We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion
Ranked #40 of 64 Datca B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkey”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion is a beautifully restored Mansion in an unspoilt part village on the equally undeveloped Datca Peninsula. The restoration has been completed with huge sensitivity and taste and takes you straight back into the Ottoman Empire. It is really a unique experience, and a must for anyone who looks for unusual hotels. Take the ferry from Bodrum and treat yourself to this genuinely unique experience.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lili186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed are time here. The mansion room was a truly unique experience, like living in a (vibrant) piece of history. The food at the restaurant was fantastic- locally sourced and deliciously prepared. The grounds are beautiful and serene. The hotel manager, Sibel, was warm, friendly and extremely helpful. We definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Mansion room was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuggs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is such a beautiful property! We were doing a bicycling trip with Backroads and I had had a very tough all day adventure on my bike that found me finally found me groveling on the side of the road praying that the van would come to pick me up eventually. Recuperating at the hotel was a really appreciated and memorable experience. That evening we participated in a cooking class and were afforded a Marzipan presentation from a local culinary celebrity. (And she was great!) The food was delicious in the restaurant and overall this hotel was just a great experience. Just before dinner my husband took off with a few of the other backroadsians to grab some wine for our gulet adventure, so a few of us were given a tour and history of the property and some of the original rooms. This is definitely a treat you shouldn't pass up if you are in the area!

Room Tip: I liked the newer rooms with a lot of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLacroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead england
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have just spent a fantastic week at this hotel which we selected on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews. We always wondered whether hotels wrote their own glowing review but we met the previous reviewer from Washington DC and fully agree with every word. The stone house rooms are very comfortable, food fabulous and the pool and gardens beautiful. The hotel is 5 minutes from Datcha by car and located in a very pretty, quiet village with no other tourists.
Sibel, the manager and all the staff were exceptional in their attention to detail, and their hospitality. Try the hammam (original turkish bath)
We hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Stone House rooms, first floor have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This meticulously restored boutique hotel is feast for your senses - beautiful gardens with tropical flowers; carefully prepared Turkish foods and wines to go with; frogs, nearby roosters, and chirping birds provide live music. All this and great service. Sibel, the manager, and her staff are terrific hosts - need a picnic lunch for beach outting? no problem. Want to arrange a boat trip to explore the coast? no problem. Want a Turkish food cooking lesson? no problem. Though hotel has all the comforts you expect from boutique property, the atmoshere is relaxed and informal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunSun04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We visited here as an evening onshore while on a sailing holiday - and we wished we didn't have to leave! It's outside town (taxi drivers know where) and set in peaceful countryside, with beautiful gardens and an incredible renovated building as hotel and restaurant.

We booked the renovated hammam - for private use! - something we'd never done before. After, the hotel had arranged for a masseuse to come, and she gave one of the best massages I've had.

Dinner was wonderful - local produce beautifully cooked and presented - and the wine list included some interesting (and expensive) wines which completed the meal perfectly.

Just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We got married at Mehmet Ali Aga with the help of Sibel, who is one of the most efficient hotel manager that I have ever encountered. She helped to plan our wedding in a little over 2 months, providing us with the cake, photographer, flowers and decoration. The staff were just as wonderful, nothing was too much to trouble them with. The grounds of the hotel were mind-bogglingly beautiful, filled with flowers and fruit trees. The best part was that the hotel was really private. Even though it was fully booked, there were plenty of areas to go to-the pool, the private beach, different nooks and crannies where you can just sit and relax. We were really wowed by our 2 day stay and we had the wedding of our dreams, including a delicious dinner at the restaurant-we really recommend the yoghurt kebab as well as yoghurt for breakfast. Thank you to Sibel and all her staff for our wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Datca hotels
0.9 mi away
Koop' Suites
Koop' Suites
#14 of 32 in Datca
16 reviews
2.0 mi away
Datca Beyaz Ev Hotel
Datca Beyaz Ev Hotel
#12 of 32 in Datca
21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Citi Hotel
Citi Hotel
#3 of 32 in Datca
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Palm Bay Beach Hotel
Palm Bay Beach Hotel
#21 of 32 in Datca
58 reviews
7.4 mi away
DatcAnka Ahsap & Kutuk Evler
2.2 mi away
Villa Anfora
Villa Anfora
#1 of 64 in Datca
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion

Property: Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion
Address: Resadiye Mahallesi | Kavak Meydanı, Datca 48900, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Datca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Datca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the ancient city of Knidos on Datca Peninsula just opposite the Greek island of Symi. Personal service, attention to the smallest detail and a customized experience for each guest are a hallmark of the Mansion. Recommended in Conde Nast Traveller’s 20 Top Trips. Welcoming guests seeking privacy, relaxed elegance and pampering, the Mansion is a destination in and of itself for the globe’s most discerning travellers. Built in 1809 as a home for the landed-gentry, the Mansion is a luxury boutique hotel restored in 2004 to its original architectural detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mehmet Ali Aga Mansion Hotel Datca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing