We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Mountain View Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Rotorua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good service”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent service from front office staff. Centralised heating, with basic kitchen facilities. Just some minor things that needs upgrading, the lounge suite was very uncomfortable and gave me back sore and the television is too high that we actually end up having sore neck after watching the tv.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanoRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a one bedroomed "apartment". The bedroom was huge and the living area not very big but everything you needed was there, including a basic kitchen. Excellent heating. We actually had to turn down the thermostat on our last few days because we were too warm. We had no issues with our shower, other than it seemed to take a few minutes for hot water to come through, but temperature and power were great.

Friendly people, great place to stay for skiing or access to walks in local area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Mountain View Motel, Ohakune during our boarding trip to Turoa in September. It is just within minutes walk of the Ohakune town centre where restaurants and supermarket are located and is very convenient.

We arrived at the motel much earlier than the official check-in time but the receptionist was extremely helpful and found us a room to check-in early without extra charge. The room also comes with free Wifi of 50MB which is also good as it allowed me to check my email online.

The room is neat and clean. However, on the downside, the room is very small. It has a double bed, a small dinning table and a small kitchen with microwave only. The bathroom is clean but is also very small. We had difficulties finding sufficient space to hang all of our wet boarding gear for drying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Arrived late on a Friday evening and room was pre-warmed. Much appreciated after a long trip from Auckland. Rooms were basic but comfortable. Reception were very helpful and informative. Met our needs perfectly. Only issue was that the power in the shower was a bit on the weak side but not a major problem considering that is standard around NZ.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Family weekend to the snow and it was great! The Motel was basic but it was comfortable, warm, affordable and had everything we needed. Check in and check out was hassle free. Location was central to everything. No complaints at al about this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EB80Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Motel is located in town next to Police Station so is very central. 1 bdrm self-contained unit was only $75 for the night. The receptionist was friendly and helpful but was dressed for the garden rather than the front office. Bdrm furniture was dated but was bed comfy. Good stove, fridge and microwave if required. Tea and coffes supplies fine. Separate dining-lounge area. Shower panels have seen better days but shower was hot and water pressure great. Soap but no shampoo sachets provided. Central heating was fast and good which is essential in Ohakune!

Room Tip: Rooms were fine but walls a bit thin. No noise after 10pm though so no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfoxr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Room was compact, ideally suited to 1 person. Double bed was just that, cant say we'd slept in one so small b4.
We were picked up and dropped off at the Railway station which was a great service, room had microvawe, cutlery etc. was basic but clean.

Room Tip: ask for a queen bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.4 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Property: Mountain View Motel
Address: 2 Moore Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Ohakune, 5 minutes walk to cafes and restaurants. 18 self-contained units serviced daily, 1 with access facilities, some interconnecting. Drying rooms, laundry facilities, private spa and off-street parking. Enjoy the many walking tracks including the Old Coach Road and the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, canoe and mountain biking. Free pick-up from train station. Only a 2-minute walk from the bus stop. LONELY PLANET'S PICK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing