We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience.”
Review of Mountain Rock Cafe

Mountain Rock Cafe
Ranked #12 of 34 Restaurants in Ohakune
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
1 review
“A fantastic experience.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Friendly fast and quality food in a clean and happy environment. What more can you ask for.
Make sure you introduce yourself to Karl (making coffee) and ask for a area history lesson.
GM.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    56
    26
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Reasonably good but more of a pub than a cafe”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a decent and reasonably priced meal here but it was extremely noisy. In fairness this was because there was a stag party going on which in fact spilled out onto the street. Obviously very drunken but apparently good-natured enough, it nevertheless overwhelmed the whole place and I was happy to eat up and leave. I can understand that this was probably good for trade at a relatively quiet time but there was enough room that it could have been given a designated area rather than take over the whole joint. Very good beef nachos, which although nominally a starter was plenty for a main course.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great, then let down”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to Mountain Rock Cafe a couple of times over a week for lunch. The first time we had lovely cabinet lunch food with a side salad. The side salad was divine, it had seeds, nuts, cranberries etc it was so good I had to thank the chef. Two days later I had to go back just to have the side salad again but what a let down, this day it was clearly the main chef's day off and it was back to the basic boring cafe side salad you get. Will however try again next time we are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Otis-me-n-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“expensive but tasty”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just wanted a quick simple breakfast this day, so grabbed a take away banana smoothie, a cinnimon scroll and a ham and cheese crossiant. The scroll was really delicious, and the rest was good too. Service was pretty good, but it was take away so...only thing is that i thought it was a bit pricey. They had an amazing array of beautiful looking cakes and pastries and savoury pies etc, so worth stopping in for something like that!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francescas, France
1 review
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had food and drinks in the cafe around mid day yesterday. The savoury muffin was really delicious. We are travelling from different places here in the north island and tasted different food in different cafes but to my amazement only this cafe made a very yummy vegetable muffin. Two thumbs up. Also, great coffee. My Cappuccino was really to die for. It was so velvety and I cannot help myself not to get one for a take away. I'd approach one of the staff and asking who was making the yummy savoury muffin and Ola, it was the filipina lady who made it as well as my cappuccino. Wow! great job coz you really made my day. A big compliment to that filipina and because of it's good service and food, I gave a tip. That filipina woman is for keeps!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 48andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Rock Cafe also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Mountain Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing