We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snowhaven Accommodation
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Snowhaven self-contained studio units several times and have always found them great value for money. Excellent location, very clean and have all the necessary amenities. This weekend we decided to stay at the Snowhaven B&B because the units were booked out. Graham and Lynn were great hosts. Lynn made delicious breakfasts and happily provided gluten free options for my partner. She even baked gluten free friands for afternoon tea. After a day on the slopes it was great to sit in the lounge in front of the fireplace and be offered a pre-dinner glass of wine. The room was warm and bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 79 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Ohakune after a long drive and this was the first place I stopped at. Lady owner was very friendly and showed me the studio facing the main road @ $85 but noisy so I opted for the studio at the rear that had 3 single good for $95. No problem as just me. Summer time rates of course.
Very nice facilities and spacious but you can hear the people talking next door and the TV on the other side. It is the same everywhere no matter how much you pay.
Lady owner also any recommended a restaurant " The Cypress Tree" and she gave me a card for 10% discount . I ate there and very good location. Snowhaven is 5 minutes walk to all the shops so great location.
Parking at the door.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyJo_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the main lodge, and after traveling for over a month this was the first place that felt like home. Lynn and Graham are excellent hosts, and Lynn cooks a delicious breakfast. Fresh cut flowers by the bed, help booking a massage, cOmfortable beds, heated towel racks, eggs from the local farm- we couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowcom, Owner at Snowhaven Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We love meeting people from all over the world and our B&B provides a great opportunity for that.
We really enjoyed having you stay, and hope that one day you may return to our lovely country again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in a self-contained apartment at Snowhaven for a weeks skiing, and it was perfect. It was warm (heater and electric blankets), clean, comfortable and had everything we needed - all for the price of budget accommodation. Our room was at the back by the river, really quiet and peaceful while being an easy walk into town. Parking outside and our own locker for ski gear made for an easy departure each morning. Would highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a studio unit with a fold out sofa and a queen and a single which was very cramped so I would recommend larger accomodation if there is 3 or more ! Appart from that everything was clean and comfortable ! The drying rooms out back were great for drying our snow gear ! Wifi was available but at a cost and there was a laundromat 2 doors down . Plenty of places to eat on the same street so good location !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stace072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in the "budget" self contained room for 2 nights. Quality of the room was definitely better than budget - everything is modern and good quality fitout. Separate locked units in the drying room was very good - don't usually like leaving equipment otherwise. Short walk to town and also to the Ohakune Carrot along a nice stream. Views of Mt Ruapehu. Only downsides were that the room was not cleaned/made up while we were out - a bit disappointing given room cost was the same or more than a motel room. Dust accumulating on some surfaces in bathroom. A little bit of road noise but we weren't affected. Otherwise we recommend staying here

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowcom, Owner at Snowhaven Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying in one of Snowhaven's studio apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, however these are self contained studios and not motels. These apartments are not advertised as being serviced, although clean towels are supplied and rubbish removed daily. For longer stays a service is available upon request.
We look forward to you staying at Snowhaven in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Ohakune, 5 of us staying in luxury bed and breakfast rooms. The house is modern, warm and had every facility we required, with a fantastic lounge with log fire and open plan eating area, as well as a games room.Lynn and Graeme were superb hosts, cooking excellent breakfasts, providing tea with home made muffins and going above and beyond the call of duty to find and book a restaurant for us and organise shuttle transport as well.We felt that we were visiting family friends! The house is situated a short walk only from the centre of town and ideally placed for the Turoa ski fields.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
16.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Chalets
Rocky Mountain Chalets
#6 of 22 in Ohakune
68 reviews
17.1 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
1.3 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.7 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowhaven Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowhaven Accommodation

Address: 92 Clyde Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range: $74 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowhaven Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality & style is emphasized in this luxurious hosted B&B accommodation where the ultimate in comfort warmth and hospitality is providedA light or full cooked breakfast is available in the morning.The B&B has a wonderful wide gallery leading up to the large lounge and dining area where you can relax in front of a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Snowhaven Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing