We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mountain base”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Station Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Station Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect mountain base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My girlfriend and me stayed here for 9 days in order to snowboard on Ruapehu. The lodge is a 2 minute walk to the pubs/restaurants and our double room was small but clean and the lodge itself was awesome for a backpackers. There are two large lounges, one with a fire place which is really cosy. There's also a good drying room and best of all a hot spa - fantastic after a day on the mountain. Darren is a really nice guy and very knowledgeable. We also got some repairs/maintenance done to our boards in the attached ski/board shop at very reasonable prices. In the winter the lodge is set up for people hitting the slopes during the day and coming back around 4ish when the fires are lit, and spa comes on. So if you're planning on a day off even though the mountains open it can be a bit cold in the lodge until the fires are lit in the afternoon.

The only downer of the trip was some local guy had snuck into the backpackers (the front door had been left unlocked) and stole food out of the fridge, not once, but twice! He was caught on security camera and the police who came to investigate had a fair idea who it might be so hopefully it's been dealt with. To the owners credit they reimbursed us for the food we lost so that was great.

All in all, this is a great place to stay - especially if hitting the mountain. We will definitely be staying here again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
36
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed there with a group. We rented most of the lodge! It is really a great place, comfortable, clean, warm, welcoming and the settings around are just beautiful. Darren is really a nice guy and was helpful with almost any request we had. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The lodge is a beautiful villa styled home perched up at the end of the Junction (directly facing the opening of the ski field party stage- Mardi Gras)

There is a spa, amazing lounge with fireplace, cosy games room, tidy and well kept open kitchen, The rooms are clean and tidy, with a varied selection of room sizes. Good parking space and by restaurants, cafes and ski hire.

Its definitely the best backpackers I have ever been to. Clean, friendly, amazing staff, homely and it was perfect for our big group.

Room Tip: 1-3 are the closest to the lounge, so probably the most noisiest. and the others are further away. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a great stay. Very friendly staff and so helpful. Always making time for good chats and ready with advice. Clean rooms and facilities. Very good value for money. Be sure to go biking during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

You look in a guide and find several places that seem to fit your plans, but you have no idea about anything. If you are adventuring in and around National Park THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY. I had planned on 2 nights and ended up staying five. I arrived by train and had stayed in 8 or 9 other backpackers and hostels on my trip.STATION LODGE WAS THE BEST. I really enjoyed getting to know the hosts and how they got into the crazy business of running a hostel and I got terrific advice on what to see ( there is enough to do in a 40KM radius to fill an entire week.) I was able to hire a bike, hire skis for the last day opening day at Turoa,skis,crampons and an axe for a climb to the top of the volcano 2 days later. Got a ride to the amazing junkyard ( you have to go inside and look at the steering wheel and hubcap collection it is a museum in its own right). Very clean, kitchen and bathrooms immaculate. I will go back. I loved the character of the setting . Because I was late in the season it was very quiet and I got time to know the host family, I am sure at the height of the season they are right out straight. I am from the United States and we just don't have places like this. I don't need a lot of amenities, but I like nice. This is nice. New Zealand and Iceland have been recently rated as the two most travel friendly nations in the world. Station Lodge is one of the reasons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our Forest and Bird group stayed here at Easter weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, great hosts, good clean facilities, comfortable beds and bunks, and good location. The complementary hot scones were much appreciated. We visited the adjacent interesting railway museum, sat in the spa pool, and hired bikes and used the shuttle service to Horopito. So plenty to do in the area, beautiful walk or ride back to Ohakune from Horopito. The kitchen is spotless, nice view of the mountain, the hotel has good environmental policies, so good to see a compost bucket on the bench going firstly to feed the chickens then into the compost, recycling etc. Because we cooked as a group the kitchen was probably a bit stretched at times, especially as other guests were trying to cook as well, and seating could be limited for a larger group, but overall this is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This backpackers lodge is in the ski resort of Ohakune which is a bit of a ghost town in the summer. However the lodge was comfortable and the coupe running it extremely helpful and friendly. The kitchen and lounge facilities were good and suited to families as well as solo travellers. Good value for money and a beautiful old building full of character.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseyvWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.2 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
15.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
15.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.4 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Lodge

Property: Station Lodge
Address: 60 Thames Street | The Junction, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Station Lodge, a 1906 historical villa is located in the beautiful alpine town of Ohakune adjacent to the world renowned Tongariro National Park. A place for all seasons; the lodge is warm and inviting and its close proximity to spectacular walks including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (Best Day Walk in New Zealand) ski fields, (Turoa 20 minutes and Whakapapa 40 minutes) and the mighty Whanganui River. The Station Lodge has been lovingly restored yet retains its unique and historical character. With the addition of modern facilities it is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Station Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing