We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful, chilled out hide-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalyan Garden Pension
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“Peaceful, beautiful, chilled out hide-away”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Lovely pension set in lush semi tropical garden, huge pool. Rooms are very clean, beds extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent - no having to hold the shower head with one hand!
It's a 20min walk into town, but you can use the pensions bicycles for free (road is quiet and safe). 10min walk to the road to catch the bus to the beach. Being right on the edge of Dalyan, the location is extremely peaceful - no traffic or nightlife noise, just birds and insects.
The owners, Cathy and Ercan, are wonderful - really helpful and fun. The cook is amazing - do not miss the weekly BBQ, it was the best meal we had there by far and the atmosphere was more great dinner party than awkward social gathering. The young lass who serves breakfast is very sweet and funny, and boy can she dance!
Breakfast is huge - bread, cheese, olives, fruit, eggs, coffee and the best home made jam you will ever taste!
I would return to the Dalyan Garden without hesitation, and would heartily recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randini8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
141
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks in June 2009. This place is just perfect, we were lucky to have one of the new rooms which was excellent standard and such good value, Ercan and Cathy are just wonderful people and brilliant hosts supported by fabulous Yarmou and Sofia. Food brilliant, pool perfect. Ask Ercan anything - trips etc - and he'll sort you out for the same, if not cheaper price, that you'd get anywhere else. The odd treate - when you don't expect them - fresh flowers on the beds, a free small drink/snack, extra fruit for breakfast, just go to show that this place is run from the heart, not the head.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We have been back for a week now and are still missing our wonderful stay at the Dalyan Garden Pension.

It is a delightful pension set in beautiful, tropical like gardens with the mountains as a backdrop.

Cathy and Ercan are the perfect hosts. Friendly, socialable, helpful...what more could you want. Together they have built a perfect place to go on holiday to. Their son Taylar is a credit to them and better than both of us on a nintendo ds!

We had one of the most relaxing holidays we have had in years. The swimming pool was never busy (lilo and floats to borrow) and huge considering that the Pension only has 10 rooms. There was always somewhere to lie or sit in the shade and Ercan, Cathy or one of the staff were never too far away to get you a cold drink or even a snack at lunchtime.

Our room on the ground floor was perfect. Comfortable bed, air conditioning, good sized shower room with lots of hot water and very clean.

The breakfasts were really good, sitting in the shade eating eggs, cheese, fresh bread with delicious jam and fruit with tea or coffee and as much of it as you wanted. We would always linger for half an hour. No one rushes you here.

Ercan and Cathy are always ready to organise a trip for you and we went on a lovely boat trip with Ercan's friend Osman and three other guests at the Pension. It took in Caunos (ruins that are not too be missed but can get very hot), the turtles, a secluded beach opposite turtle beach, wildlife of the river and lake and the mud baths - we opted for the free ones and had a real giggle.

The pension is only 20 minutes walk from Dalyan, past fields and houses with free range chickens. It was a lovely walk in to town and not dangerous but we opted for getting a taxi back at night which was only 8 ytl. If you like cycling, the Dalyan Garden Pension has bikes that you can borrow to cycle in to town. Some people may think this is a bit far out of town but we both like to walk and the distance gives the place the tranqulity and beauty that in part makes it such a wonderful place.

We ate at lots of excellent restaurants. All good value - a two course meal with a bottle of wine costs about £24 for two people. I can recommend Alis - best steaks we have ever had (near the mosque), Caretta Caretta, Bayers Gou and Riverside. Cathy and Ercan will advise on good places to eat. Eating along the riverside is worth doing as you sit opposite the tombs in the rocks, which are all lit up at night - a lovely view, but remember to put on your mosquitto repellent first! The best meals we actually had were at the Dalyan Garden Pension. If Ercan decides to do a Barbeque, put your name down, you will not be disappointed - it is also a nice sociable evening that includes belly dancing with Yamo (sorry for the spelling).

Unlike Bodrum, where I stayed years ago, I never felt hassled in Dalyan. Everybody was just friendly and polite and every where we went was very clean and tidy.

The saturday market in Dalyan was worth a trip to. We got a few bargains and the pancakes that we ate in the market cost next to nothing and were delicious.

We also took the river taxi to Turtle beach. You must do this. A return trip only cost 8 ytl each. The trip along the river is lovely, peaceful and scenic and the beach fantastic. Unspoilt (protected because of the Loggerhead Turtles) with only sunbeads and snack bars at either end. We decdided to walk from one end to the other, which only takes 1 hour but may have been unwise at 11.30am in June, when temperatures were close to 40 degrees, but was empty if you walked away from either end and you could see little tiny crabs darting in and out of small holes in the sand. If you do this and don't want to walk back, you can get a Dolmus back to Dalyan and even get it to stop closer to the Dalyan Garden Pension as we managed to.

We can't wait to return here and I have been recommending both Dalyan and the Dalyan Garden Pension to everybody who will listen. Take it from us, it is worth going here and we don't usually think about returning to places (mainly because the world is a big place).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Herts.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Recently returned from our fifth visit in five years, and it gets better each time. Cathy and Ercan make everything so easy, from the airport transfers to setting up trips and excursions (if you want them to). It's interesting to discover each time how many of the other guests are also back for a repeat visit - it's certainly the sort of place you want to return to again and again. It would be very tempting to write a dreadful review to frighten people away so you could keep the place as a secret paradise of your own, but that wouldn't be fair to Ercan and his team who do so much to make you feel welcome and provide such excellent service, 24/7. A peaceful garden, a splendid pool, unobtrusive ambient music, refreshing drinks from the bar, excellent food - what more could you ask from a holiday?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just got back from staying at the superb Dalayan Garden Pension..... all the 5 out of 5 reviews are spot on; anyone who fails not to love this place/ vows to return needs their head looking at!

Cathy and Ergan were absolutely superb hosts (and their staff keep the place running lalong nicely). If you get chance to go to one of their BBQ's you will not be disappointed- we ate in some superb restaurants in Istanbul prior to arriving in Dalayan and the BBQ food surpassed them all.

The pool is a fantastic example of tranquillity and calm, we spent 3 out of 6 days just relaxing round it. It is full of a wide variety of plants and the views are unsurpasable.A must is one of Osman's boat trips which covered the beach, the caucanos ruins, mud bath and a swim in the lake - which is so secluded, a really special place. Osman is also a nature expert and shows you turtles, nest and birds as well.

Location wise it is a 20 minute walk into the village (but a nice walk) but id' swap the extra few minutes any time in exchange for some peace and quiet during the day and evening. And if you do want to venture in during the day there are some free bikes to borrow. And you can always get a taxi straight away.

Dalayan itself was very quaint and did have some nice restaurants - Ali's, The Chef ( amazing food and value for money -great calamari) and Bears Gryll (amazing view) were all great .... I would however avoid Kosems which we found was distinctly average.

All in all we loved Dalayan and if you are looking to go, the Dalayan Garden Pension should be top of the list....... look out for the three kittens if you go in the next few months; very cute.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieblue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We have just returned from our 5th holiday at the Dalyan Garden and it just gets better and better. Ercan, Cathy and the staff are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are comfortable and impeccably clean and the garden is paradise. Ercan's BBQ evenings are a real treat - stunning Turkish food, music, dancing and very good company. I have recommended this hotel to several friends and family and they have all returned for another visit - it's irresistible!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Dalyan Garden Pension in late Sept 2008 and had a fantastic time. The hotel is, as other reviews have already highlighted, wonderfully relaxing , with very friendly and helpful staff.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is big for the size of the hotel, and the gardens are lovely (complete with a telescope for wannabe star gazers!). The pension proprietor Ercan can organise many excursions in Dalyan, and we loved the river trip which was a definite highlight of the holiday.

The hotel is a 15 minute walk outside of the lovely Dalyan, and you can borrow bikes from the pension that cut this journey to 5 mins. The walk from Dalyan takes you alongside Orange groves and cotton fields... I wish i was there right now!

We cannot recommend the Dalyan Garden Pension enough, and hope to return in the near future.

  • Liked — Relaxed envrionment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CloneRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
1.4 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#15 of 63 in Dalyan
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sedir Resort - Hotel Rooms, Bungalows & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 63 in Dalyan
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 63 in Dalyan
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#14 of 63 in Dalyan
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalyan Garden Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalyan Garden Pension

Property: Dalyan Garden Pension
Address: Ataturk Mah. Sulungur Cad. 254 Sok. No:4, Dalyan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#17 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run pension in the rural Arikbasi area of Dalyan. Approximately 20 minute walk from the town centre and river. Large Mediterranean garden and pool, bar, shaded seating areas. Breakfast, lunchtime snacks and occasional evening barbecues. Ten rooms, ensuite, A/C, walk in wardrobes. Advice and help booking boat trips and other tours. Garden bar provides social focal point for guests. Recommended for those who want peace and quiet but also a friendly convivial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dalyan Garden Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalyan Garden Pension Hotel Dalyan
Dalyan Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing