We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Manuka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manuka Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Ohakune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Knowledgeable hosts about all aspects of the area, walking, canoeing ,dining. The B&B aspect is something we rarely partake of, but the breakfast here is not be missed. A new property slightly above the top of the " 4 Fern" rating. We went in December and the town as a whole is quiet, I am sure in the ski season this would be an excellent choice. I have only skied in Europe and North America and can see the potential for winter sports here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed in Manuka Lodge for two nights in November and absolutely loved it. Susie and Alan are really fantastic and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We opted for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing package and we can highly recommend it. Alan had organised an early morning pick-up for us for the next day, but made sure we got a healthy breakfast before we stepped out of the door. They also prepared a delicious lunch package for us so we had something to eat during our one-day trek.

The rooms are very clean and spacious and the whole lodge has a cosy feel about it. The house cat Flaps is adorable and we already miss him! Make sure to ask Alan and Susie about any activities in and around Ohakune as they are very knowledgeable and will be able to give you some excellent recommendations.

It was like staying with family. We really enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Manuka Lodge and Ohakune are great! Our guide books didn't say much about Ohakune and it seems that it is mainly a ski town, but there is certainly much more to do than just ski. The town of Ohakune is incredibly charming. My husband and I also got to do many beautiful walks in the mountains. We hiked up to Waitonga Falls, did a few walks at the base of mountain where there are some amazing rain forests. There is also so much more we didn't have time to do.

Manuka Lodge is a great home base while near the Tongariro National Park. Alan and Susie were very accomodating to our schedule and needs. We planned to do the Tongariro Crossing while staying with them, they were a perfect access point for the walk and also helped coordinate lunch for us. Susie was great about helping us find activities to do in Ohakune and even laid out breakfast for us on the early morning we left for the Crossing.

Can't say enough good things about their incredible hospitality. It was one of the nicest places we stayed on our holiday through New Zealand.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My teenage son and I stayed at Manuka Lodge over the October school holidays. The lodge is comfortable, warm and has everything you could need for a relaxing holiday. We booked this place because of the spa pool and it was the perfect end to a day skiing. The mountain didn't disappoint - we had 4 days skiing in bright sunshine and awesome snow conditions! Susie and Alan were excellent hosts and we really enjoyed our stay. We will be back for the Wanganui river trip or Ruapehu crater walk in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iseult057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a 4 days ski trip at Turoa. After searching through a number of properties we picked Manuka Lodge due to the consistent positive reviews by other. I am glad to say that we concur with the experience of the previous guests.

Alan and Susie, the owners of the lodge both have backgrounds in the hospitality industry in the UK and NZ. This is clearly evident in the standard they have set for Manuka Lodge, from the modern fit-out of the lodge to the service and support they provide to the guests.

The lodge is conveniently located within Ohakune, approximately 1-2 minutes from the main street, situated in a small court. It has 4 en-suite guest rooms in total. 2 downstairs and 2 upstairs. One of the downstairs room has been setup for disability / wheelchair access.

Their neighbor 2 doors down runs Manuka Natural Therapies which offers a remedial massage service for NZ$65/hr or NZ$35/30 min and is a great relieve for sore bodies at the end of a ski day. My wife and I have regular massages and would recommend the service of Manuka Natural Therapies. In addition, Manuka Lodge has a 6 person outdoor spa; Manuka Naural Therapies has Sauna facilities which is free to access for massage guests, or at NZ$12/hr.

The lodge offers Wi-Fi access. At the time of this visit access was free of charge.

My wife and I will be sure to stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lokky_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We arrived at Manuka Lodge in the teeth of some pretty dreadful weather, which curtailed some of our planned sightseeing activities. However, our stay at Manuka Lodge made up for all that. Warm (love the under floor heating), spotless, cosy, and divinely comfortable - the best accommodation we had during our stay in New Zealand.

We spent a lot of time relaxing in the excellent guest lounge with Flaps the cat, and enjoyed every minute. Alan was a great source of invaluable local information, and Susie's breakfasts (and brownies) were fantastic.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The fresh morning starts with the smell of hot homemade bread permeating wafting through the large open dining lounge area, giving a foretaste of breakfast delights. Alan and Suzie have created a really great place to stay, which is brand new, light and airy, warm as toast in winter and a fantastic base to do lots of things in the Tongariro National Park. They are just delightful hosts, really welcoming and helpful, with everything we needed. With only a few suites its very informal and relaxed, whether you are there for skiing, tramping or the other outdoor things, for which the area is perfect.

The rooms are brilliant, spotlessly clean with very comfy beds. The lounge area with its stone fireplace is just the ticket when the chill hits. Alan and Suzie made our entire stay an absolute pleasure, and I honestly couldn’t think of anything they could have done to improve it.

We wanted to walk the Tongariro Crossing, but since it was winter, we had to go with a guide. They hooked us up with Stu from Adrift, who gave us a stunning winter adventure, climbing almost to the top and back. We had crampons and ice axes and 100 metre visibility to boot! What an awesome experience. There are some great walks around Ohakune including a hike to the waterfall on the road to Turoa ski fields, as well as good eating spots in town. We ate at the Italian Café in the main street which was relaxed and informal, with awesome food. The Cypress Tree does an outstanding contemporary menu and is just off the main street. We went back for a second night, as the menu was so good. I think Ohakune is a great base and more appealing that National Park which is 30 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
16.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
5.4 mi away
Tongariro Suites at The Rocks
0.5 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Lodge

Property: Manuka Lodge
Address: 18 Manuka Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining a new style of accommodation in the township of Ohakune which straddles the southern edge of the stunningly beautiful Tongariro World Heritage National Park. This perfectly appointed, purpose built Bed and Breakfast offers a first-rate alternative to a Hotel with many of the trappings of a Boutique Lodge. We provide 4 star-plus facilities, en-suite hotel style rooms with breakfast fully inclusive of the rates. Manuka Lodge is intimate luxury, perfectly located in a secluded cul-de-sac, 10 minutes walk from the shops, bars and eateries of Ohakune. Also only 40mins from the start of the world famous Tongariro Alpine Crossing and 20mins from Turoa Ski Area. It makes for a perfect get away Winter and Summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manuka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing