We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so; not great money's worth”

Beaumaris Bay Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beaumaris Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So-so; not great money's worth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I booked a Queen Spa room as a surprise overnight getaway with my boyfriend, planning to cycle along Beach Road back to the Melbourne CBD the following day.

Pros: The service is friendly. The bed was comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean (but, as other reviewers have noted, rather worse for wear, with many items of furniture showing cigarette burns). The location is nice for a relaxed getaway.

Cons: We wanted to sleep in until shortly before check-out time at 10am, but were awoken around 8am by a very loud staff member in the corridor outside our room, who I imagine was tidying the rooms of guests already checked out. Noise carries very clearly through the door and I didn't appreciate being woken up.

I don't think it was great value for money. Definitely not the worse place I've ever stayed but not sure if I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrumbateman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Place is well overdue for renovation or demolition. Only redeeming feature is cheerful staff, but they can't overcome ancient stained furnishings, skirting that has departed from the wall, bed as hard as a rock, schoolroom style rough ceiling finish that is impossible to clean, etc, etc, etc ....
We won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CouncillorGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beaumaris hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was comfortable for 1 night. I don't think I could spend an extended period of time here. First thing I noticed was the musty smell in the office when I went to pick up the key, really put me off. The room was nice and included a balcony. Room was quite spacious but very dated. I loved the spa as that is why we hired the room. The only suggestion I could make is that it is very dangerous getting in and out of the spa due to bloody great big steps to get in and out. Once wet they can prove tricky. Overall it was still worth it for 1 night but price should be less considering I have paid the same amount for a hell of a lot better rooms. Oh and toilet is very cramped.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy-Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed in this motel in November 2012 - it wasn't really my first choice but was close to the family who we were visiting.

We had a twin room which unfortunately had an adjoining door to the next room. On arrival all we could take in was the filthy dilapidated old couch - it would have been more comfortable to sit on the floor so we avoided it. The cane chairs at the table also had filthy cushions on them. The curtains were so dirty that it made me uncomfortable to open the door as I had to touch them. There was medicated cream in a tube under one of the beds which made me realise how incompetantly it had been cleaned as it was clearly visible from a standing position - I didn't want to get near the carpet to look under anything. Lucky my toddler didn't find it first.

The bed sheets were clean and the bathroom was OK. The lino in the bathroom and under the bench was stained but at least had been swept.

The people who came into the neighbouring room at midnight kept us awake for most of the night. The door allowed all noise through as if it was in our room. Sounded like someone was getting their money's worth in a brothel!

In the morning we were asked how our night had been. We said "not great" and explained why. Instead of offering an apology or a discount, the manager laughed and made some comment about "asians". Charming.

Room Tip: Stay in your car if you have to.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank measie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in November 2012 for 2 nights. Whilst the building is quite old & dated the rooms are clean & comfortable.
The food is fantastic with generous servings. The staff cannot do enough to welcome you & ensure you enjoy your stay.
Well done Ange.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suparat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2011 in a downstairs room. Dark, musty smelling with an appaling old bathroom. desperately needs new everything. Chose this hotel after comparing photos and prices. It was priced at the lower end of accomodation in the area however the photos really glammed it up if you can believe it.

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knokno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year for a little getaway!
We both really enjoyed our stay.
We booked the luxury room which had a spa bath which was so relaxing.
The room also had cable and a balcony which was good if you are a smoker.
We didn't visit the bar or the restaurant but there are plenty of restaurants and takeaways in the area.
It was a good location and a little motel for a weekend by the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Buckingham International
6.0 mi away
Brighton Savoy
Brighton Savoy
#1 of 1 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Dandenong
Ramada Encore Dandenong
#1 of 5 in Dandenong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dingley International Motel
Dingley International Motel
#1 of 1 in Dingley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
7.1 mi away
Clayton Monash Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
1.7 mi away
Parkdale Motor Inn
Parkdale Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Parkdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumaris Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumaris Bay Motel

Property: Beaumaris Bay Motel
Address: 31 Bodley St, Beaumaris, Bayside, Victoria 3193, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaumaris Bay Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the Best Western Beaumaris Bay Motel is like staying at your home away from home. Our friendly staff will do anything feasible to make your time with us memorable - be it booking golf at the famous sandbelt courses (Royal Melbourne, Victoria, etc), relaxing at the theatre or shopping at Westfield's Southland (the largest shopping in the southern hemisphere), they will cater to your every need. Then relax and have a meal or drink at our Salty Dogs Bar and Restaurant before retiring for the evening. We are within walking distance of beaches, a fishing pier, restaurants, bars, beauty salons, cafes, banking and public transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaumaris Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing