We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Station Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Station Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

A great place to stay if you want good accomodation and information on mountain biking in the area

Room Tip: Good variety of accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    45
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
37
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The lodge itself is a lovingly restored building with high ceilings, polished floors, comfortable lounges and a spacious well-equipped kitchen. Our hosts at the Station Lodge were very helpful and upgraded us to larger rooms because they weren't busy. Very convenient for walking or cycling from Horopito to Ohakune on the Old Coach Road. They provide bike rentals and rides for a reasonable price. Jane and Darren know a lot about the area and are a good source of advice. The hot tub in the evenings, the excellent maps, the flat screen TV's, fire in the cool evenings - they've thought of many ways to improve your stay and are always trying to enhance the visitor's experience. We'll be telling our friends to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midgeminot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We were part of a church group from Tauranga who planned tramping for 3 days in the lower mountain ranges, and found Station Lodge just what we needed. Excellent hosts (in addition to giving birth to a baby at the Lodge the day before we arrived !) patient with our many questions, and provided comfortable beds, plenty of firewood for the fireplace, a very functional kitchen, internet, tv, the place had it all. Surprisingly, the trains weren't a problem, rather an interesting novelty.
Be very happy to stay here again to enjoy the walks in the mountain area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Hi Roger,
Thanks heaps for taking the time and writing a review about your stay with us last week. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the lodge was a good base for you to do your day walks from and explore the local area and all that it has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed at station lodge while I was looking for longer term accommodation as I got a job at the local Ski Resort.
It has a good warm fire, kitchen and two TV rooms and is close to the bars.
You can rent bikes if you want to do the local rail trail and they will drop you at the other end if you don't want to go their and back.

I got moved into a Chalet while they had a big group there so I was not inconvienced by the amount of people staying.

All in All it was a good place to stay.

Thanks Darren and Jane

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckenndk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

A fantastic place to stay, very well equiped with leather couches 2x flat screen tvs, playstation and a Spa Pool! There's nothing quite like sitting next to a roaring fire, watching the rugby. Being located next to the Train Station, and offering transport to/from Bus Stop leaves so many options. Awesome place to stay - I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Thanks for taking the time and writing a review about your stay with us, we really appreciate it :)

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Many thanks
Jane and Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We have just returned today after spending 2 days in Ohakune. A few weeks ago we googled accommodation and amongst the hoards of websites, came across a photo of Station Lodge and the family chalets that are available. It looked the cleanest and had great reviews, so we booked online. Arrived there on Sunday afternoon and were shown the chalet. The photos did it no justice. The chalets look new, each have a place to park, and inside they are very well equipped. We were spoilt by the fact that Monday morning Ohakune became a winter wonderland. Despite this, the chalet was warm inside.
The only negative was that I missed a coffee plunger, but coffee granules and tea bags are provided.
A ski-rental shop is on the grounds and they provide good info and are cheaper than renting gear on the mountain.
Count on us being back soon. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Hi,

Thanks so much for taking the time and writing a review about your stay. We really appreciated it :)

You will be pleased to know there is a brand new Bodum coffee plunger in the chalet now, after you brought it to our attention.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Many thanks
Jane and Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I came across station lodge by accident and am so glad to have - only Ment to stay three nights but ended up looking finding work in this beautiful little town n staying longer - unfortunately had to leave because of job offer at home - completely my loss - if you stay - definatly do t biking tracks - a great way to get around - I will be back

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinytripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.2 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
15.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
15.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
1.4 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Lodge

Property: Station Lodge
Address: 60 Thames Street | The Junction, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Station Lodge, a 1906 historical villa is located in the beautiful alpine town of Ohakune adjacent to the world renowned Tongariro National Park. A place for all seasons; the lodge is warm and inviting and its close proximity to spectacular walks including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (Best Day Walk in New Zealand) ski fields, (Turoa 20 minutes and Whakapapa 40 minutes) and the mighty Whanganui River. The Station Lodge has been lovingly restored yet retains its unique and historical character. With the addition of modern facilities it is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Station Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing