We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for large Groups”
Review of LKNZ Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LKNZ Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently stayed at LKNZ for the North Island Secondary Schools snow boarding competition. Our team was in the newer Mountain View Lodge and we had 2 of the 4-bed rooms (i.e. two sets of bunks in each room) with a shared bathroom located between the two rooms. Bed linen is provided.There are two communal kitchens that can be used for cooking or just for making hot drinks, plus a communal lounge area. Facilities are excellent for groups and Amanda and her team provided a great service that included catered meals for our group - cooked breakfast, packed lunch and evening meal. The lodge was warm and comfortable and had everything we needed - certainly a high standard for a back packer lodge.
Thanks Amanda and team for a great stay and we hope to be back again next year.
Spotswood College Snowboard team.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I love staying at LKNZ Lodge. I have varied my experience with the type of rooms I have stayed in. I first stayed in the super cheap accommodation, which was excellent value for money. It is more basic than some of their other rooms, but it is very sociable and you get to meet so many lovely people. It has nice comfy beds, great showers and a nice kitchen/lounge set up for the guests. Each time I stay I meet new people and people that return to the lodge.
I have also stayed in one of the private rooms in Matai lodge. Great comfortable beds, really warm bedrooms and common areas, we even made the fire and watched films when the mountain was closed, super cosy. The showers are lovely and powerful and the room is nice and spacious.
The staff there are great. They are very helpful and always willing to help. I love the bar there, it is great value and they have lovely toasties (try the Sloppy Joe Toastie!).

Room Tip: Matai and Mountain View rooms are the warmest. The En-suite Units are great for couples and people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a disappointing stay here, felt it was overpriced and got no response when we complained about it. Booked a 'quad' room online as it was the only one left, for NZD120/night. Description online = unique wooden bunks & retro feel. In reality the room was small, had a double & single (so for 3 people not 4), thin old sheets with holes, a tiny broken mirror taped to the wall, and was really noisy and uncomfortable. Reception didn't respond when we questioned it, and neither did the manager when we emailed afterwards. For this price you can get a nice motel room with kitchenette and your own bathroom so felt it was a complete ripoff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked a twin room at "back lodge" for 2 nights in August. We expected it to be pretty basic but were surprised at how very basic for $70 per night. On the plus side, the room and linens were clean. The downside was the sheets didn't fit the mattress on one bed and there was a 1 inch gap under the door to the outside.

What we misunderstood from the web was that the cabin rooms have access to equally basic kitchen and bathroom areas, the kitchen was really dirty the two days we were there. The bathrooms were clean, but think camp-ground style and freezing cold. If you're thinking of booking a cabin style room don't expect much at all for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaChicaSola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LKNZLodge, Manager at LKNZ Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

As stated on our website( Our Back Lodge is older and budget. This Lodge has the same facilities, with the exception that the majority of rooms are cabin style, and the WC's require a short covered walk outside to get to them.
Please note this is our low end of standard rooms.
Bedding is provided. )
We are sorry you did not like the room you were in For an additional $29 you could of stayed in our Twin / Double kitchenette en suite rooms with central heating.
Our Budget Accommodation is the most popular as it is the cheapest in town.
However we do have a vast selection of other rooms to chose from.
I hope this stay did not put you off from staying with us feel free to call us to discuss our room types for next time.
LKNZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice friendly reception people. We stayed one night and tried to phone book an extra night from up the mountain, but you can only book online which was very inconvenient to do so had to ring somewhere else. Room with ensuite was okay, small for 4 people and not exactly cheap. But clean and great shower etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasOn888_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The little 1 bed unit rooms with kitchenette and ensuite are very comfortable and great value for price. They are small in size but then you don't need a big space indoors when you have so much outdoors to enjoy. The high pressure showers are very relaxing and welcome after a day skiing on beautiful Mt Ruapehu. The lodge is right in the middle of town and very handy to shops and restaurants. We have also stayed in the larger cabin style accomodation where you have a communal kitchen, shared lounge, bathrooms and bunk rooms.

We stayed there in October 2010 and prior years. We are returning there in June 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank european_kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at this lodge with a friend in a twin room (with kitchenette and ensuite). Very clean and well kept. The managers (Amanda and Martin) are really helpful, great breakfasts, a ride to the Old Coach Rd, and overall I would return and recommend to others looking for inexpensive but good accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohakune hotels
1.3 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
1.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ohakune TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
65.1 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
0.5 mi away
The Hobbit Motorlodge
The Hobbit Motorlodge
#8 of 22 in Ohakune
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LKNZ Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LKNZ Lodge

Address: 1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range: $33 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LKNZ Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable and inexpensive hostel at the base of Mt Ruapehu. LKNZ Backpackers is a great base for the Ruapehu Ski Resorts, Tongariro Crossing, Old Coach Road Track, Whanganui River and many other amazing walks and tracks in the Ruapehu area. Convenient shuttle services available for all activities. There is a wide range of accommodation options to suit your budget from New Kitchenette En-suites, Privet Doubles, Dorms and Cabins spread over 4 building each with there own kitchens and lounges. Van and Tent site available too.With action packed activities in the area all year round LKNZ have loads of Local Knowledge to share with all of our guest. As far as affordable North Island ski field on Mt Ruapehu and Tongariro accommodation goes, look no further than LKNZ Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your LKNZ Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing