We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great view, great hosts, great advice, great value.”
Review of Station Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Station Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

You look in a guide and find several places that seem to fit your plans, but you have no idea about anything. If you are adventuring in and around National Park THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY. I had planned on 2 nights and ended up staying five. I arrived by train and had stayed in 8 or 9 other backpackers and hostels on my trip.STATION LODGE WAS THE BEST. I really enjoyed getting to know the hosts and how they got into the crazy business of running a hostel and I got terrific advice on what to see ( there is enough to do in a 40KM radius to fill an entire week.) I was able to hire a bike, hire skis for the last day opening day at Turoa,skis,crampons and an axe for a climb to the top of the volcano 2 days later. Got a ride to the amazing junkyard ( you have to go inside and look at the steering wheel and hubcap collection it is a museum in its own right). Very clean, kitchen and bathrooms immaculate. I will go back. I loved the character of the setting . Because I was late in the season it was very quiet and I got time to know the host family, I am sure at the height of the season they are right out straight. I am from the United States and we just don't have places like this. I don't need a lot of amenities, but I like nice. This is nice. New Zealand and Iceland have been recently rated as the two most travel friendly nations in the world. Station Lodge is one of the reasons.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 190 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our Forest and Bird group stayed here at Easter weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, great hosts, good clean facilities, comfortable beds and bunks, and good location. The complementary hot scones were much appreciated. We visited the adjacent interesting railway museum, sat in the spa pool, and hired bikes and used the shuttle service to Horopito. So plenty to do in the area, beautiful walk or ride back to Ohakune from Horopito. The kitchen is spotless, nice view of the mountain, the hotel has good environmental policies, so good to see a compost bucket on the bench going firstly to feed the chickens then into the compost, recycling etc. Because we cooked as a group the kitchen was probably a bit stretched at times, especially as other guests were trying to cook as well, and seating could be limited for a larger group, but overall this is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This backpackers lodge is in the ski resort of Ohakune which is a bit of a ghost town in the summer. However the lodge was comfortable and the coupe running it extremely helpful and friendly. The kitchen and lounge facilities were good and suited to families as well as solo travellers. Good value for money and a beautiful old building full of character.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseyvWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a double room which was very clean. The hosts were fantastic, friendly, welcoming. Kitchen and all amenities first class. We stayed with our walking group and all were very impressed- some stayed in a small dorm while some stayed in single or double rooms and some in the luxury chalets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iiketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We are so impressed with the station lodge chalets. Modern, clean, close to mnt biking, and great service. Oh, did I mention that each chalet has its own spa!? I stayed for 2 nights with my mother and two young sons. Chalet was perfect for self catering, and close to the junction for a glass of wine, and the old coach bike ride. The hosts are so friendly, welcoming, and provided great advice for our trip. My sons appreciated the tramp, and also playing with your kids. This is the perfect summer holiday escape! Wanganui river trips, hiking, biking, posing with the carrot and snowman, or just a dip in the spa! We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked the whole place for a friend/family get-together. 4 families and 9 kids for 4 nights. The owners, Jane and Darren are very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable of activities in the area. There's a large lawn for the kids to play on and they can be easily supervised from the lodge and deck. The lounge and kitchen are well equipped and comfortable. Its a nice quiet part of Ohakune (in the summer) and a good view of the mountain. We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gggmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The appartment we stayed in was very nice. Good living area, good kitchen, good bedroom and good shower. The downsides where: only one very basic plastic chair for sitting outside, not properly working television, not working airco (magement said it was only meant for heating anywayz) and not working light switch in the shower, though the heater switch (which is a big lamp) did work. All these defect are minor issues and didn't hamper our stay, though it prevents me from giving Station Lodge a 5 star rating.

The management self was helpful and even allowed us to leave our baggage at their place so we could hike a bit without leaving the luggage in the car.

Remember: its a lodge, not a B&B, so bring stuff for your own breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.2 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
15.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#5 of 22 in Ohakune
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
16.1 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Lodge

Address: 60 Thames Street | The Junction, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range: $37 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Station Lodge, a 1906 historical villa is located in the beautiful alpine town of Ohakune adjacent to the world renowned Tongariro National Park. A place for all seasons; the lodge is warm and inviting and its close proximity to spectacular walks including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (Best Day Walk in New Zealand) ski fields, (Turoa 20 minutes and Whakapapa 40 minutes) and the mighty Whanganui River. The Station Lodge has been lovingly restored yet retains its unique and historical character. With the addition of modern facilities it is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Station Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing