We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OCR Cafe

OCR Cafe
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had a great meal and they were very accommodating with our kids. Good service and value for money. A lovely setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liesl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Atomic coffee rule!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

As a barista came down from Auckland on queens birthday weekend, was dying for a coffee after biking the Old Coach Road passed this cafe while riding back to town, stopped for a coffee and must say, best coffee I had on my holiday :) highly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikingsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best eggs Benedict I have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Best eggs Benedict I have ever had, great coffee and steak at dinner is amazing. Definitely visit every time we are in Kune.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrackerKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Stunning wines, lovely food, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local and we were not dissappointed. We got to taste some of their winter reds they are getting in and wow, stunning! One of us is gluten free and what a choice of food, just fabulous. Complimenting the food and wine is great, personal and friendly service. You can tell these owners work tirelessly and are passionate to deliver a great experience for every guest. Thank you, we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otis-me-n-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We took my mother there for lunch today. The reason for the excellent rating was the brilliant fresh food. Being not very big we don't want a big lunch, we want good fresh food, but they have a big variety of food for all appetites and tastes. We had salad sandwiches, which took a few minutes, but that was because they were made fresh. The cakes, muffin and scone were also fresh (they said made on site that morning) and very tasty. The lemon coconut cake was light and fresh, beautiful. The coffee was excellent. The service was good and pleasant, and the surroundings warm and comfortable on a not very nice day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OCR Cafe also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to OCR Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing