We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is Horrible”
Review of Pousada Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Laguna
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Cabo Frio
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is Horrible”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Yes, you have a beauful beach in front of the hotel but the room is very modest. The bed sheets smell really bad, also the blanket had terrible smell. We asked for the bed sheets to be changed and they complaint, but finally they did it when I told them of the smell. The sofa very unconfortable, you could not be seated for more than 30 minutes. And the TV had a horrible reception and only a few channels, no cable. I ended paying USD 100 per night, and later in town I found out that there is a hotel with ocean view, balcony, jacuzi and sauna for only USD 10 more. There are other pousadas in town for just 80 reais (USD40 aprox.) /so if you are in a budget do not waste your money here. Besides the area where the pousada laguna is located is not very safe. so be careful, take always a taxi and walk during the day, to arrive to town is a good 45 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank internetuser90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousadalaguna, Manager at Pousada Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We appreciate every review, good or bad, and work hard to improve our service based on your comments. We sincerely apologize for not being able to serve you better. While our receptionists should be able to resolve any possible issues, please seek the manager any time you feel that your needs are not fully met. We' have changed our laundry services provider and replaced all of the blankets to avoid any possibility of such inconvenience. Most of the pousadas only offer the 3 free channels in the region. To better serve you we are have added Globo, 2 cable movie channels and 2 in-house movie channels showing recent movies 24 hours. Our area is one of the safest in town, while it could be a bit deserted during the low season. In addition to excellent local bus service we offer fixed price taxi service (R$12 to any place in town), car rental and direct shuttle service to and from the hotel from both Rio de Janeiro airports and Copacabana. Walking downtown on the beach is extremely pleasant and relaxing and takes 30 to 45 minutes depending on one's pace. We have recently completed our garden covering most of the open area and installed all glass front offering gorgeous ocean view to every suite at the hotel. Our beach is truly remarkable and we offer all amenities for a quality and relaxing vacation. Join thousands of our happy guests and explore our paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    206
    104
    58
    45
See reviews for
330
203
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The place is actually much shabbier than the photos portrayed on the hotel's website. That probably explains the constant banging and air of renovation going on around the establishment. Location wise, it is a relatively deserted place and you will need a taxi or rented car to get to anything worth seeing. However, the beach across the road has beautiful white sand and interesting dunes with lovely plants growing in them. A great beach to relax and dream. I stayed in the best room called The Laguna which featured a jacuzzi. It was a newly built room but still it has shabby elements, plastic curtains and poorly applied grouting. The breakfast room again could use a spruce-up. The food was adequate although when I asked for an omelette, I was told I could only have scrambled eggs which turned out to be only one egg strangely served in a little cup. The wifi worked well and staff were generally friendly. If you don't know where to stay in the area, try a hotel in Buzios, a beautiful little tourist town which features lots of interesting boutiques.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeskor49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I, and two friends stayed here for 3 nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. It was at the end of our 10 week trip across South America, so we really revelled in the relaxation of being so close to the beach. The hotel is opposite a clean and quite beach, but within a 20mins walk from Cabo Frio.

It was a relatively quiet time of year, so we didn't expect the hotel to be full. 3 of us shared a room and the owner (a Russian guy) was really helpful and friendly about what to see, where to go. It's not a party hotel, which is what we wanted. Other's there were mainly Brazilian nationals, a few with families. Over all it was clean. Breakfasts were great, with fresh fruit, home made yoghurt and cold meats. Dinner wasn't ideal, so we opted to go out for food. View from 'some rooms' was great with the beach. A perfect spot to relax. It's not 5+ by any means but good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmen000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I had an absolutely fantastic time in Cabo Frio and especially staying in the Pousada Laguna - my room was great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. You are literally 25 steps from the entrance of the hotel to a gorgeous beach that is outside of the city just enough to make it almost private. The water and waves are great. I also got to go scuba diving for the first time through the Hotel which was so far one the best things I have done in Brazil and my lifetime ( and reccomended by the hotel staff). I wish I had more time to spend there but would definitely recommend it to anyone as well as English speaking travellers - I will definitely stay there again when I return to this country as it has been a highlight of my trip

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonathancameron27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I would not recommend this hotel at all - by the way, the correct name would be a motel (pretty cheap one). Although the beach across the property is quite good (except for the weed in the water), the area is not safe at all and robbery is possible even during the day. You'd definately need a car if you want to go to the nearest town - on foot it's going to be at least 35-40 mins.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousadalaguna, Manager at Pousada Laguna, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
We appreciate every review, good or bad, and work hard to improve our service based on your comments. This particular review is not helpful or valid. This lady did not actually stay at the hotel and hence could not provide any valid comments. She found an alternative accommodation prior to coming and we refunded 100% of her non-refundable reservation back to her credit card as a onetime favor. The very next day she came back barging with police and making a scandal and offending hotel employees because her refund did not appear on her credit card. It was out of our hands as her credit card was going to take several days to process that refund. She did get her refund in a few days in accordance with her credit card processing timeframe. While we always try to accommodate our guests and help them with everything we can, some things may be outside of our control. In this case, the lady cannot write a valid review as she simply did not stay with us. Feel free to look for our reviews on bedandbreakfast or booking websites.

All information and fotos on our website is accurate, actual and recent. We are 2 kms from the center of Cabo Frio with regular inexpensive bus and taxi service and 30 minute pleasant walk on the beach to the center. Our neighborhood is rather safe (certainly much more safe that any place in Rio de Janeiro), although it can be a bit deserted at night. Our beach is truly remarkable and we offer all amenities for a quality and relaxing vacation. Join thousands of our happy guests and explore our paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed in Cabo Frio based on a recommendation and were not disappointed in the quality of the beach.... soft white sand and very clean beautiful water, with waves. The guesthouse is right across from the beach a little out of the town so you need a car. It has everything you need but most importantly the owners are particularly helpful and speak very good english.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisCCCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo Frio hotels
0.5 mi away
Pousada do Albatroz
Pousada do Albatroz
#9 of 19 in Cabo Frio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradiso Corporate Hotel
Paradiso Corporate Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cabo Frio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Marlen
Hotel Marlen
#1 of 19 in Cabo Frio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mandai
Hotel Mandai
#5 of 19 in Cabo Frio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.2 mi away
Paradiso Del Sol
Paradiso Del Sol
#3 of 19 in Cabo Frio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oasis Cabo Frio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Laguna

Property: Pousada Laguna
Address: Rua dos Atobas 22 | Foguete, Cabo Frio, State of Rio de Janeiro 28908-605, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Cabo Frio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo Frio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo Frio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This little beach front hotel is located on a gorgeous beach front in Cabo Frio with 10 miles of the whitest sand and crystal clear turquoise ocean, it is an invitation to relaxation and well-being. Voted best value option for family vacation for the structure, service, location and great price! It offers swimming pool, sauna, bar, restaurant, children's playground, games room, baby corner, free internet, free public parking. The suites feature patio or balcony with hammock and sea view, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, TV with movie channels. Enjoy activities for every taste on spectacular beaches and idyllic islands, lagoons and dunes, boating, diving, surfing, kiteboarding, windsurfing, restaurants, bars, beach huts, great nightlife in addition to art, history, culture and religiosity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pousada Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Laguna Cabo Frio, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing