We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need for a weekend with friends”
Review of Station Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Station Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a weekend with friends”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visit Ohakune every year, but this is the first time we've rented a chalet, as we came over with a couple of friends and wanted to be able to prepare our own meals.

The Station Lodge Chalet 2 is right at foot of the mountain, very clean and tidy, warm, modern, and has everything you need to keep an entire family (or group of friends) happy. Fully stocked with board games, playing cards, etc. I cannot say enough how perfect it was having our very own spa bath (40 was a bit much for us though, so we turned it down to 28). It was a welcome treat after all that cold up in the mountain! We all felt like melting ice cream afterwards and slept like babies!

Being able to prepare our own meals was such a treat. And the view from the kitchen? The snow-capped slopes of Ruapehu. Keeps the cook very very happy! I really appreciated that all the cooking implements were in very good nick and quality. They certainly didn't scrimp on these.

Just to state the obvious -- this chalet is right in front of the train station, so you will hear and feel the trains go by. While we were there, I felt it about once during the day and twice at night. Having experienced Christchurch quakes, I would put it as 1/4 of it. It was familiar, but certainly not as strong.

I would highly recommend Station Lodge's chalets for families or groups of friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigail-gareza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
36
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. The chalet was clean and modern with everything you could need in a self catering chalet, the kitchen was fully equipped. The gas fire meant that it felt lovely and warm, not to mention how cosy we felt. The beds have electric blankets on them so it was even nice and warm getting into bed. We loved the hot tub! We went in after breakfast to admire the morning view of the mountain and after we got back from skiing , perfect way to relax and unwind. It is also great that they have their own hire shop for ski, snowboard and mountain bike hire a short walk from the chalet. We also liked that we could walk to the Junction which is the main road next to the chalet which has a few bars and places to eat. We went to the Powderhorn Chateau and ate at the restaurant upstairs, nice food and wine with a great setting, really felt quite 'Alpine' like. Jane recommend the Bearing Point in Ohakune Town which was also good, the food was tasty but we did prefer the atmosphere in the Powderhorn Chateau located at The Junction.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Station Lodge, we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and truly loved the chalet; romantic, cosy, modern, everything we wanted. We will be going back and in fact we actually preferred our stay at the Station Lodge Chalet to our stay at The Bayview Chateau in Tongariro. Jane was great, answering all of my many emails before our stay and was equally as helpful when we met her. We will definitely be booking another stay...soon I hope!

Room Tip: We asked to stay in the Chalet with the gas fire, this made it very cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_the_lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Station Lodge. Jane and Darren made us feel really welcome and went out of their way to look after us. The chalet was modern, warm and comfortable and it was great to relax in the spa at the end of the day - with sunset views of the mountain. We took their shuttle out to the start of the Old Coach Road bike trail and thoroughly enjoyed the ride back to the lodge. A great set-up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I only stayed one night but I thought the Station Lodge was a very cute and homey place. It was off-season so not many people were staying there, but the staff made me feel at home. It is so convenient for the train, literally steps from the station.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybackpackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice and relaxing place to stay. Good rooms and wery good relaxing areas with many places to sith down. Even a well equipt kitschen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micke80_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Thanks to Darren and Jane who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We stayed in Summer, so everything was quiet, but the chalet was fantastically well equipped - the hot spa particularly welcome. Took some time to work out how the TV worked - but there's nothing you can't do with it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLucas1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We chose the Station Lodge because of it's location.Close to train station, cycle trails (we did "Old Coach Rd"), bike hire and Ohakune township which is within walking distance. We stayed 2 nights and were impressed with the helpfulness of the hosts Darren and Jane. We were driven to the start of the Old Coach Rd trail, Horopito end, by Jane after being issued with all we needed regarding the bikes and equipment by Darren who meticulously services all the bikes. Hosts were courteous & accommodating, Lodge was clean and we had comfortable beds although I am a light sleeper and I heard the train pass through at night-second night I had adjusted.We were impressed with the recycling program in the kitchen We also enjoyed a walking trail only 10 mins away that took about 1/2 hr and had towering ancient rimu trees that were at least 800 yrs old. One of many walks in the area. Impressed with our stay-hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.2 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
15.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
15.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.4 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Lodge

Property: Station Lodge
Address: 60 Thames Street | The Junction, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Station Lodge, a 1906 historical villa is located in the beautiful alpine town of Ohakune adjacent to the world renowned Tongariro National Park. A place for all seasons; the lodge is warm and inviting and its close proximity to spectacular walks including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (Best Day Walk in New Zealand) ski fields, (Turoa 20 minutes and Whakapapa 40 minutes) and the mighty Whanganui River. The Station Lodge has been lovingly restored yet retains its unique and historical character. With the addition of modern facilities it is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Station Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing