We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Station Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Station Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed here twice during winter skiing season. Once in a hostel room sharing with others, and once in a pricate room outside the main lodge.

The private room was tiny but comfortable & warm, with shared facilities though - had to walk outside back into the lodge for bathroom. Hostel room was typical 4 x bunkbeds, very clean. Great kitchen facilities, drying room, nice hot spa. Booking and service was easy, friendly and staff very helpful. The place was totally booked out when we were there but everything was taken care of perfectly.

Parking good and great location for bars etc nearby. Ideal experience for cheap, hostel/lodge type accom. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parig0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    45
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
37
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norsewood New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We booked the whole of the Station Lodge for the weekend of our son's wedding. The Lodge was perfect for our needs. We had friends and family stay with us and everybody was happy with the accommodation. It was walking distance from the Powderhorn where the wedding was so nobody had to worry about drink driving.All 11 rooms are adequate for sleeping. There are 5 showers and as many toilets to use which includes a disabled toilet that connects to one of the bedrooms. The kitchen is well equipped and the huge fridge was just perfect for our needs as we had a BBQ lunch on the Sunday, after the wedding and we had plenty of room to keep the food safe. The lodge can sleep over 40 people and plates and cutlery are suplied for that many which was great for us on the Sunday when we had and extra 30 or more peaple come for lunch. Everyone was able to sit on the deck and lawn area for lunch. We had small children with us and they loved the trampoline and the hill on the lawn to ride their bikes down.
Our hosts Jane and Darren couldn't do enough for us. A very nice couple to deal with. We appreciated them allowing us to have all the extra people come and use their facilities on the Sunday. There was a spa which they had available for use as well.
A great place for a familly reunion maybe. Book the whole place out, get lots to stay and it makes it a cheap weekend for all for accommodation.
A very clean place to stay with cleaning done daily.
Thanks Jane and Darren we will tell others about your hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rongotui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed one week in the station lodge in Ohakune and I really enjoyed it. It´s a lodge with a splendid view on the Mount Ruapehu. I´m traveling as a backpacker and this lodge has been the best on the North Island. For Backpackers is interesting to note that this hostel is a BBH Hostel. There is a nice kitchen with all necessary items that you need. The lodge is set in a beautiful style and has great bathrooms. Everything is very clean, the hosts are very friendly and familiar and you feel like home. You can hire very new and great mountain bikes. There are so many activities in this area. I did the Tongariro Crossing Walk, which is highly recommended. Also in winter, the lodge is a perfect starting point for winter sportsman.
For travelers with more comfort, there are stylish and modern apartments and chalets with a kitchen or a kitchenette in the room.
I would definitely come again at any time. Thank you for the wonderful stay! Simone

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0ne_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We managed to book a couple of the chalets at what we thought was fairly late notice. The price was fantastic and the chalets are all brand new and quite modern looking. They are fully self contained so we were able to buy groceries to cook for ourselves as well as wash our own clothes and dry them in the drying room which saved us a lot of money. The rooms were all spacious, clean and comfortable. Each chalet had aircon/heating, TV, modern appliances, DVD's, books etc. As well as that, one had an outdoor spa and the other had a fire place. The staff were a very helpful young couple who went out of their way to assist where needed.
The chalet is in a perfect position as it is the closest accommodation to the mountain and it is close to a bunch of restaurants and pubs. However it is right on the train line and although the train comes past rarely, it could wake you up in the middle of the night. I never had any problems with this as the rooms are on the opposite side of the chalet, but if you're a light sleeper it may wake you.
In all, I would highly recommend these chalets to stay with friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bofthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland, NewZealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Had a really good time there. everything was easy and straight forward. good facilities. The staff did everything they could to accommodate you. definitely going out of there way to make sure you had the best time. would recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Station lodge is situated at the base of Mt. Ruapehu giving easy access to the Turoa Ski area. Station Lodge offers accommodation to suit any budget and after staying here I was impressed by their dorm style accommodation that offers a clean tidy room with heating and bunks that sleeps around 4 people and is perfect for those who want a good nights sleep before hitting the slopes the next day!!! Also station lodge has lounge and kitchen area with full cooking facilities and a lounge which is great for relaxing, socializing and meeting new friends.

Overall the best accommodation for your money in Ohakune!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in the Chalets in August and had a great time. Chalet 1 with the fireplace is probably the most refined and has the most comfortable beds. The spa is Chalet 2 is excellent, especially after a long day skiing. The only negative I can think of is the noise from the trains (which are only 10 - 15 metres away). If you're a light sleeper these will wake you up! We only noticed 2 -3 a night so it wasn't a big deal. The Managers at the Station Lodge are fantastic and were willing to help at any time. Great central location - very close to ski hire shops (next door) and pubs. Also close to some great bushwalks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.2 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
15.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
15.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
1.4 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Lodge

Property: Station Lodge
Address: 60 Thames Street | The Junction, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Station Lodge, a 1906 historical villa is located in the beautiful alpine town of Ohakune adjacent to the world renowned Tongariro National Park. A place for all seasons; the lodge is warm and inviting and its close proximity to spectacular walks including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (Best Day Walk in New Zealand) ski fields, (Turoa 20 minutes and Whakapapa 40 minutes) and the mighty Whanganui River. The Station Lodge has been lovingly restored yet retains its unique and historical character. With the addition of modern facilities it is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Station Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing