We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconvenience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Arawa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohakune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arawa Lodge
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inconvenience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We did not enjoy our stay at all. Firstly the hostess Jo made us and some of the other guests feel as though we were inconveniencing her. Comments like "I already do enough cleaning after people" (This was a comment made after we cleaned our dishes after use and put them aside to dry while we relaxed a little after eating) There were a group of people who weren't allowed to play a board game beacuse "they might get to noisy" (Again this was a comment made at about 8pm) Absolutely applauling customer service, appauling hosting skills by Jo. We were not impressed at all.
There is 2 bathrooms for approximately 20-25 people. Unpleasant.
The "Delux Continental Breakfast" that was included was porrige, and some corn flakes....when you have men going up the mountain this "Delux breakfast" wouldn't last for 30 mins.
A horrible experiance all round.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbunnynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArawaLodge, Owner at Arawa Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. Although we are consistently receiving positive feedback we appreciate customer comments to further improve our service.
As a family focused lodge we aim to take each guests needs into consideration. We strive to do our best for our guests and pride ourselves on fostering a warm, friendly environment while ensuring the comfort of our guests. While respecting the needs of our guests we have to ensure the common areas are upheld to a superior standard which means monitoring it delicately to keep the balance of the common areas functioning effectively. Issues such as noise control and kitchen facilities being ready and available for all guests to use is of the utmost importance to us. We ask our visitors to do their own dishes out of respect for other guests who are waiting to use the facilities and utensils as well – and to ensure everyone has full use of the kitchen – consideration of others is an important part of what we need and encourage to make everything work so well here at Arawa Lodge. As the dining area leads onto the bedroomed hallway we close the dining room at 9pm so our younger; (and not so young), guests can sleep undisturbed – guests are always encouraged to utilise the lounge to resume their evening activities, play any of the many games we supply, watch tv or just enjoy the fire.
Regarding the bathrooms, we have 3 ensuite rooms as well as the 2 additional bathrooms which are usually ample and with us living on site we are able to keep the standard of the bathrooms cleanliness and function to a very high level.
Our breakfast always includes a yummy porridge, a variety of cereals, toast, yoghurts and fruits so we are sorry that you didn’t find that to your satisfaction.
Thank you again for your comments. We wish you well finding other more suitable accommodation for your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights and really appreciated the hostess Jo's, welcoming & inclusive attitude. The kids loved being able to mix with others, play games and have some space to hang out, which is often not possible in motels & hotels. The breakfasts were a great start to the day before skiing and the lounge a comfy place to warm & relax at day's end. Highly recommend the place. If we head back to this area will certainly look to repeat the dose!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArawaLodge, Owner at Arawa Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review Adrian and family. Was lovely to have met you and we are glad Arawa Lodge met your expectations. It is great how our guests interact and that Arawa Lodge is a sharing and caring environment so the children and the adults get to have some relaxation after a big day up the mountain or doing other adventures in the area. The games are certainly an important part of the interaction as is the dining room closing at 9pm so people can get their much needed sleep without being disturbed too much.
It was wonderful to meet you and thank you again for taking the time to write us a review. Hopefully it will encourage other families and people to come and try the Arawa Lodge experience.
See you again next season we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

A friendly, homely lodge with an environment that is inclusive for all, but also respects each guests privacy.

Jo is a fantastic host who ensures all are happy and comfortable.

A great place for families but also ideal for individuals looking for a more chilled place to stay.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomes37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArawaLodge, Owner at Arawa Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
thank you for your review and for encouraging individuals to come and try our homely atmosphere... we certainly enjoy everyone mingling amongst each other and it is amazing how many people arrive here as strangers and end up swapping each others contact details and leaving as friends... it warms our heart... It is really important to us to respect our guests and their privacy while ensuring we are giving as much value and service as we can. We are glad to have got the balance somewhat right for your needs. We look forward to many more visits from you and your friends and hope we can continue to impress you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope it encourages others to come and try the Arawa Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The lodge is great. I have stayed in several different places in and around the ski fields and was really delighted with the service and welcome at Arawa Lodge. Jo was a great host and had wonderful knowledge of the mountain and activities in the surrounding area. The deal included breakfast which was just what was needed for a day on the slopes. The rooms were clean and secure, the bathrooms are clean and the kitchen was well equipped. If you want to eat in there are plenty of dishes, and if you'd prefer to go out here is plenty in the immediate area. Ample parking, I would stay at Arawa Lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArawaLodge, Owner at Arawa Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you Gemma for your review and I am so glad Arawa Lodge suited your needs. We look forward to having you to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Arawa Lodge. The place was warm, clean, the beds comfortable, and Jo our host was fantastic. Great place for kids too, with games, books and tv with movies available. Jo was knowledgeable and helpful, even the kids thought she was great :) Highly recommend this as a place to stay, quiter times are early in the week.....

Room Tip: Two rooms have ensuites - book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKGreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArawaLodge, Owner at Arawa Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the children were equally impressed with Arawa Lodge. The ensuite rooms are certainly worth paying a little more for we think too - however they get booked pretty quickly so make sure you let us know in plenty of time when you want them booked. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This place is totally awesome!! It is great for any age or group of people; whether you are a family @ couple @ even with a group of crazy peepz! =) We had enjoyed our stay very much at the Arawa Lodge and loved the host, Jo very much! Thank you so much for all your hospitality and we will never forget the warmth and generosity you have shown us during our stay! =) To others who plans to stay at Ohakune, make sure you pay a visit to Arawa Lodge! ;) P/S: This is not a paid review!! You have to experience it to believe it ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evenstar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArawaLodge, Owner at Arawa Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope we can live up to other guests expectations and they can feel as satisfied as you from their experience here at Arawa Lodge.
We appreciate your time reviewing us thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a great place to stay especially for families or groups-lots of rooms. Really welcoming friendly hosts, breakfast included in the deal. Child friendly - all ages feel welcome. Enough hot water for everyone (really important after a long day skiing or snowboarding!) Being right in the middle of Ohakune means you can get up early and be up the mountain in no time and you can get to the restaurants and shops easily too. Great drying room, big lounge. We've stayed twice (family 2 adults 2 kids) and this time with my brother and his 2 kids too, and would definitely stay again, and again. If you are from overseas this is a real NZ hospitality experience. We love Arawa Lodge :)

Room Tip: Ring up and talk to the hosts :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArawaLodge, Owner at Arawa Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad to have met your families needs.
We try hard to add value to our guests experience at the lodge - so by providing a superior continental breakfast and by keeping the fires burning we can just keep that hotwater flowing is some of the ways we can ...
We look forward to lots more visits from your family and appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.
See you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohakune hotels
1.0 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.5 mi away
Ohakune TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hobbit Motorlodge
The Hobbit Motorlodge
#10 of 21 in Ohakune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Snowhaven Accommodation
Snowhaven Accommodation
#7 of 21 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawa Lodge

Property: Arawa Lodge
Address: 43 Arawa Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arawa Lodge has all the comforts of home for family and friends in the heart of Ohakune. Specializing in larger groups of up to 35+; though we have a variety of accommodation available from singles – couples – families. Arawa Lodge is cosy, warm and inviting within an easy walk to cafes, shops and nightlife or we can organise your shuttle for any of your many adventure choices in the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing