We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Ohakune”
Review of Manuka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manuka Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Ohakune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in Ohakune”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a 4 days ski trip at Turoa. After searching through a number of properties we picked Manuka Lodge due to the consistent positive reviews by other. I am glad to say that we concur with the experience of the previous guests.

Alan and Susie, the owners of the lodge both have backgrounds in the hospitality industry in the UK and NZ. This is clearly evident in the standard they have set for Manuka Lodge, from the modern fit-out of the lodge to the service and support they provide to the guests.

The lodge is conveniently located within Ohakune, approximately 1-2 minutes from the main street, situated in a small court. It has 4 en-suite guest rooms in total. 2 downstairs and 2 upstairs. One of the downstairs room has been setup for disability / wheelchair access.

Their neighbor 2 doors down runs Manuka Natural Therapies which offers a remedial massage service for NZ$65/hr or NZ$35/30 min and is a great relieve for sore bodies at the end of a ski day. My wife and I have regular massages and would recommend the service of Manuka Natural Therapies. In addition, Manuka Lodge has a 6 person outdoor spa; Manuka Naural Therapies has Sauna facilities which is free to access for massage guests, or at NZ$12/hr.

The lodge offers Wi-Fi access. At the time of this visit access was free of charge.

My wife and I will be sure to stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lokky_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We arrived at Manuka Lodge in the teeth of some pretty dreadful weather, which curtailed some of our planned sightseeing activities. However, our stay at Manuka Lodge made up for all that. Warm (love the under floor heating), spotless, cosy, and divinely comfortable - the best accommodation we had during our stay in New Zealand.

We spent a lot of time relaxing in the excellent guest lounge with Flaps the cat, and enjoyed every minute. Alan was a great source of invaluable local information, and Susie's breakfasts (and brownies) were fantastic.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The fresh morning starts with the smell of hot homemade bread permeating wafting through the large open dining lounge area, giving a foretaste of breakfast delights. Alan and Suzie have created a really great place to stay, which is brand new, light and airy, warm as toast in winter and a fantastic base to do lots of things in the Tongariro National Park. They are just delightful hosts, really welcoming and helpful, with everything we needed. With only a few suites its very informal and relaxed, whether you are there for skiing, tramping or the other outdoor things, for which the area is perfect.

The rooms are brilliant, spotlessly clean with very comfy beds. The lounge area with its stone fireplace is just the ticket when the chill hits. Alan and Suzie made our entire stay an absolute pleasure, and I honestly couldn’t think of anything they could have done to improve it.

We wanted to walk the Tongariro Crossing, but since it was winter, we had to go with a guide. They hooked us up with Stu from Adrift, who gave us a stunning winter adventure, climbing almost to the top and back. We had crampons and ice axes and 100 metre visibility to boot! What an awesome experience. There are some great walks around Ohakune including a hike to the waterfall on the road to Turoa ski fields, as well as good eating spots in town. We ate at the Italian Café in the main street which was relaxed and informal, with awesome food. The Cypress Tree does an outstanding contemporary menu and is just off the main street. We went back for a second night, as the menu was so good. I think Ohakune is a great base and more appealing that National Park which is 30 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

There is not much that I can add to the overwhelmingly rave reviews for Manuka Lodge that has not already been said.
The room was brilliant, the amenity fantastic, the location ideal and the hospitality of Susie and Alan was wonderfully warm.
I would highly recommend for both a short holiday or even a small work conference.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pricer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

A spring visit on my way past Ohakune. Great reception and loved the dinning leisure area. Bedroom certainly exceeded my expectations with a view of cows in a field alongside the morning sunshine.

Many Thanks Susie

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank old_bloke_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment.

It was our base to enjoy the snow and relax! We were the only guests for the 1st two nights so it was like having the big house just to ourselves. The b&b is new and is stunning. Great shower and bed was very comfy!!

Breakfast was great and nothing was never an issue. There is a great fire in the lounge as well. We were never cold.

We could not fault this B&B! Great service and sensational location! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Claire_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We had booked in advanced and found that this was the only hotel on our agenda that charges full amount before arrival which did not like a bit. We arrived a day ahead of scheduled and instead of the 2 planned nights, we decided to stay 1, owner was very clear that he would not refund night that we wouldnt stay. Room was a bit too small and very cold, heater took a while. Very clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlBondgas, Owner at Manuka Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
We are very sorry to hear you were unhappy following your stay with us. Our aim is to provide first-class accommodation for visitors to the region and it is a great disappointment to think we have not achieved this with you. Fundamentally, we are in the business of looking after people and we strive to ensure that, when guests leave, they look forward to returning, having enjoyed a great stay.

However, any Business demands that certain conditions of trade are set in place. These are effectively the minimum requirements to guarantee the smooth, efficient running of the Business. We believe that our Terms and Conditions, as laid out on our website, are fair, clear and in line with Travel Industry practice. With sufficient notice (only 3 days), you could have cancelled the original booking with a full refund, yet, if this was your wish, you did not communicate it to us.

We made a new booking for one night; the night you arrived. You were not charged for this.

With advance notice the under floor heating would have been turned up to pre-heat your room upon arrival. To avoid future situations like this arising we have since purchased a large portable heater if there's the need to heat our rooms in a hurry.

We understand the Queen Room is smaller, however this is reflected in the room rate. We would have liked to upgrade you to one of our three King bedrooms but, again, given the short notice, this was impracticable.

We truly are concerned to learn your experience with us was not good and that you wish you had stayed elsewhere. Susie and I are committed to providing an accommodation experience that complements and enhances visits to our beautiful region. Tempering this, as we can see, are the decisions we must make to ensure that our business survives and thrives. It is regrettable that the rare collision of these factors had to coincide with your stay. For this, we do sincerely and unreservedly apologise.

Alan & Susie Hancorn
Manuka Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.5 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Lodge

Property: Manuka Lodge
Address: 18 Manuka Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining a new style of accommodation in the township of Ohakune which straddles the southern edge of the stunningly beautiful Tongariro World Heritage National Park. This perfectly appointed, purpose built Bed and Breakfast offers a first-rate alternative to a Hotel with many of the trappings of a Boutique Lodge. We provide 4 star-plus facilities, en-suite hotel style rooms with breakfast fully inclusive of the rates. Manuka Lodge is intimate luxury, perfectly located in a secluded cul-de-sac, 10 minutes walk from the shops, bars and eateries of Ohakune. Also only 40mins from the start of the world famous Tongariro Alpine Crossing and 20mins from Turoa Ski Area. It makes for a perfect get away Winter and Summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manuka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing