We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Hotel in Dalyan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Happy Caretta Hotel
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel in Dalyan”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The most beautiful thing about the hotel is the great scene of King Tombs and also food! Don't even try to find somewhere else to eat in Dalyan because you can find the best food in Happy Caretta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This little family run hotel offers a warm welcome, to a relaxed and idilic setting. The location is away from the centre of the resort and sits on the river opposite the rock tomb, with bankside seating. The rooms are simple, basic, but pristinely clean. Meals and drinks can be take in the garden area overlooking the river, or if weather is inclement, in the covered gazebo. The buffet style breakfast is served at the riverside bar and the Proprietors now offer a set evening meal if required. The atmosphere here is very casual, relaxed and informal, making for a wonderfully chilled time. We have stayed here before and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchid4841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

In an heaven like garden,just opposite of rock tombs.a bit edge of the town by walking but the best scene in dalyan.

The family running the motel doing the busniess just for fun.you can understand it from the animals that they are feeding in the garden.

Dont expect much from the room.its clean and simple.no tv, wardrobe even.just a good bed and air condioner for comfort.


Price is a bit high.but having your breakfast in this view worth.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpenschtein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Very welcoming and chilled out owner - you can see why as he lives in a little paradise with all his birds (pigeons etc). Very clean, lovely breakfast, view straight across to the Kaunos ruins from the dining terrace. A nice morning swim in the river from their jetty. It's a little pricey, rooms fairly small, but felt that we got what we paid for. About 10-15 minutes walk down a quiet side road from the hub of the nightlife. Their evening set meals looked good also, but we didn't try. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurfMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

The Happy Caretta is a fine small hotel. The location on the edge of town is perfect. Daylan is in many ways your typical overly touristed Turkish resort town. Trendy bars, discos, restaurants that serve spagetti and meatballs, etc. dominate. If this is what you want, then by all means you should stay in the heart of town to enjoy the action. However, if like us, you've come to visit the archeological sites across the river, swim in the sea, and try to enjoy the ambience of the place, then the Happy Caretta is perfect. Actually, it would work best for anyone who wants to get some sleep at night -- the town isn't exactly an oasis of calm. It still has character, but what's left of it is best enjoyed during the day.

The rooms are clean and functional. We originally chose a smaller standard room and they're fine. However, for a little more money you can have a much larger room (two windows instead of one, a table with two chairs, an extra bed to toss your stuff) and we opted to switch. Breakfast is excellent and is served at riverside with wonderful views all around. The location outside of town and on the river really is perfect. Not only is it out of earshot of the discos, etc., it's perfectly situated on the river with spectacular views of the ancient rock tombs across the river. At night they're lit up and it's an unforgetable sight.

The hotel also has beautiful gardens and the staff is very attentive. You can relax in a lush flowery garden while the river flows and you sip tea (or beer, wine or a mixed drink) while pondering the beauty and history of this intriguing place.

I strongly suggest you take dinner at the hotel. Although we were told that there were some good restaurants in town, they all seemed overpriced and somewhat lacking in authenticity. Still, to be honest, we only tried one. At the hotel, however, we enjoyed a perfect meal by candlelight on the river side, prepared for us and another couple by the owners. The food was superb, the view, the company and the experience wonderful. Nuray (I hope I'm getting her name correctly) served us and she is a charming and very helpful woman. Her English is excellent and her advice on how to best see the area was invaluable. She is a huge plus for the hotel. Overall we had a very enjoyable and unforgetable experience at the Happy Caretta.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmtravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

My brother and I have just returned from our trip which included four days at the Happy Caretta. After Istanbul we were looking for a place to relax and spool down. Dalayan seemed to fill the bill as near as we could tell from the guidebooks. Sometimes you get lucky and get exactly what you wanted.

The Happy Caretta hotel in Dalayan was a singular pleasure. The hotel is small with only about 15 rooms located off a central corridor.

The nearest airport is at Dalaman and the hotel can be reached in about half an hour by cab for about $50

The hotel is a family-run concern and the attentive care given made our stay at the Caretta a highlight of the time spent in Turkey.

The property is a ten-minute walk from town-easy access to the local shops and restaurants but far enough away to provide a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere.

The hotel's setting is remarkable. The river flows by the hotel and the swimming from the dock is a fine way to cool off without having to do more than jump from the dock. The hotel is surrounded by trees, flowers and various tropical plants-all manicured and maintained to garden quality.

The terrace overlooking the river is bordered by shade trees and even in the July heat there was always a breeze. There is an outdoor bar that provides the standard Turkish breakfast of tea, cheeses, bread, melon, fresh fruit, jams. and olives. An excellent way to start the day and the meal provided was first rate.

The bar also, of course, serves wine, liquor, beer and soft drinks at reasonable prices. In the evening, a 3 course dinner is served on the deck for 35 YTL ($28). The three dinners that we had were excellent and the view over the river of the ancient tombs carved into the rock-face of the hills seemed almost a fantasy.

The Happy Caretta borders the Dalayan River that winds through the Dalayan area and provides access to a beautiful Mediterranean beach that is perfect for swimming. The local tourism cooperative provides fixed-fare trips to local destinations and the boats will pick you up at the hotel's dock and return at the end of the day. We spent one day taking a trip that included the mud bath, a lake swim, a good lunch at the Cooperative's restaurant, a tour of the Greek ruins at Caunus and a two-hour finish at the ocean beach. A sweet day for about $24 including lunch.

Dalayan is a sizable tourist center with all kinds of the usual shops and restaurants. It is hard to get a bad meal in Turkey or at least we were not able to...

Originally, we had planned a two-day stay at the Happy Caretta but could not see leaving when it was hard to imagine that elsewhere would be an improvement. Reasonable, well-located, attentive service, great food, swimming, an ocean beach nearby, boat tours of all descriptions available, ancient ruins, a shady terrace with a cabana bar and gentle breezes...
We took another 2 nights and continued to enjoy all of what the hotel and the area offered.

The room and bath was immaculate although not spacious. On the other hand there was no need to spend time in the room other than to sleep.

There are other hotels and B&B's in the area that share many of the advantages cited above but I could not have been happier with our stay at the Happy Caretta.

  • Liked — Friendly and attentive service-great location-reasonable
  • Disliked — Rooms were small but fine for sleeping-not a significant issue
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JKiteNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Me and my partner loved this hotel!! The hotel is family run and the owners are simply wonderful. There is a beautiful garden/terrace overlooking the water and some ruins.

The rooms are clean and spacious - a bargain at only 100 YTL per night!

If you need a hotel in Dalyan - look no further - this place is perfect.

  • Liked — The owners and the terrace!
  • Disliked — The bathroom was not amazing but perfectly fine for us.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PamT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.0 mi away
Berg Hotel
Berg Hotel
#18 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#24 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Murat Pasa Konagi
Murat Pasa Konagi
#22 of 62 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Garden Pension
Dalyan Garden Pension
#10 of 62 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Caretta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Caretta Hotel

Property: Happy Caretta Hotel
Address: Kaunos Sokak No 26, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Happy Caretta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing