We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ultrafriendly”
Review of Metin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metin Hotel
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

i have stayed at this hotel 4 time to date and i can.t praise it enough the rooms are properly cleaned every day even the parts that you cant see the staff are all very friendly and they realy cant do enough for you one year my grandson was feeling off colour and one of the staff even took me around the town at 2 in the morning looking for a chemist
the location is second to none just a few minutes walk down the side street from the main road so you are not bothered with any noise

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank alsilverf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metin H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Metin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thanks for your nice comments. We wait again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

Have just returned from our second visit to the Metin Hotel, and found it just as good as the first time.Very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast on the roof top terrace - Turkish (as you would expect in Turkey!) . Excellent central location but not noisy. Rooms are large, clean and there is everything you need. Nice pool, plenty of sun beds and sun all day long. Excellent value for money, and we shall certainly be returning. Thank you Helena and all her team.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank PamBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metin H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Metin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thanks for your nice comments. We wait again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We did! After an excellent holiday last year, we decided for the first time ever to return to the same place, The Metin Hotel, where we again had a fantastic time. The room was very clean, the maid service excellent, everything was just wonderful! I loved the display of our towelsin our room, they were great. The receptionist was very helpful and couldn't do enough to assist. We went on two boat trips arranged by The Metin and again they were great. It was lovely to go with other guests that you had already met / or not met and not be just another number. These trips were ideal for any age group and the crab fishing was excellent. I think we would have starved if I hadn't of caught so many!!!!!!! All in all a fantastic holiday and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metin H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Metin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thanks for your nice comments. We wait again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We booked through Thomas Cook on line just as a last minute break, I never even wanted to go to Turkey but my friend talked me into it and what a suprise! We were welcomed into the hotel by the night staff and shown to a very clean room! The breakfast was very traditional and the lunchtime menu was more then adequate. Unfortunately we didn't stay for an evening meal but the menu always sounded very nice! The other guests in the hotel spoke highly of the hotel and it's owners, none of which were new to the area..one couple had been back 6 years running which speaks volumes!
The hotel is literally central to the bars and excellent restaurants so ideally located.
I would highly recommend this hotel to families or couples both young and old, however if your looking for a tacky, clubby get away then Dalyan wouldn't be for you!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondy217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metin H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Metin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thanks for your nice comments. We wait again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My family and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Metin Hotel which we chose on the strength of the reveiws that we looked at. Our family consists of 2 children, teenager of 14 years and young daughter of 9 years! My wife and I are late 30's.

On arrival we were shown to our accomodation which was a ground floor room with 1 double bed and 2 singles, a toilet, wash hand basin and shower which is about all you require as a base camp. Our room was basic and clean enough with air conditioning but nothing to write home about. Breakfast is a typical turkish affair that is served on th roof terrace overlooking the rock tombs, very nice veiw at first but after afew days it becomes a bit stale like the breakfast ( Melon, Cornflakes, olives, bread, boiled eggs and a selection of cheese and home made jams, youghart etc.) if you are prepared to pay extra you can bag yourself an omelete for 3 1/2 TL..

On an evening you can eat food at the hotel which is served at 8pm around the pool area for a fee of 20 to 25 TL dependant on if it's BBQ time or not. We ate once at the hotel and although it was pleasent enough it would take a miracle to get most UK children to enjoy it as it's typical Turkish dishes of caseroles and mezaes ( very fish and red meat orientated). If your peckish you can also order cheese toasties chips and burgers from the bar. We ate out every night at the local restaraunts which on the whole were very nice! the better one's being Dalyan Cafe , Caretta Caretta and Sahil's which do a fantastic chicken fajhita and decent kids meals.

As always in turkey, it is hell on earth getting past the sea of front door staff who continually try to get you in their restaraunt at any cost but it gets easier the more tanned you become. One thing that is very negative about the resort is the reluctance for most shop keepers to price the items that they sell as they like to charge the british inflated prices! ( really infuriating). If you look hard enough you will find a couple of establishments that are owned by Uk citizeons they tend to price their goods and are pleasent to deal with.

Dalyan is a very beautiful place to see but with the excess temperatures it's very difficult to go out and walk aroundparty if you have young kids in your party.

On the whole I would not recommend the metin to people with children due to the lack of things to do on site. Metin Hotel is very much a turkish, German and Dutch orientated hotel and the staff were not particularly helpful chatty or friendly which is a controdiction to most reveiws posted. i would say that the average age of the guests at this hotel would be about 50 years old and above which is why the hotel is a very muted affair. If you want a varied menu or the occasional game of pool, entertainment of any discription, this hotel is not for you! if you want peace and quiet in the extreme and love all things turkish, then this would be right up your street.

On the whole we found the holiday disapointing! however I feel that people who place reveiws about this hotel are those who have been revisiting for years which is fine as long as the reveiws are objective enough and thorough to enable people with families to make an informed choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank makavelliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I came to the hotel as a solo traveller - and certainly didnt feel like I was 'alone'. Without feeling overdone the family (and friendly) atmosphere of the Metin did so much to make me feel very welcome. The kindness shown to me and all the guests was beyond my expectations.

My room was great - and really quite big with lots of sockets for gadgets and a lovely double bed. There was a small fridge in the room with minibar drinks in there (reasonably priced). After a day in the sun it was the perfect retreat and kept me cool and chilled out. The facilities overall are clean and well kept. My room had a baclony (I think all of them do) which overlooked the fantastic mountains.

I wish I had brought my lap top as there is free (very fast!) wireless broadband.

Being a vegatarian I was a bit worried about the food but I needn't have been at all. Breakfast is served on the terrace and there was quite a choice (nice to have just one small meat plate on offer with most of it fresh fruit and vegetables) which is all you want or need in this heat! Melon, juice, cheese, salad, cereals, bread, eggs... etc. Quite a feast (again a bargain for the price!!)

I ate dinner in the hotel a few nights and I can honestly say that it was the best food I had in Dalyan. The Chef should be up for an award! If you want to taste exceptional Turkish home cooking then come to the Metin - the evening meze buffet is to die for.

There is a bar near the pool serving drinks and snacks in a lovely shady area out of the sun. The pool is great (and turns into a lovely fountain at night) and is very family friendly.

The best bit for me is that you can sun-bathe from early morning til around 6.30 as you get all day sun - yahoo! :D x

The hotel is a really short walk to the harbour to get to the boat trips and the boat to the beach (the river is fabulous with some amazing tombs to admire along the way!) and is also in the middle of the low key hustle and bustle of town life.

I did a few trips and unlike most tourist companies the team at the Metin do not rip you off and genuinely do want you to have the most fantastic time.

A little hidden gem - I will definitely be back. The whole experience was faultless.

The Metin family also have villas and other properties so I will definitely be investigating those!

Perfect for my chill-out holiday.

Steph

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephanieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metin H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Metin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thanks for your nice comments. We wait again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Enoyed our stay at The Metin. The hotel is basic, but clean and has good air-conditioning which is essential during July/August. The staff were very helpful and organised a half-day trip on their boat for both myself and partner to visit the lake, which was well worth a visit. Would definitley recommend the hotel and a stay in Dalyan. Although we aren't the type to return to even the same destination, this one is on our list for when we run out of places to go!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metin H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Metin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thanks for your nice comments. We wait again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#6 of 64 in Dalyan
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Montana
Boutique Hotel Montana
#21 of 64 in Dalyan
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fatih Apart Hotel
Fatih Apart Hotel
#18 of 64 in Dalyan
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#9 of 64 in Dalyan
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#1 of 64 in Dalyan
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#15 of 64 in Dalyan
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metin Hotel

Address: Maras Mah. Sulungur Cad. No:6, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#28 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range: $27 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Metin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel in a perfect location. Minutes from the river and the village, tucked away in a side street. Breakfast terrace has views of the rock tombs. 45 rooms and 4 self catering apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metin Hotel Dalyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing