, .... and to catch up on "Captain Silver's" progress.

See you guys in the school holidays.

Tasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
15.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,603 reviews
16.3 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohakune TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakune Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakune Lodge

Address: 42 Park Avenue, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range: $22 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a hectic day exploring the wonders of the Tongariro National Park or the Wanganui river, enjoy a BBQ on the deck or relax in front of the open log fire. Soothe your aches and pains in the Spa or Sauna and forget the rest of the world as you reminisce over your adventures through our spectacular scenery.At daKune Lodge you are welcome to join us with our eclectic mix of kids, cats and dogs – There's never a dull moment! There's nothing we can't try to do to make your stay an experience you won't forget!“Arrive as Strangers - Leave as Friends!” ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing