We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Rock Cafe

Mountain Rock Cafe
Ranked #12 of 32 Restaurants in Ohakune
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We dined here twice and found the basic menu adequate for our needs. The food was presented well and waste tasteful. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    54
    24
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
609 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Did Someone Die Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went in for a breakfast a few weeks ago and all the staff were miserable, unfriendly and unwelcoming.Should have stayed a video store. Went up the road to the cafe next to BNZ and received a warm country welcome and hearty breakfast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun Place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

It is a cross between a nice restaurant and a pub, and you could feel like you are in either one depending on where you sit. The waiter/bartender was very energetic and helpful, and let us sample some of the beers we weren't familiar with. The food is good.

Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
561 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Fun....bar...decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Maybe ( certainly) not the best restaurant of the town but ambiance relax, Young. The bar is nearly unlimited, really good choice for the beers. The food is not a discovery but good without prevention. The service is great and smiling! The decor is maybe the principe of a boutique hotel : a lot of things to sale: funny.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a great Friday night meal at Mountain Rocks. There was live music that we really enjoyed, and the food was good. Our meals were pan fried fish,and deep fried fish. Both were delivered promptly and were delicious. The place was not full, but still had a nice friendly and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Rock Cafe also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Mountain Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing