We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 choice in Ohakune”
Review of LKNZ Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LKNZ Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ohakune
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Number 1 choice in Ohakune”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I love staying at LKNZ Lodge. I have varied my experience with the type of rooms I have stayed in. I first stayed in the super cheap accommodation, which was excellent value for money. It is more basic than some of their other rooms, but it is very sociable and you get to meet so many lovely people. It has nice comfy beds, great showers and a nice kitchen/lounge set up for the guests. Each time I stay I meet new people and people that return to the lodge.
I have also stayed in one of the private rooms in Matai lodge. Great comfortable beds, really warm bedrooms and common areas, we even made the fire and watched films when the mountain was closed, super cosy. The showers are lovely and powerful and the room is nice and spacious.
The staff there are great. They are very helpful and always willing to help. I love the bar there, it is great value and they have lovely toasties (try the Sloppy Joe Toastie!).

Room Tip: Matai and Mountain View rooms are the warmest. The En-suite Units are great for couples and people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
38
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a disappointing stay here, felt it was overpriced and got no response when we complained about it. Booked a 'quad' room online as it was the only one left, for NZD120/night. Description online = unique wooden bunks & retro feel. In reality the room was small, had a double & single (so for 3 people not 4), thin old sheets with holes, a tiny broken mirror taped to the wall, and was really noisy and uncomfortable. Reception didn't respond when we questioned it, and neither did the manager when we emailed afterwards. For this price you can get a nice motel room with kitchenette and your own bathroom so felt it was a complete ripoff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked a twin room at "back lodge" for 2 nights in August. We expected it to be pretty basic but were surprised at how very basic for $70 per night. On the plus side, the room and linens were clean. The downside was the sheets didn't fit the mattress on one bed and there was a 1 inch gap under the door to the outside.

What we misunderstood from the web was that the cabin rooms have access to equally basic kitchen and bathroom areas, the kitchen was really dirty the two days we were there. The bathrooms were clean, but think camp-ground style and freezing cold. If you're thinking of booking a cabin style room don't expect much at all for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaChicaSola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LKNZLodge, Manager at LKNZ Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
As stated on our website( Our Back Lodge is older and budget. This Lodge has the same facilities, with the exception that the majority of rooms are cabin style, and the WC's require a short covered walk outside to get to them.
Please note this is our low end of standard rooms.
Bedding is provided. )
We are sorry you did not like the room you were in For an additional $29 you could of stayed in our Twin / Double kitchenette en suite rooms with central heating.
Our Budget Accommodation is the most popular as it is the cheapest in town.
However we do have a vast selection of other rooms to chose from.
I hope this stay did not put you off from staying with us feel free to call us to discuss our room types for next time.
LKNZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice friendly reception people. We stayed one night and tried to phone book an extra night from up the mountain, but you can only book online which was very inconvenient to do so had to ring somewhere else. Room with ensuite was okay, small for 4 people and not exactly cheap. But clean and great shower etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasOn888_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The little 1 bed unit rooms with kitchenette and ensuite are very comfortable and great value for price. They are small in size but then you don't need a big space indoors when you have so much outdoors to enjoy. The high pressure showers are very relaxing and welcome after a day skiing on beautiful Mt Ruapehu. The lodge is right in the middle of town and very handy to shops and restaurants. We have also stayed in the larger cabin style accomodation where you have a communal kitchen, shared lounge, bathrooms and bunk rooms.

We stayed there in October 2010 and prior years. We are returning there in June 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank european_kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at this lodge with a friend in a twin room (with kitchenette and ensuite). Very clean and well kept. The managers (Amanda and Martin) are really helpful, great breakfasts, a ride to the Old Coach Rd, and overall I would return and recommend to others looking for inexpensive but good accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great weekend with family and friends at lknz. Good value. Excellent service and friendly knowledeable hosts (amanda & martin). Clean spacoius rooms.
Would certainly recommend to others and id stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolynandvivgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohakune hotels
1.3 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
1.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.2 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hobbit Motorlodge
The Hobbit Motorlodge
#9 of 21 in Ohakune
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LKNZ Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LKNZ Lodge

Property: LKNZ Lodge
Address: 1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — LKNZ Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable and inexpensive hostel at the base of Mt Ruapehu. LKNZ Backpackers is a great base for the Ruapehu Ski Resorts, Tongariro Crossing, Old Coach Road Track, Whanganui River and many other amazing walks and tracks in the Ruapehu area. Convenient shuttle services available for all activities. There is a wide range of accommodation options to suit your budget from New Kitchenette En-suites, Privet Doubles, Dorms and Cabins spread over 4 building each with there own kitchens and lounges. Van and Tent site available too.With action packed activities in the area all year round LKNZ have loads of Local Knowledge to share with all of our guest. As far as affordable North Island ski field on Mt Ruapehu and Tongariro accommodation goes, look no further than LKNZ Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your LKNZ Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing